We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswolds Weekend”
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cotswolds Weekend”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everything you read about this Hotel and how good it is is true. John & Emma are perfect hosts. Great rooms great hosts and a fabulous weekend was had by us all. Breakfast was really good and the sun was enjoyed in the garden on more than one occasion. Not just a luxurious property but hosts who cared. Great cake.

Room Tip: John will do his best for you. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Good Morning Howard,

We have just finished reading your review over breakfast and are overwhelmed about the lovely comments you left us on here. It was great to meet all the family and we are glad that all six of you had a good time on your annual meeting. It was really nice to see you taking advantage of the garden and patio area - especially as for most of the weekend we had some really good weather...fingers crossed the rest of summer is just as good.

If you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability, or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up. Enjoy the rest of the summer and we look forward to seeing you either here in The Cotswolds or at Nanny Brow in The Lake District.


Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
174
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having been to many Hotels and bed and breakfasts we can honestly say this was the best from the warm welcome to the beautiful house and large bedroom everything upmarket and spotless we were delighted to be staying there. John and Emma the perfect hosts made our stay very special the great breakfasts all ingredients locally sourced and served beautifully. Emma's cakes were a lovely touch baked to perfection.Thank you so much we shall be coming back to be spoilt again.
Love Marj and John

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent we had the Westcote room which we shall book again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Good Morning John & Marj, we have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that you had a great stay upon your trip to The Cotswolds while at Cranbourne House. Thank you for the comments about Emma and myself - it was lovely meeting you and it is great you enjoyed the Westcote room. 'Perfect Hosts'...that really was a lovely comment and we do pride ourselves on making sure you have a lovely stay while relaxing in The Cotswolds.

We both love to cook and bake, so it was great to hear you enjoyed Emma's cakes. I will pass on the comments to Emma who will be over the moon to hear that her cakes were baked to perfection.

It's great to hear you will be back in the future and when you are please do contact us directly for availability, or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up. Enjoy the rest of summer and hopefully see you again in the future.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We wanted a location that was conveniently close but not chaotically central, and we found it, a few minutes walk from Bourton-on-the-Water town center. Lacking a car, when we weren't exploring Bourton's numerous attractions, we used local busses that pass by the B&B's front door to get to neighboring Cotswolds towns. The room was very comfortable, and John and Emma, the hosts, could not have been more hospitable or accommodating. Breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious, and lounging in the main sun/sitting room or in the large attractive yard were delightful ways to end an adventurous day.

Room Tip: Stairways could be difficult for older folk with heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSEliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Good Morning Ellie & Tom, we have just finished reading your review and it was such a lovely TripAdvisor review, we just wanted to say thank you very much for everything you said. It was lovely meeting you both and I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

We are always more than happy to help our guests and be as accommodating as possible, whether this be answering questions, booking restaurants or taxi trips and we are glad that this is recognised by our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed the village too - Bourton is a fantastic little place with loads to do and the great thing is that because we are just situated outside the village, you have the option to escape whenever you like.

We really enjoyed seeing you take advantage of the conservatory and patio communal areas - especially as the weather was so beautiful. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts - for me I absolutely love making the muesli and the fruit salad. A positive and healthy start to each day!

I do hope that if you are planning a trip to the Cotswolds again you will either look at staying at Cranbourne House again or definitely pop in and say hello to us.


Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan88
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a wonderful 'five star' bed and breakfast this is.
The hosts Emma and John truly know how to make your stay enjoyable, the rooms are so comfortable you don't want to leave and the breakfasts are delicious.
Whilst the b & b didn't have a swimming pool the leisure centre is a five minutes walk away and very nice it is too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Good Morning Dylan, we have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that you had a fantastic stay with us and it was enjoyable (which is the main factor for us).

We are grateful to hear that everything from our hospitality at Cranbourne House, to the cooking for the breakfasts was to your standards and we always aim to make our guests stay a relaxing and enjoyable break from start to finish. As you mentioned we really are in the heart of everything - the restaurants and pubs are a 5 minute walk away, as is the gym and the swimming pool, the supermarket and the centre of town itself. It is a feature that our guests adore - being so close to everything really does make a difference.

It's great to hear you might be back in the future and if you do please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care and enjoy hopefully the last of the wet weather for the year,


John Hallam

Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for two nights in June and could not praise Cranbourne House enough. Emma brought us a tray of tea on arrival which was lovely and the home made cakes were excellent. Both Emma and John made us very welcome, the room was very nice and the choice for breakfast was also very good. We hope to return in the future and if anyone reads this before booking don't just take my word for it, book a stay there yourself and you wil not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Good Morning Janet & Steve, we have just finished reading your review and want to say thank you for all the lovely things you said about us after stopping with us. We are both pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and hope your journey on to Shropshire was equally as pleasant.

We are delighted that you were pleased with everything from the tea on arrival through to the hospitality from both Emma and myself. We really enjoy meeting and greeting our guests and doing everything we possibly can to ensure you are completely satisfied with your stay while at Cranbourne House. We did love the comment about advising people to 'try before they buy' too and means so much hearing comments like that - so again thank you.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again (even if it is in The Lake District) and even if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.


Take Care,

John Hallam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice peaceful location just a short walk from the river, bars and restaurants. Emma and John were very friendly and excellent hosts with advice on where to go and what to do if needed. Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable - we'll definitely be looking into staying at the sister property Nanny Brow when we visit the Lake District.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuartH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good Morning Stuart, we have just finished reading your review and we are glad you had a lovely time while visiting The Cotswolds. Thank you for the comments about Emma and myself - we do enjoy meeting and greeting our guests and doing everything we possibly can to ensure you are completely satisfied with your stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the village and the bars and restaurants too - Bourton is a fantastic little place with loads to do and the great thing is that because we are just situated outside the village, you have the option to escape whenever you like.

If you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had booked our four night stay for my husband, daughter and I at Cranbourne House way back in December 2013. John had sent us a list of recommended restaurants for our evening meals and we chose from this list and he kindly booked them all up for us well in advance.
Our long anticipated break finally arrived in June. John texted us that morning to find out our arrival time and he was there to greet us and show us around the property. We were encouraged to choose which of the two rooms we had booked that we wanted. My Husband and I had the downstairs room just off the Conservatory, my daughter the upstairs room. Both rooms were beautifully appointed and in particular the shower in our bedroom and the massive bath my daughter had in her room were great features and well appreciated and enjoyed by us.
Breakfasts were served in the beautiful arts and crafts style dining room. Freshly made
fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals and fruit juices were self service from the sideboard, fresh cafetiere coffee was served and then the main event - the cooked breakfast You can just choose what you want from the menu and it will all be freshly cooked by John. He likes a challenge so be imaginative with your choices!!! Emma served us and looked after us very well in the dining room, taking our orders and making sure we had everything we wanted. One thing we particularly enjoyed as the weather was sunny was sitting out on the peaceful and secluded garden patio at the end of the day and enjoying the freshly made cake that John made every day. Yum. All the restaurants that we chose for our evening meals were great and we had nice meals in all four but the Vine in Stow stood out as our favourite.

Cranbourne House is situated just a short easy walk from the main street of Bourton and there are many shops, tea rooms, restaurants and hundreds of ducks there to enjoy. Do check out the motor museum which is a real gem.
Thank-you John and Emma for making us so welcome, your e-mail to us enquiring on our safe return home was a very thoughtful touch We will definitely check out Nanny Brow if we ever visit the Lake District. We wish you and Emma every success in the future and enjoyable safe travels.

Room Tip: You can have a ground floor room if you don't want to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good Morning Helen, we have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and must say it was such a delight to read all the lovely things you said about us and Cranbourne House B&B. We are pleased that both yourself, your husband and Sophie all enjoyed yourselves while down in The Cotswolds. We really enjoyed seeing you take advantage of the conservatory and patio communal areas - especially as the weather was so beautiful. Fingers crossed the weather maintains it's already good form for the rest of summer.

We always aim to communicate from prior to your holiday beginning to leaving us at the end of your stay - it just makes things easier, especially if you haven't been to the area before. Plus, there is a huge range of things to do, see and eat so we want to make sure you get the best of The Cotswolds. When we hear things like you said, it makes all the little touches feel even more worthwhile.

I must say I was touched to read the lovely comments you left about myself and Emma. I do indeed love to cook and create varied breakfasts and when it comes to the cakes....I love making a good cake (so both Emma and I can both indulge in an afternoon treat too). We always aim to make sure everyone is happy at Cranbourne B&B without being too intrusive and I'm happy this was conveyed during your stay.

We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you in The Lake District in the future. Have a lovely summer and we really hope that you all enjoy this gorgeous spell of sun we seem to be having.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,217 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Property: Cranbourne House
Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing