We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early evening meal - delicious ”

The Croft Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Croft restaurant is situated next to the beautiful River Windrush in the heart of Bourton on the Water.Serving excellent local cuisine, from our delicious breakfasts through to fabulous evening meals, be sure to come and find us.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Had a six PM visit to the Croft on the recommendation of the B&B we are staying at. Not disappointed at all - food was delicious, staff were pleasant and friendly and we really enjoyed it.

Very reasonable cost and would defo visit again. Thank you.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank rlwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 655 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016

The Croft was a lovely place to eat, the staff were very efficient and friendly. Would eat there again had we been staying longer than 2 nights.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank lindahill321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Yummy food, charming atmosphere and great wait staff - we couldn't have asked for better! The view of the canal made it all the better!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Dropped into Bourton-on-the-water to visit my mum who recently moved there. She had already been to The Croft a couple of times and highly recommended it so we walked there for some lunch.

The restaurant was quite busy for an unremarkable Thursday afternoon (approx 1:30pm) we had a pick of a few tables inside.

Sadly, the theme of the experience was slow service, we were waiting at least 15 minutes before we had our food and drink order taken together, we ordered an omelette (Brie + Ham with chips) and a chicken salad baguette. We were a bit disheartened to see that a couple of other tables that had arrived after us received their (more complex) meals before us. We were waiting a good 20 minutes for our food.

Meals themselves were fresh and tasty, I can see why the restaurant is well reviewed.

After waiting a while for our plates to be cleared we asked for the bill, and after a further 10 minutes waiting for that we decided to go up to the till and pay as we were fed up waiting.

Restaurant did not appear under-staffed so really not sure why service was so slow or erratic

Will definitely be back in future for a full meal, hopefully with a bit faster/smoother service experience!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HeddyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

A lovely outdoor seating area with views,onto the little river. We had a light bite which was delicious. Great granary baguette well filled and nicely served. Service was pleasant, speedy and efficient. Clearly popular with tourists. Pity there is only one ladies toilet!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Croft Restaurant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Croft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.