We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4 night stay”
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great 4 night stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just spent a wonderful 4 nights at Cranbourne House and the stay was excellant. The accommodation was first class. I especially was impressed with the bedroom furniture and the shower was superb! An added bonus was coming back to cake every afternoon it seemed very rude not to eat it!!. John and Emma are both lovely and friendly and breakfast was great! The village was so pretty and plenty of places to eat in the evening.
Overall very pleased and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Good Morning Susan, we have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that you had a fantastic stay with us and we are glad you made it back down to Worthing (such a lovely area of the country but we would be bias as that's where Emma was born and is from). The comments on Trip Advisor were so lovely to read, and both Emma and myself enjoyed reading these.

We are grateful to hear that everything from our friendliness, to the breakfasts were to your standards and we always aim to make our guests stay a relaxing and enjoyable break from start to finish. We are delighted that you were pleased with the room too. We always give our very best to maintain everything from the cleanliness right down to the quality of the bedding and the little extras that we choose, as we know how important it is to feel relaxed in a comfortable and clean environment.

We love to bake and it's great to hear that you really liked the afternoon treats in your room. If you are ever up from the south coast again please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care and enjoy the rest of this gorgeous start to the Summer we've had so far.

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
174
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely room (westcote) with very comfortable bed and plenty of space. Good helpful hosts and a very convenient location near the town, but away from the busy main road. Disappointing, almost non existent wifi in the room and at breakfast the fruit salad did not eventuate even after 8.45. (we had booked for 8.15am). All else was up to standard and if these couple of things can be remedied all should be well.

Room Tip: westcote was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooves2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Good Morning Peter, I must say when I read this review I was ever so slightly shocked and disappointed (especially as both Emma and myself went out of our way especially for you) to make sure we could accommodate you as much as possible. We don't normally take one night bookings in the high season (like most other places within Bourton), however when you e-mailed me asking if you could change your booking from 2 nights to just 1 night for personal reasons, I was extra accommodating for this and happily made the change for you. Then there was the extra added factor that you requested to check in at 11:00pm; again, we were more than happy to accommodate for this despite our check-in times of 3:00pm - 7:00pm, and again you requested a breakfast time of an hour earlier than what we do on weekends.

With regards to our breakfasts, which have been recognised by the AA's Breakfast Award, as we offer such a wide variety of choice on offer (something that is complimented by a very high percentage of our guests), we pride ourselves on our service, standards and quality of produce on offer. As we explained when you requested an earlier breakfast than our normal service times, (again something which we accommodated quite happily for you), that not everything would be available for that time and there was more than an extensive menu still available for you both. It's a shame that even though we explained this to you, (which we always explain to all our guests and accommodate wherever possible) that when we asked if this was okay you smiled and said everything was great. The fruit salad in question was ready and out for the main breakfast service (and just to clarify we did state that this wouldn't be ready for when you wanted your breakfast).

Going back to the Wi-Fi connection in our rooms, we always let our guests know that there is Wi-Fi across the house and we have booster boxes in the bedrooms to boost signal. We have a particularly reliable service for the Cotswolds, and again as we explained when you mentioned this to us, sometimes the internet can drop out with us being in such a rural area. Thus explaining that if the signal was weaker in the rooms, the strongest signal would be in the main house (which was working on the day you were here).

We are pleased to offer a fantastic service from arrival to departure for all our guests which has been reflected in our high achieving 4 and 5* reviews. We are glad you made it back home safely...


Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Many thanks John & Boris, shame we didn't meet Emma. Sorry about the Boris Karloff bit lol, you were lovely. We have stayed in Bourton before, our fav Cotswold village and I would like to thank you for helping make our stay even the more enjoyable. Such a friendly atmosphere, lovely clean, comfortable, quiet room with excellent ensuite facilities. Good lounge & conservatory that would have been beneficial if the weather had not been so good. Did you arrange that for us John? Good wifi reception. The breakfast was excellent & as for the cake, not normally being a cake lover, found it so tasty, thank you for that lovely touch. Nice garden to relax in and soak up the rays, what more can you ask for. Just a 5 min stroll to the lovely village center, I can highly recommend this b&b to anyone who wishes to visit Bourton On The Water. Ian & Carol

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Morning Ian & Carol, both myself and Boris have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that you had a fantastic stay with us - Emma had a great weekend too, so all in all everyone had a lovely weekend which is great. It was such great weather and the fact that the sunshine was out for most of it made it that much better. Boris is pretty down to earth and he laughed about the Boris Karloff comment.

We are grateful to hear that everything from the breakfasts, to the Wi-Fi and the communal areas were all to your satisfaction. We are delighted that you were pleased with the room too. We always give our very best to maintain everything as we know how important it is to feel relaxed in a comfortable and clean environment.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts - for me I absolutely love making the muesli and the fruit salad. A positive and healthy start to each day. It's great to hear you might be back in the future and if you do please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up. So from myself and Boris,

Take Care and enjoy the rest of this gorgeous Summer we've had so far.

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Set just a short walk away from the main street of Bourton On the Water this B & B was superb. Run by young family members who were so welcoming it was a pleasant bonus and they couldn't have been more helpful. Even down to the home made cake left in the room every afternoon! We stayed in the annex which seems to make it feel more private. Tastefully decorated with comfy beds it was spotlessly clean. Well done guys will always recommend and hope to try Nanny Brow in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Good Morning Jan, we have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and both myself and Emma are glad that had a great stay upon your trip to The Cotswolds while at Cranbourne House - especially on the weekend of the Air Show. The biggest compliment for me was the word "young" family members - thank you, that actually put a big smile on my face.

I absolutely love baking and to know the fresh cakes were much appreciated makes it all worth while. Fresh cake is not only a great way for myself and Emma to indulge in some naughty treats, but it also makes your trip away feel more homely and adds another element of relaxation. It's great to know you really enjoyed the room in the annexe and you're right - it does have and we are pleased to hear how comfortable it was for you.

If you do decide on another journey to the Cotswolds, please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up. So on behalf of Emma and myself enjoy the rest of 2014 and we will hopefully see you again soon.


Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

John and Emma were the most perfect of hosts. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The whole place is newly decorated to the highest standard and the bed was luxuriously comfortable. Breakfast was an indulgent joy. I could not recommend more highly.
Jamie

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good Morning Jamie, wow, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was such a delight to read all the lovely things you said about us and Cranbourne House B&B. Firstly I hope you made it back to London on time and that the traffic wasn't too bad for a morning.

It was no problem with regards to the earlier breakfasts and going out of our way to make sure you got away on time. We understand that all our guests have different needs and want to do different things, so having to leave to get back to work was no problem for us to make sure you had a good breakfast before heading off. I must say I was touched to read the lovely comments you left about myself and Emma. We always aim to make sure everyone is happy at Cranbourne B&B without being too intrusive and I'm happy this is conveyed.

If you are ever planning a trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

They have the knack of being friendly and informative but not intrusive. We were in the Annex, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves (the 2nd bedroom in the annex was unoccupied at the time). Wonderful, spacious rain shower. Good free wifi. Delicious breakfast with all ingredients of high quality, especially the fruit salad and homemade muesli. Big portions, forcing me to ask for the Half English. Very relaxing place. Very quiet at night. Hiking material you can borrow. We had some good meals at The Rose Croft and L'Anatra Italian restaurant.
Room: Double – Annex, Windrush

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
A very Good Morning to you both, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was really great to hear that you both had such an enjoyable stay at Cranbourne B&B. It's great to know you really enjoyed the room, the free Wi-Fi, shower and the building itself; not forgetting the bed in your room of the Annexe, and we are pleased to hear how comfortable it was for you.

We smiled when you mentioned about being full at breakfast. We do think it is the most important meal of the day and most of our guests leave not needing to eat again until the evening which is great. We like to vary our menu and make sure we have plenty of choice for everyone. With regards to myself and Emma, we are so glad that you found the service to be informative but not too intrusive - that is our ideal aim running the B&B; to help and keep everyone informed of the local area while letting you enjoy the weekend to yourselves.

Once again, thank you both for the lovely comments about your stay and it really does sound like from start to finish was a lovely break for you both. Please do feel free to come back and visit or keep in touch.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just arrived home from spending 2 nights at this beautiful place. The hosts John and Emma couldn't make you more welcome. We had the downstairs room just off the conservatory and were informed that it was the largest room. Beautiful furniture and nice finishing touches. Loved the little cakes left in our room for when we returned late afternoon. Breakfast was amazing. Very nice to have a host that took the time to chat with you at anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_R_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Good Morning Karen,

We have just finished reading your review over breakfast and both myself and Emma are glad you enjoyed your break in Bourton. I'm glad you enjoyed the cakes each afternoon - definitely one of my favourite jobs meaning I get to have a lovely afternoon snack too. Also it makes a difference to hear of the furniture and the comfort within the rooms here at Cranbourne.

I love to chat and find out more about the guests that stop with us (it's one of the best parts of the job hearing life stories and facts about where people are from), so it was my pleasure to spend time with yourselves and have a good old natter. If you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability, or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up. Either that or we will see you up at Nanny Brow in the future.


Take Care and enjoy the rest of Summer,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Property: Cranbourne House
Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing