We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 100 yds from corner of Sherbourne Street and High St
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Dined with my family,had 4 meals, 3 of which were average & 1 poor.Was expecting it to be better so was disappointed. Nice surroundings & good for a drink but better places to dine

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    168
    81
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We went to Bourton on the water today just for a drive ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We went for a drive today and ended up at bourton on the water a very beautiful place lot's of quaint tea room's and tourist attractions but our very favourite place of all was where we stopped for lunch the Duke of Wellington two meals for £10 we had ham egg and chip's with 4 side order's and a pint each the service is superb and very welcoming the food was sublime it was so delicious that we have decided it's very well worth the 45mins drive just to go out for a meal we will most definitely be returning

Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not the best place to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a cramped place with small tables and not very comfortable.
I tried the Cod and Chips and although it was ok I not had so many bones in a fish for 30 years.
There are cheaper places with better surroundings which we found a little later on.
Would not eat here again.
The barman was fine but the waitress was moaning to him, not very professional in front of customers, and was not very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john6101953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch and got more than we expected. The food was wide in choice and we had an excellent pie. Next came the biggest surpirise: the terrace! What a nice spot to sit and enjoy a bite away from all the tourist commotion.

Helpful?
Thank luug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dinner with my sons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had dinner with my sons, in the garden next to the little river. Food ok, decent and not massive portions. Later we returned for pudding and sat indoors. Atmosphere and friendliness fine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing