We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Chester House Hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. Throughout the stay this remained to be the case. Any questions or requests we had were no trouble and they were always happy to help. Our room was beautifully decorated with all of the essential (freeview tv, tea/coffee etc). The bathroom was modern and kept clean with complimentary toiletries. The breakfast which was included within the stay was exceptional. We had a full english, toast and a hot drink and we could request more if we had liked. We could also help ourselves to the buffet (cereals, patries, fruit and juices). We had our first night's meal at The Croft restaurant which is owned by the hotel. Situated on the riverside, the service was excellant and the meal itself was faultless.
The hotel is located a street off the riverside, in a perfect location for the local attractions of the Dragonfly Maze, Birdland, Motor Museam and the Model Villiage which are all within walking distance away.
Overall, our stay could not have been any better, i would definietly reccomend the hotel and would stay there on future visits.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SJH2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Chester House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent room, excellent breakfast !!! Bourton on the water is a lovely place with excellent attractions (apart from the model village). Would definitely recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank henryhounddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We only stayed overnight , but wished we had stayed longer.
The bedroom was well appointed with all the necessary mod cons.
We ate at The Croft restaurant where we enjoyed a delightful dinner. All the courses we had were executed to a very high standard & the waiting staff were very pleasant & totally professional in their manner.
Breakfast in the morning was very good with all requests met with positive & helpful responses.
Needless to say we fully intend to return in the near future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel, and it can't praise it enough.
Check in dealt with by very helpful lady. Room was spacious and clean (only gripe was it's down a very small corridor,quite claustrophobic and easy to bang your head!)last year I stayed in a room that was in the new bit attached to the hotel and I preferred this.
We sat outside and enjoyed some wine, which was delicious. The two waitresses were struggling slightly to service customers having a drink along with those eating, lots of used glasses everywhere.
We ate over at The Croft, which I would recommend.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious, the waiter had remembered I was vegetarian, and offered me an alternative-which was thoughtful and kind.
All in all this hotel is just lovely! Perfect location, perfect staff.
I would recommend and would have no hesitation in returning, preferably ASAP !!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WakefieldAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My fiancee and I have stayed here for 3 consecutive years. It never disappoints, it is exactly what you're after. The staff have always been very upbeat and happy to help. The rooms are good, we have stayed in 'Good' and 'Better' I cannot really see the difference apart from the price.

The rooms have always been very well decorated and the bathrooms are adequate. The cooked breakfast we didn't eat this time but I think it is fairly small. There are other options available, cereals, croissants and toast etc...

The hotel is always very clean and tidy. The staff are very attentive to all of your needs. The location is the best thing about this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Chester house hotel. The hotel is ok. The rooms are a little tired but ok. The thing that really let's this hotel is the dreadful service. Lots of very young staff with no clue. We experienced very poor customer service for the whole three days. So many things with the service are wrong. I understand that during the holidays there will be young people working in the hotels but there was no one with any experience guiding them. I would not recommend this hotel nor would I ever rebook.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Siany73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently had 4 nights at the Chester House and really enjoyed our stay.
First off, we were really impressed with the staff who we found to be friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and was made up nicely every day. We were really impressed by the breakfast and also had dinner one night in the Italian restaurant which was great. We ended each of our evenings in the pub area playing boardgames. On our last afternoon, our daughter took the complimentary rubber ducky from our room and followed it as it floated down the canal…super fun. The location couldn't be better for exploring the countryside, very central.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £94 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing