We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We booked for the new Year's eve package and were not disappointed. The 70's theme was good fun. Although we had been nervous about dressing in 70's outfits we decided to go for it and thoroughly enjoyed the night. The combination of meeting in the bar for canapés, murder mystery spread over the night and through the meal and then champagne for midnight made for a great night. We met some lovely people during the night and in the following day too. Thoroughly recommend this but also the room, service and facilities were really good. We had a lovely room and bathroom although the posts on the four poster bed meant that you had to both lie on one side of the bed to see the tv. Suggest moving the tv? Bourton is a lovely place too and really handy for touring around this area. Also recommend visiting the maze - different from what you expect. Thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want a little bit of luxury in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 which is a lovely four poster room. Spacious and facing out to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Ideally situated for a weekend countryside break. Ideally located in an interesting village with plenty to mooch over. The Chester House was very clean and comfortable and very good value for money. The family room in the main part of the hotel was particularly good value.The bar was modern with good food. The restaurant (which is situated across the road) served equally good food in a country-kitchen-style restaurant. Very good breakfast. The Chester House lives up to the reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest-OpinionOct10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Three night stay in a courtyard room, very clean, spacious & comfortable with lots of little extras. Quiet in November so easy parking in hotel car park and excellent location in the centre of the village. Welcoming, friendly staff and attentive and courteous service throughout the hotel and restaurant. Good breakfasts. Evening meals in their Croft Restaurant were also very good with an unfussy menu, good value and great service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardinalpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Situated in the seperate out building, our room was lovely, cute and perfect for the occasion of our first weekend away together.

Was ideally located for the local sites including bird land, the model village and the maze!

Set in a beautiful cotswalds village, you could not ask for a more quaint location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent a long week-end here in October, and I can't say enough about how great it was! It is a very comfortable, unpretentious place where they think of all the little things that make an ordinary visit extraordinary. In the bar/pub, you can get excellent coffee during the day, a light meal, and a good selection of drinks. Breakfasts are superb. The best thing is the staff, quite honestly. When we were there, the owners were away and we were literally pampered by a group of young people who not only went out of their way to take care of us, but did it with courtesy and friendliness. The restaurant (half a block away) has excellent food and a very pleasant atmosphere. And you get a rubber ducky! I should add that I think it's probably a fantastic place to go with kids - plenty of things for them to do and a generally kid-friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ithakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Had a fantastic weekend, very cosy hotel, great location, accomodation and food. Staff very helpful and friendly, will go out of their way to please. I like the little extra's like having the local paper in your room each day and the postcard and not fogetting the duck to take on your travels and post pictures on their website. Room was big with with comfortable bed and nice toiletries. The Croft resturant which is owned by the hotel is lovely, has a relaxing atmosphere and the lamb shank is to die for. We ate there both evenings and the food was cooked and presented very well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinning14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Had a 5 night stay at this Hotel in October and it was great!!!
The staff are all very nice and friendly and also very helpful.
We enjoyed the food in the Croft Restaurant and also we had
Sunday Lunch with our visiting family in the Hotel which was also
very good. We only have one problem which we could not blame
the Hotel for, and that was some very noisey other guests returning
to the Hotel very late and slaming through the fire doors on the landing.
we thought the door was coming through the wall into our room!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
547 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,484 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £83 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing