We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

The Lawns Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lawns Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here and recommend highly. The hosts, Angie and Tony and were extremely lovely people and were the perfect hosts, going out of their way to provide us with extra information and extremely yummy cooked breakfasts! The room was simply beautiful, very quiet and private and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    14
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you are wondering where on earth you should stay in the Cotswolds then I would like to highly recommend The Lawns Bed & Breakfast. Firstly, the owners Angie and Tony were the perfect hosts. They were genuinely friendly and welcoming and also gave you your own personal space. The room I stayed in was a family room with an en-suite bathroom. It was spacious, clean and was well stocked with (towels, creams, shower gels etc). Tony is a whizz in the kitchen. His bangers, bacon and scrambled eggs are to die for - seriously!! Angela was also very helpful in pointing me in the right direction for sightseeing spots and great restaurants. The Horse and Groom and Mount Inn restaurants were fabulous. Bourton-on-the-Water, is an 8min walk from the house and Lower Slaughter, which I absolutely loved and a must see, was a pleasant 15mins stroll along a walking path. If you are interested in exploring some of the other villages like Broadway, Stow-on-the-Wold etc I strongly advise you to hire a car. The Lawns has ample parking space. It was well worth the 80 pounds per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were welcomed by the owners, Angela and Tony. 10 years ago we stayed at The Lawns and had such a pleasant stay that we had to come back.
The room is spacious, the breakfast is superb and Angela and Tony are very helpfull and willing to provide us all the information about the lovelly area. Our two daughters loved the garden and the playground across the street. We enjoyed Bourton-on-the-water! We will definitely come back to The Lawns!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarArno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just had a delightful mini break at The Lawns, and Angie and her husband went to such trouble to make our stay memorable. We were warmly welcomed, our room was lovely, so were the amenities, and the breakfast was to die for. We had plenty of everything with lots of choice, and it was all very tasty. Bourton on the Water is a lovely place with a motor museum and the famous model village to walk round, and a very pretty river runs through it so you can feed the ducks and Angie gave us some crusts for this purpose. . Within a very short distance are other Cotswold villages to explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MovingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I am interested to note that yet another reviewer has suffered at the hands of this place. I booked by telephone and was categorically told that the price was £70. So much so that I made sure I had the exact cash available. Like the other reviewer when it came to paying it was suddenly £80!!! There is no point in saying this place is excellent when just down the road there are so many more B&B's that really do care for their guests and provide a proper breakfast with real sausages and fresh bread not Wall's pink ones and Sunblest...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RicBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

When we arrived no one was there nor was any indication when they would be there
the accommodation was first class but we had to request to request towels as there was only one hand towel in the room
the selection of cereals for breakfast was poor nor was there any fruit and the toast was only offered very reluctantly as an afterthought. There was also a dispute about the price as the web site said £70 and the owner insisted that he had quoted me £80 and demanded cash as we were only staying one night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela d, Owner at The Lawns Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
I am sorry you were dissapointed. As owners we do try our hardest to solve problems if one occurs. As nobody said at the time, we obviously couldnt solve yours. As for the bathroom having one hand towel. That is an oversight, as guests always have one large bath towel and one hand towel provided per person.
As for the cereals. There is a choice of 9 on the sideboard to select from. Toast. Well everyone is offered toast when they have finished with the main course. Toast and marmalade and jam are on offer so it is served hot and fresh. I do hope your one night stay wasnt that dissapointing and you will return and try us again. Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

very good . nice family. clean made you feel welcome,nice suroundings,food 10/10 carn't fault the place we will return thank you very much tony from dave & tanya ,see you next year many thanks for a mice break,,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJE1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.3 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Lawns Bed & Breakfast
Address: Station Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing