We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alderley House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jude S
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a perfect holiday in this beautiful house..it has everything you could wish for to make a wonderful holiday. Its only a very short stroll into the main part of Bourton which is an added bonus. I can honestly say that there were no negatives at all. Margaret always replied promptly to my many emails ! and is such a lovely lady. The children really enjoyed the house and all that Bourton has to offer...we will be returning.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2018
It was a pleasure to host this lovely family ,and every thing was good , communication , arrival / departure , cleanliness etc , we look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbriste...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely House spacious and in a great location”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our family of 8 plus one dog spent 3 fabulous days at Alderley House. It was booked for my 70th birthday as a surprise gift. The house was beautifully kept and extremely comfortable. We were 10 minutes walk from the very pretty Bourton-on-the Water. we enjoyed the local pubs and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your special weekend at Alderley House
and would love to see you again sometime.

Margaret and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G
Louth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really lovely house”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Steve and Margaret, the owners met us and were extremely welcoming and helpful. There were nine of us, all female, ages ranging from 42 to 72 and we all had a fabulous weekend. The house is on the outskirts of the village and it takes about 20 mins to walk to the centre, although some of us don't walk very fast. The lounge easily sat us all and although the kitchen is quite small, it is well equipped and quite adequate for our needs. Bedrooms are lovely and comfortable, and although a couple have quite low sloping ceilings, we never found this a problem. Logs, sticks and coal were provided to light a cosy real fire, which was lovely to gather round at the end of the day. This is a great base for looking around all the quaint little Cotswold villages and Bourton itself has plenty of great places to eat and drink, we even went to the quiz night at the Duke of Wellington pub and were made very welcome. All in all, a great place to stay for families or friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Well thank you for those kind words Julie , and it was a pleasure meeting
you and we are pleased you enjoyed the house and had a lovely relaxing weekend with your friends .
Kind Regards
Margaret and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better suited to our needs”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, wife, two sisters, two brothers-in-law and our mum spent a thoroughly enjoyable bank holiday weekend in this very comfortable house. This is the only place I have ever stayed which seemed ready to enjoy for its guests. The owners have a simple and efficient ordering system which worked well. They were able to meet us and offered such help and advice as was required for the area. It was important for us that we could all be seated at a table and could lounge together. All facilities were as we required from a bathroom for each bedroom to a teaspoon for each cup. This property could not have been better suited for our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of seating and bathroom facilities
Liked least: Couldn't, identify anything I didn't like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael12...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are four couples 60+ who go for a brief walking break Monday to Thursday once a year in the Spring. This year we stayed at Alderey House and found it excellent for our purposes. It was very well maintained and the interior design was pleasant and relaxing. The lounge and dining areas compared very well with houses we have used in the past. The lounge seats in particular provided ample comfort for all of us to relax and chat.Some houses claiming to provide for eight do not in reality offer anything like the same level of seating. The dining table was similarly well able to seat all eight of us in comfort. The en suite bedrooms were well furnished and up to the standard of the rest of the house.
In brief if we were to go back to this area again we would have no hesitation in booking Alderley House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Met our needs very successfully
Liked least: Nothing to criticise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely house and gardens”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Alderly house for a week and the sun shone all week.!The house Is lovely very comfortable and well equipped and with private facilities in all rooms so perfect for a family or group of friends.The enclosed gardens are safe and would be great for children ,our three large family dogs thought it was marvellous.The house is situated a ten minutes stroll from the center of the village with all its lovely shops cafes and pubs.We had a great time and would recommend the house and it in a perfect position to explore the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Small step down into downstairs enSuite could be a problem for elderly who are not to good on their feet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for Cotswold Visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Situated in quiet residential area within easy walk of centre of Bourton on the Water. Large driveway for off street parking. All bedrooms are ensuit so no bottlenecks in the mornings allowing full use of the day. Everything to a high standard and a large kitchen range with double ovens made catering for a group easy. Owners are friendly and helpful , they dropped round photostats of various local walks after my daughter had expressed interest in walking. Access to several footpaths in the immediate area of the property. Oxford and Cheltenham within easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing