We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel in Bourton-on-the-Water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little hotel in Bourton-on-the-Water”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly staff, great location. We even get a free rubber ducky! Best part of the hotel was the free English breakfast made to order. They source all of their food locally so it's super fresh and delicious! No Wifi in the rooms but you can get it in the main reception area. My only real problem was that there was no extremely hot water in the afternoon. Maybe it was just a fault on the day or the fact that you're in the country. Overall, I loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbaylii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    229
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
133
431
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We took our two spaniels for a site seeing trip to the Cotswolds & this hotel made us welcome from the moment we arrived.

Its set in a very pretty town & easy to walk to pubs, shops, restaurants or just sit in the comfortable areas they have made within the hotel.

We had a ground floor room which was excellent for our needs however the room we stayed in had very busy stripped wall paper. I'm a plane Jane, so did find this a little busy for my brain but that's honestly the only negative thing I could say about this hotel & thats my taste not theirs.

The receptionist was a delight & to title her a receptionist is almost an insult. She makes the place & nothing was too much trouble for her to do for us. She even printed us a map to walk from Bourton to Lower Slaughter. The hotels is warm & comfortable, with friendly staff who all want to offer their services in a really natural way.

Breakfasts were great & set you up for the day, drinks in the evening were really made all the better by slouching on a sofa with relaxed lighting & warm Cotswold stone walls.

There was a lovely area that you could sit with the dogs too & read magazines & enjoy hot chocolate with a shot of brandy ! Well we were on holiday.

If you want a warm welcome, warm surroundings & a relaxing place to stay then this is a winner.

Room Tip: We were in room 22 & the decoration is quite busy however if you like retro then you will love t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 547RachelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a few nights away at the Chester house hotel. Great value for money. Room clean and spacious. Great breakfast. Had a meal upon arrival at lunchtime. This was delicious.
Very quite during the evening. Just how we like it.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly,nothing was to much trouble.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank minniemouse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is in the centre of one of the prettiest villages in Britain and has been tastefully modernised retaining the old world charm. The rooms are comfortable if a little small but that is what I would expect, the the staff were very welcoming. The bar and lounges were comfortable and tastefully decorated and Breakfast was first class. If I had to nit pick, the TV could have been bigger and the tap water in the morning warmer. There is a restaurant up the road that is attached to the hotel but we found it too packed and walked over the road to the pub for a very reasonable sausage and mash. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: One facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a beautiful place and a superb hotel! The room was recently refurbished and decorated beautifully, breakfast was delicious and their restaurant opposite “The Croft” served extremely good food. The staff couldn't do enough for us, and made our stay really enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, it seems to cater for all (kids, dogs grannies and all). Definitely coming back, and have already recommended this hotel to family and friends. What a gem!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife & I spent our wedding anniversary here in early March, sadly only one night, a Sunday.
Superb room real clean and comfortable bed. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant (Italian) food was beautifully cooked, great atmosphere, despite there being only us and another couple for dinner, great wine list and lovely staff. Breakfast the next morning again excellent and again well worth the very reasonable room rate. So a big thanks to all the staff, we will be back later in the year and stay for a few nights this time. This has got to be the best small UK hotel we have stayed in for 20 years!!

Room Tip: All good and very quiet the hotel being located off the hight street. No noise whatsoever! We did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinphudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Four of us stayed again this year at this fabulous hotel whilst we visited the Cheltenham Race meeting in an annual homage to give bookmakers our hard earned dosh!
The Chester House really is a great hotel. The staff could not be more helpful,friendly or efficient and the food and housekeeping are par d'excellence.
There is an informality about the place but it exudes class which in many respects is down to the professionalism of its management and staff. The breakfasts are just amazing and they also do an Italian menu for evening diners in the hotel. They also have an external restaurant facility which is also very good.
I The location is also delightful and I would heartily recommend the hotel as a basefor anyone wanting to explore the Cotswolds. Donna(the owner) and Mary on reception have befriended us over the last four years and are genuinely nice people as are all the staff. We will certainly keep going back.
Alan Coates

Room Tip: Have stayed in two or three rooms but nos 8 and 10 are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJC574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
960 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing