We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal spot to stay in a very pretty town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Allerton Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Feature 1
Feature 2
Feature 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jack G
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal spot to stay in a very pretty town”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Allerton Cottage is right in the centre of Bourton on the Water. It has all you could need in a cottage with its lovely sitting area and kitchen downstairs, bedrooms upstairs and off street, under-cover parking at the back of the property.

On our stay we parked the car when we arrived and didn't use it again until we left three days later. With one day walking the local footpaths and another on bicycles we didn't need a car to get around. Bliss. Bourton's excellent coffee shops and pubs a within a five minute walk and what better way to finish off a fine meal than to have a brief walk home?

Finally, for lovers of Port Meirion crockery, the cottage is stocked with wonderful examples.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Coventry
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TweetyBL
Dreieich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a quirky town ”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've been to Allerton the first time and it is really old but very well cared of. The ceiling is very low, the floor is quite uneven, this makes the bed stand askew with the head lower then the feet. When taking a shower the whole bathroom gets wet. The kitchen is very well equipped. The shared outside facilities are dirty and damaged and the neighbours hat guests that werde camping in the shared garden. The drive way is very narrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
We would like to thank you for your feedback, it always helps us to improve.
When I called to see you, you did not mention the garden, which is the only shared facility. Although people were camping in the garden it was not connected to our cottage. We hope this did not spoil your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjshamp
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful week stay at Allerton cottage. The pictures don't do it justice for how lovely and comfortable it is.”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My mother and sister and I stayed a week and the place is much bigger than it looks! The second bedroom on the third floor is plenty big to stand up in and beds are very comfortable. The handheld shower in the tub is not as difficult as it seems, as long as you are comfortable sitting in the bathtub. There is a really nice garden and sunroom not shown in the pictures. We cooked a few meals amd the kitchen is full of dishes, everything you could possibly need to cook with was there, even some seasonings, herbs, oil, and vinegar which came in handy for us. Diane even left some essentials like milk, bread, and jam that was much appreciated. The cottage is conveniently located a short walk down the high street. Bourton on the Water has lots of shops and places to eat as well as fun things to do, but if you have a car it is also a short drive in any direction to other attractions. If you have a car it is a tight squeeze through the lane to the parking area behind the cottage, but once you've done it the first time, it gets easier! The Bakery on the Water has excellent coffee, cream tea, and baked goods. There is also a cute little garden sitting area outside behind the bakery next to a stream. We had an excellent stay in the Cotswolds at Allerton Cottage alternating long driving days to various points of interest and more lazy days of staying in and just enjoying the charming atmosphere of Allerton and Bourton.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelle09
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really good location 1min walking distance to centre of village and shops, beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely village. The cottage is an old traditional style with slightly uneven flooring in places and low ceiling in living area (husband knocked his head once or twice), it is spaced over three floors with a narrow stairway to the attic bedroom and has a nice modern kitchen area and very nice open fireplace. We enjoyed our 3night stay in bourton and visited the bird zoo to feed the Penguins which is only a 10min walk from the cottage.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy well-appointed cottage”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very pleased with our stay at Allerton which is a tidy, well equipped and comfortable little cottage. The owners went to considerable effort to create a cosy and festive atmosphere for our Christmas stay, including the provision of a generous welcome basket. Bourton is a delightful little village as is the close by Stow. Would recommend both the area and the cottage. Only word of caution: the driveway to rear of the cottage is very tight, especially for larger vehicles but manageable once you get used to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen n
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well equiped, comfortable and home from home”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Allerton Cottage was the best break we have had. Bourton on the water is a lovely place with things to do and great places to eat. The cottage is completely home from home and everything possible had been thought of. Great location, great cottage and would recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable relaxing break/holiday.

Karen

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing