We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Allerton Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Feature 1
Feature 2
Feature 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shelle09
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really good location 1min walking distance to centre of village and shops, beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely village. The cottage is an old traditional style with slightly uneven flooring in places and low ceiling in living area (husband knocked his head once or twice), it is spaced over three floors with a narrow stairway to the attic bedroom and has a nice modern kitchen area and very nice open fireplace. We enjoyed our 3night stay in bourton and visited the bird zoo to feed the Penguins which is only a 10min walk from the cottage.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy well-appointed cottage”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very pleased with our stay at Allerton which is a tidy, well equipped and comfortable little cottage. The owners went to considerable effort to create a cosy and festive atmosphere for our Christmas stay, including the provision of a generous welcome basket. Bourton is a delightful little village as is the close by Stow. Would recommend both the area and the cottage. Only word of caution: the driveway to rear of the cottage is very tight, especially for larger vehicles but manageable once you get used to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen n
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well equiped, comfortable and home from home”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Allerton Cottage was the best break we have had. Bourton on the water is a lovely place with things to do and great places to eat. The cottage is completely home from home and everything possible had been thought of. Great location, great cottage and would recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable relaxing break/holiday.

Karen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eli A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We've spent the last week here and it's been fabulous. The cottage is beautiful and very central.

There is EVERYTHING you could possibly need for a self catering stay, and the cottage was spotlessly clean.

Allerton Cottage feels very old with its uneven flooring, low beamed ceilings and steep stairs and the church outside has a bell tower which rings every fifteen minutes.

A fantastic stay, I would absolutely recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard19...
West Bromwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What more can I say that hasn't already been said. A perfect cottage with everything you need, in the perfect location. On arrival with had a welcome box of chocolates. The cottage has everything you need, including a lovely log fire. As for the Cotswolds it's a wonderful place to visit, even when its raining and so much to see and do. We look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1970Chris...
Wissen, Germany
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed for one week during the Easter holiday.
The location of the cottage is perfect, only a few meters from pubs, restaurants and the supermarket.
The own garage is a big advantage, as during the weekends Bourton is really crowded, as it is a lovely town. Important was that the garage was accessible even with our SUV, even through the narrow lane.
On arrival we found a welcome present (easter egg, cakes etc.) which we really appreciated. The cottage and the equipment (e.g. towels) is in a very clean condition, the kitchen is fully equipped and the sanitary facilities are modern.
Also many thanks to the manager Diane for the excellent service.
For sure we will come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittyminx
worthing
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The location is right in the middle of the village..... Go out for some drinks and walk across the road home! In the winter the cotswolds is lovely, but in the summer it's gorgeous.... Hopefully, we will be back. Cottage is so we equipped... Hair dryer, tea, coffee, firewood, bath foam, books to read, games to play, fluffy towels.... Spotless, which is really important to me. Thank you. I think the lounge could potentially fit in another 2 seater sofa, but only because I like to spread out!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing