We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place for Hobbits AND Elves!”
other travellers have booked this property
An authentic detached 16th Century Jacobean Cottage with original Oak beams & Inglenook fireplace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An authentic detached 16th Century Jacobean Cottage with original Oak beams & Inglenook fireplace.
Welcome to Well Cottage! Side Gate Entrance within a 2 minute walk to the Village in a quiet cul-de-sac.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
An authentic detached 16th Century Jacobean Cottage with original Oak beams & Inglenook fireplace.
Welcome to Well Cottage!
Side Gate Entrance within a 2 minute walk to the Village in a quiet cul-de-sac.
Front View  with original well, cottage garden planting and spacious off road parking space.
Furnished with British made sofa and Oak Antique furniture.
Original Mullioned window by dining area. .
Enjoy warm and cosy evenings by the fire!
Flowers picked from the garden!
Downstairs bathroom with claw feet bath and  overhead shower and not to forget heated Towel rail.
Fluffy Bath mat and towels!
A large double Bedroom which is large enough to also holds a single bed (your choice)!
Single Bed in the large Double bedroom.
Front Double Bedroom with built in cupboard and Dresser Drawers.
Christy white towels.
Original Well looking over to the Cotswold Stone Walled seating area.
Herbs around the Well!
Peony and Roses!
Kingsbridge Inn at river side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Pam D
Holyoke, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for Hobbits AND Elves!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you've ever dreamed of a fairy tale cottage in a fairy tale village, yet with (you should pardon the expression) modern amenities and comforts, Well Cottage is for you. The website photos are accurate - and the surrounding Cotswold landscape with its towns and villages make living here just picture perfect.

Owner Bette Roberts and her Manager Daughter, Dawn Mann, are incredible human beings: delightful company, interesting and interested in everyone, responsive to the slightest need yet considerate of privacy.

Spent a month being part of Bourton-on-the-Water; saying 'good morning' to the Windrush River ducks, grabbing a cuppa then scarfing down several fresh scones hot from the ovens at the Bakery on the Water, grabbing early day provisions at Londis, then coming home to "My" house to snuggle in and plan the day.. After more than 45 years of managing policy programs for government, raising a family, garnering two graduate degrees and - somehow - life friendships, this is my childhood dream come true.

You just GOT to try this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The ease of acess to the village, yet privacy and quiet of neighborhood
Liked least: Nothiing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
This is a heart warming review and it was an absolute pleasure to have become your friend - thank you. Mum and I are so pleased that Well Cottage and Bourton on the Water have become an indelible memory for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne S
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Things you dream of”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

we have just had the greatest pleasure of staying at Well Cottage for a very warm week in July. Everything was above excellent, the cottage is amazing, maintained to the highest standard, very comfortable furnishings, exceptional bed linens (I've been online shopping and ordered myself the same for home). If you dream about living in a quaint chocolate box cottage then I suggest here 100%.
The cottage is located just off the main street, but tucked away in a quiet little backwater.
We had the great pleasure of meeting the owners and what lovely people they are.
Everyone was friendly and I would recommend this holiday to anyone

Thank you Dawn and Bette

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Only stayed a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Hello Joanne, it too was lovely meeting you and your husband. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it.
Mum and I want to thank you both for leaving it so tidy and clean!
Glad you enjoyed the linen - we usually always buy Sanderson Linen and mix it with 500 count Hotel Collection linen from HOF.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Regards,
Dawn and Bette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyongahfe...
wyongah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Cotswold Cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of staying in Well Cottage for 1week. Thank you Dawn and Bette for fresh bread /home made jam. Cottage was immaculate and had everything that we needed, including good Wifi, great shower and washing machine. It was conveniently located one street back from Windrush river.. B-O -W is very popular with tourists, especially on weekends! Travelled to many other pretty villages: Upper and Lower Slaughter; Bibury; Stanton( serene and very pretty); Chipping Campden(gorgeous thatched cottages) ; Stow on the Wold, Winchcombe, Stratford-Upon-Avon and Broadway. Took train from Moreton in Marsh to Oxford..great day. Drove to park n drive in Landsdown - bus To Bath-a must see!
Love, love love the Cotswolds! Would highly recommend Well Cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Mum and I are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and glad to hear you would book with us again! Regards,
Bette and Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexTra...
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The front door of this superb cottage opens into a small entrance hall with two doors, one is to the living/dining room and the other to the bathroom.

When we walked into the living room the friend I was on holiday with glanced around and immediately said “fabulous!” an opinion that I totally agreed with, and that didn’t change for either of us after we had viewed the rest of the cottage.

From the magnificent, large Cotswold stone fireplace with a wood burner, ideal for winter stays, ( fuel can be purchased in the village) to the heavily beamed ceiling, and the exposed stonework and stone flagged floors which are covered in part by beautiful red-patterned rugs, this room exuded character, charm, and a welcoming ambiance.

The larger of the three windows overlooks the front garden which at the time of our stay had irises and forget-me-nots in full bloom, a table and chairs for al fresco meals or drinks, and a well that was much-photographed by mainly Asian tourists who seemed fascinated by it and the appearance of the cottage. A smaller window in the side wall looks out onto the lane and another one is at the back of the room, both being in the dining area.

Seating was provided by a very comfortable settee and matching armchair, and there was another armchair near the open-tread, easy rising staircase to the two first floor bedrooms.

Entertainment was well catered for with a good-sized TV, a DVD player, and a cd player. There was also a small selection of books.

The broadband was an excellent strength, but owing to the thickness of the walls I was unable to obtain a signal on my mobile phone, and had to go out into the garden.

Up to five people could easily sit around the dining table, and the compact but very well-equipped kitchen also has beautiful exposed stonework and ample crockery, glasses, pans, and cutlery etc. along with an electric cooker, microwave, and fridge.

Upstairs, there are two bedrooms, one at the front with a double bed and the other at the rear with a double and a single bed. The beds were extremely comfortable, had quality linen, and equally good quality towels had also been provided. Both bedrooms have magnificent black wood beams in the ceilings.

As I previously mentioned, the bathroom is downstairs, and has a beautiful Victorian-style white suite with a roll top claw-footed bath and a very powerful overhead shower. A cupboard in here houses a washing machine and the gas central heating boiler which serves radiators throughout the cottage.

Apart from having so much in its favour internally, the cottage is ideally located, about a minute’s walk to the River Windrush which closes off the end of the lane to vehicular traffic with the consequence that few vehicles pass by the cottage. Apart from the voices of people walking outside virtually all that we heard was birdsong despite the close proximity of the river and the village’s main street that runs beside it.

Within just about three or four minutes of leaving the cottage you are passing by tea rooms, quality gift shops, restaurants, and the village’s pubs, the latter unfortunately in my opinion lacking internally the olde worlde charm that the remainder of the village has in abundance. Two of the pubs though do have gardens with seating, and look onto the very attractive river, which is very shallow and virtually not much more than a stream.

Three restaurants that we ate at and that I recommend are The Croft and the L’anatra Italian which are the two nearest being about three or four minutes’ walk from the cottage, and the Rose Tree, which is another minute’s walk. All three are on the same side of the river as the cottage.

For everyday food shopping, there is a Londis convenience store just a few minutes’ walk away, on the opposite side of the river.

There is a parking space on the cottage’s drive for one car and a second one can park at the side of the cottage. If you want a break from driving, the bus stops are at the opposite end of the village, but are within easy walking distance.

The cottage is spotlessly clean, and a credit to the owners, who were extremely nice people to deal with, and their manager who looks after it for them.

If I had any criticisms of the cottage I would mention them, but I don't. Staying in it was a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience.

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this cottage, and I will certainly be booking it for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and location.
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
What an amazing, thought through and detailed review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. Mum and I want our guests to 'feel the love' and so pleased that you will book with us again!
Kind regards, Dawn and Bette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psalmist0...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A most beautiful cottage in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First time in the Cotswolds and we couldn't have hoped for a better introduction to the area. The cottage has just about all you could ask for - history, amenities, comfortable bed,broadband, etc., etc. Cannot rate it highly enough and hope to return again before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Character Cottage with everything you could ask for”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well Cottage was full of character a lovely old cottage but was everything you could ask for, excellent heating, especially in March. The beds were extremely comfortable and we found the show in the bathroom very good. We were very happy with our stay at Well Cottage and the owner was very helpful and hopefully we will be back for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort the cottage offered
Liked least: The kitchen is a little small but has everything you need
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your positive review. We too would love to welcome you again. Kind regards,
Dawn and Bette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint little cottage in a charming location”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great 3 day break with friends at this lovely cottage. It was very cosy and comfortable with a good sized bathroom, soft towels and good bed linen. Floors upstairs a little uneven but it all adds to the charm! Ideal location close to the river and all amenities. Some lovely places to eat and nice walks. What more can you want? If I was going to be really picky a few logs for the stove would have been nice but we managed to buy some from the village shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No logs for the stove
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing