We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cottage in a fab location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Location
Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TyneandWe...
Tyne and Wear
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cottage in a fab location”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Yes we agree with all previous reviews, this cottage has it all. Good quality fittings, beds were extremely comfortable. Location is perfect . My husband and I invited friends around who were equally impressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: top stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR-Bne
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect, location and facilities”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thank you Diane, the cottage was perfect. We stayed with our 2 adult children, and it was comfortable enough for everyone.
On entering the cottage we were greeted with an assortment of treats and information of the surrounding areas. A beautiful stroll into and around Burton on the water was very easy from here, which is so pictursque and one of our favourite villages. Many other villiages were an easy drive from here all with their own highlights and personalities.
The bedding was very luxurious and comfortable and having an extra toilet is a bonus with 4 adults in the house.
Just a note that stair access to the top bedroom would be quite steep for some.
We had a lovely stay and would definately stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect cottage and location”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is our sixth stay in Bourton-on-the-water and the first time that we have stayed at The Cottage. This is definitely our favourite cottage and we will be recommending it to family and friends. It is also top of our list, should we return for another stay in the village. Bourton-on-the-water is the perfect location as there is lots to do 'on the door step'. Our two children (aged 4 and 6) loved all the local attractions (Birdland, Model Village, Motor Museum, Model Railway, Cotswold farm Park). The cottage itself was very well presented/furnished/equipped. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the kitchen was exceedingly well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate cottage in prime location”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Going by the consistently positive reviews, it was a no brainer to stay in this cottage...and it certainly delivered. It is beautifully presented, updated to a high standard whilst being considerate to its age and keeping many of its original features. The kitchen is well fitted out and incredibly well equipped. The beds are really comfortable and the linen like new. The cottage is located just off the river, so you are on the high street in seconds. It really is delightful, recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well the kitchen is equipped
Liked least: no stand up shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bljl1862
Torquay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location in a pretty village”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I highly recommend The Cottage as your home away from home. Everything you would need is in this property. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, guaranteeing a good night's sleep. The fixtures were of high quality and the extras provided made you feel very welcome. The location is excellent being in the heart of the village and the river virtually at your doorstep. A very warm and welcoming retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, cleanliness and welcome
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl8044
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"PERFECT"”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at The Cottage and has become a real home from home for us. It spotlessly clean there is every appliance you could wish for. The living area is very comfortable with a nice dining area. The kitchen is extremely well equipped so much so my wife wants one just like it. Bedrooms are very well furnished with very comfortable beds. Nicely fitted out toilet and bathroom on the first floor and toilet on the ground floor. I can honestly say we can't find any negatives with the cottage and to many positives to list. Its location is perfect for the village and parking directly outside the front door. In our opinion there is no better cottage or location in Bourton On The Water. Over the last few years we have had holidays in several villages in the Cotswolds and never been disappointed with any location but we have not stayed anywhere that comes close to The Cottage and we shall certainly be coming back for the foreseeable future. As I said earlier this is our second stay I should add we have already booked our third and fourth. Finally the owners. This year we stayed as part of my 60th Birthday on arrival there was a lovely Welcome/Birthday note from Diane and Robert with a box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne in the fridge, how good is that, they are like their cottage "PERFECT".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwindy
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in a fabulous location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our second stay at The Cottage and still as wonderful as before. Everything you could possibly need in a wonderful central location. Once you've stayed here you won't want to stay anywhere else in Bourton - which was exactly the reason we came back to it!
The cottage is immaculate, the children were able to pop out by themselves to feed the ducks (it's that close to the river!) and it now also has the added bonus of Wifi.
We can't wait to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing