We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place, Homely & Lovely Chatty Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 100 yds from corner of Sherbourne Street and High St
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Homely & Lovely Chatty Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have been here a few times on our visits to Bourton On The Water. They have a lovely outside seating area for the summer right next to the river on some decking. The inside of the pub is very cosy with low oak beams. We have eaten here on a previous visit but can't remember much about it as it was a few years ago.

Pop in and give it a try.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    163
    79
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“freshly cooked to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

we found this pub off the high street having been turned away from one of the little tea rooms on the main road as they were closing (at 1pm lunchtime ?!). However they did us a favour as we found the Duke of Wellington served piping hot food freshly cooked which was very welcome having trudged through the snow/slush around the village. We had fish and chips and the ham (delicious :D) egg and chips - very friendly service and extremely good value at £28 for 4 of us. Good family pub (some tables were reserved), very clean pub, real ales and staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“great food / friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We went (13 of us plus dog) on a busy weekend lunchtime and they managed to find us a couple of tables close by to accomodate us all.
Food very good (homemade soup thick and tasty / good rustic bread / baguettes) and large helpings.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“most locals in this pub says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

staff very friendly food and drinks served quickly good selection of beers and largers very well run

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

tried to book a week in advance as we always stay here on our anniversary as i find it a brilliant place, Emailed week in advance and a poor Gareth rang me the day that we had asked for and was most appologetic but had already booked alsewhere by then. very sad. First time in 20 years missed it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank gaz1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing