We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for three nights with my mum on a little trip through the Cotswolds. Stayed in two different rooms as my brother joined us. Old stables rooms lovely, comfortable. Parking available, very good in this area. Well run hotel and a solid breakfast. totally recommended.

Room Tip: Room in the old stables are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    223
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
130
411
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Bourton-on-the-Water is a great central location for visiting the Cotswold area. When staying here you get to enjoy this picturesque town in relative solitude in the morning and evening without the crowds. As well, it is a large enough town to provide several dining and many shopping options. The hotel is in a quaint, old yellow stone building tucked away just off the main street. The rooms are clean, stylish and well-appointed. Our family stayed in two mid-priced rooms. Our daughters’ ground floor room, number 6, had a beautiful stone fireplace, bay window, sofa and a relatively large shower in the bathroom. Our room, directly above on the second floor seemed more modest, the shower was tiny, though the room itself was very spacious. All the linens, towels, toiletries, and tea tray supplies were top notch. Both rooms were facing the street and while one night there was some noise from partiers it was all quiet by midnight. There was no fridge, safe or wifi in the room, however wifi was available in the main floor sitting areas. We had delicious breakfasts included in the price of the room. Cold items such as yogurt, pastries and fruit were available buffet style, while egg dishes were prepared to order.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We went away for a couple of nights for a birthday treat. Lovely hotel very friendly. Rooms were modern and spacious and very tasteful. Breakfast was excellent. We ate at The Croft on both evenings - food and service were superb. We have recommended to friends and will definitely return. Location is perfect to explore the stunning countryside.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is our third stay at Chester House Hotel. We love it.
We always request the four poster room. It is so comfy and spacious.
The staff are always very helpful, both at the booking stage and when staying.
We love to visit in November when the shops are full of Christmas cheer and the lights sparkle at night.
It is such a relaxing place to visit. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and i stayed for one night to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday on arrival we were shown to a romantic 4 post bedroom with flowers which were kindly arranged, the room had a lovely view of the stunning village decorated with Xmas tree and lights. The bedroom was warm and clean with ensuite with power shower which if I am critical was a little difficult to adjust temp sorted eventually. The staff were friendly, we had an evening meal at the croft restaurant boulders throw over road and we had the fillet steak which just melted in our mouths and the thick cut chips were to die for, the service was excellent and made the night very enjoyable we didn't want it to end. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was equally as nice in lovely conservatory room. On checking out we were kindly allowed to leave car in car park so we could wonder around and do some last minute Xmas shopping in stunning village. Overall we had a wonderful stay which we will always remember.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Me and wife stayed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel in October. A really comfortable stay.
The location is the most terrific feature. Right in the center of the town. With the main market just 1 minute away. Restaurants around you, Italian, British, Chinese. Great rooms and an excellent service. Each and every staff member of the hotel was very nice and helpful. They have a beautiful cozy lounge area with games and books.You really wouldn't want to get up from there. The town is just in the center of all the other places. Perfect place to set up base and see Cotswold. We had hired a car and it was very convenient. They have a designated parking spot also.
Loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namitbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our family group spent two nights here in November. We, with our two children had the family room and my husbands parents had a double room.

The hotel is really lovely and in a fantastic location off the main road but only moments from everything in the town. The town is gorgeous and full of great little shops, tearooms and restaurants.

The family room was up a flight of stairs from the reception and the room itself was really big so plenty of space for us all to hang out. The bathroom had a bath with shower over. The room was decorated nicely and was clean but the bathroom was quite basic and dated (though still perfectly clean and acceptable). Not the best place if you need to take a buggy in and out of the room but we are beyond buggy stage with our kids so fine for us. We were very happy with the room and there were plentiful supplies of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits which delighted the kids.

My In-Laws room was on the ground floor and was very nicely decorated with a nice modern shower room. They were happy with it and we all agreed that the rooms were very comfortable.

We enjoyed large delicious breakfasts with friendly staff serving. We ate in both the restaurants which were great. We particularly enjoyed our meal in 'The Croft' across the road. I was a bit worried about taking the kids there on a Friday evening (they are aged 6 and 4) but nobody batted an eyelid and a kids menu was happily produced for them by very friendly staff. The restaurant inside the hotel was good too with a relaxed atmosphere and enjoyable food.

If I had to find fault I would mention that the noise from the bar/restaurant under the family room was a bit annoying until about 10.30/11pm and one of the reception staff ladies seemed a bit preoccupied/not particularly helpful or friendly! (perhaps it just seemed that way because all the other staff were SO nice).

I would, and have already recommended this place to friends and would like to return myself sometime.

Room Tip: The family room by reception is great but access is up stairs which are not suitable for a baby'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing