We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome and Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome and Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

MB&SB Oswestry

We stayed at the Chester House Hotel this weekend. After much researching for a hotel to stay at in Bourton on the Water we decided to give the Chester House Hotel a try and what a great decision it was. A fantastic hotel in a superb location. We arrived on the Friday evening and settled into our ground floor courtyard room. Room was lovely, clean and tidy and had everything you could want for a weekend stay. The bar was cosy and welcoming and the full english breakfasts in the breakfast room overlooking the lovely garden were outstanding and really set you up for a day exploring the village.

We will definately be coming back for another visit. The staff were friendly and very helpful and couldnt do enough for you. Well done Nick, you are a huge credit to the hotel.

The hotels restaurant across the road called The Croft is a must. We had meals here both nights and couldnt fault anything. The food was outstanding. We are so pleased we made reservations as many people got turned away by just turning up hoping to get a table on spec. The only bad thing I have to stay about mine and my wifes stay is that we blame the Hotel and the restaurant for our increased waistlines. Food top notch. ;-) Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    223
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
130
411
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed recently as part of a small group. When we arrived there was chaos - the girl obviously was out of her depth. She put a pile of keys on the desk to be taken at random without taking any names to match the keys. We then had to drag our cases up the stairs without help, including senior members of the group.
To be fair, there are obviously different standards of rooms, as some of our group loved theirs and thought the standard was excellent. We didn't. When we entered the room we were hit by a stale, unaired smell which remained for the three nights of our stay. We could not open our window to clear the smell, as it opened on to a roof and other windows were opposite. We did our best by opening the window and pulling the heavy curtains across for privacy - not an efficient way to air a room. However the room was reasonably set up.
The bed was like a hammock. One person rolled to the centre and the other had to sleep gripping the edges of the mattress to stop rolling on the other.
We did not have any warning about the plumbing. Whilst having a shower the water could just stop at any given time and you had to wait until it started up again.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom however, the drain in the handbasin had brown slime hanging down from the grate which was sickening to look at. It would take seconds to scrub that off.
The breakfast was very good, as was the bar, and the staff were fantastic. Location-wise it was outstanding.
All in all, if you get a nice room it would be a good stay, but if you got some of the others it would be fairly unpleasant.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1947WesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

My friend and I recently stayed at Chester house in Bourton and although this is not something I usually do... I felt I had to write a review and highly recommend this hotel. Our night at Chester house was fantastic we received a warm welcome and were show to 2 great, recently beautifully refurbished rooms, they were light, spotlessly clean with beds to die for and all at a great price. To top it all of we ate at a restaurant across the road called the Croft, the food was excellent and I didn't have any problem polishing off 3 courses and licking my plate clean ...
As this was a bit of a treat for us mums my friend arranged with the hotel for us to have beauty treatments in our rooms ..... A relaxing morning .
Fantastic all round i will defiantly be staying there again

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethalice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Lovely setting for hotel. We had a 4 poster bed which was lovely and soft, with view of the 'river' windrush. This is really a fast flowing stream, but picturesque never the less.
Shower took some time to dispense hot water, but the bath filled up in no time. The duck was a nice touch!
Breakfast was very good, hot and plentiful. We booked to eat at the Croft across the road, but left without ordering as it really was very noisy and over crowded. There are plenty of other pubs/restaurants close by.
A trip to Birdland, a 10min stroll away was well worth it.
The weather only added to the lovely relaxed weekend spent in the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyowl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Our stay at the Chester House was for their New Year package. It included loads and was great value for money - we had lovely afternoon teas and spent New Year's Eve at the hotel.

The staff at the hotel can't do enough to make your stay happy and the receptionist, Mary is just lovely. The barman Nick went out of his way to ensure that the room problems were dealt with swiftly. We were made to feel really welcome by Donna and all the staff.

We stayed in the coach house and it had a few problems, the heating wasn't working so we had two heaters, the TV buzzed when showing its 4 channels, the duvet just about met the edges of our 'king' (two singles pushed together) bed, the shower only had scorching water as a choice and the carpet wasn't amazing. But these were mostly solved by the staff in their want for you to have a great time.

On the surface, this hotel looks lovely (esp the website) and when we arrived, we were impressed by the cleanliness of the bedding, suede headboard, pretty spotlights, good choice of drinks on the tray in the room, the really comfy sofas and wide choice of games to play in the lounge.

The hotel doesn't quite meet the glitz of the website, it's so nearly there but the attention to detail is sometimes missing.

Overall we had a fun New Year and this is great place to relax and be looked after.

  • Liked — The very comfy bed and lovely staff
  • Disliked — The problems with our room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_teacher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

We arrived on the Monday night to be greeted at reception by a very friendly man who gave us the room key and explained what time breakfast was, how to lock the door etc.

We were staying in room 15...to begin with: as we arrived quite late we literally dumped our bags went for a bit of a walk and then came back...straight to bed. The room was lovely and the hall way smelt of cleaning product, the bathroom was a slight disappointment with a beige suit, not the usual white you come to expect, it seem they had tried to make the best of what they had. As we left that night we were asked if we wanted a meal in the adjoining restaurant, we declined assuming we would be able to on another night (they never told us that its closed Tues. and wens evenings, which kind of screwed our plans).

After a lovely night we left early in the morning, and arrived back to a clean and fresh room, the maids were fantastic...even winding wires around electrical appliances, and folding up clothes. That nice we put the tele on and then my partner went to have a shower - the pluming was slightly dodgy, but this was explained in a laminated instruction sheet. After a few mins all the lights went out...but only in our room. My partner rang reception and the lady was very apologetic and it was sorted in mins. Then I has a call into the bathroom to find water leaking from the seal around the base of the toilet, it wasn’t dirty but we couldn’t be sure it was clean either. We mopped it up with a towel and rang down to reception again; the lady (who we assumed to be the owner) came up and looked. She said we could either move room or use another bathroom, depending on what was easier for us. Luckily we hadn’t unpacked to we opted for a move.

We ended up in the four-poster room, which again was done to a very high standard. The bathroom this time was white and very clean, however again there was a laminate with instructions on the dodgy plumbing. We had a lovely stay and recommend the croft for a meal, we went one lunchtime and it was lovely.

Overall fab stay even with hitches. and the breakfast was dead good too.

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfullness of staff
  • Disliked — room problems, dodgy plumbing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xxemmaxx_905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

Bourton on water is a great location and very pretty village.
The food at the hotel were excellent, breakfast made to order.
We stayed in the coach house for 3 nights, after our first night we asked to move rooms because the boiler room was next door which sounded like a marching band. The staff were very helpful and let us look at all the available rooms and choose which one we wanted. The hotel has plenty of parking which is great as you will stuggle to park in Bourton. Lots of nice shops , I would avoid the model village- biggest waste of money. The location is ideal for discovery the Cotswolds.

  • Liked — Friendly staff good food
  • Disliked — Noisy boiler room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeycoolcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Hotel

Property: Chester House Hotel
Address: Victoria Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking throughout. Disabled/wheelchair facilities. Residents lounge/bar. Residents Restaurant. Families welcome, cots and baby monitors available. Large bookings welcome. Beauty therapist available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing