We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, homely and central”

Review of Robins Nest

Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jean T
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, homely and central”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Robins Nest was all we could have wished. The layout meant that our son & his family had the upper floor with their own bathroom, my single son had a downstairs room with the shower room & we had the other downstairs room with a small en- suite toilet & basin.
The kitchen was adequately equipped, the dining room & lounge perfect.
The garden was super for our little grandson to play safely. We could easily take the 5 minute walk into Bourton where there were so many restaurants & cafés to choose from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general ambience & situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Many thanks for submitting such a nice review. We are very pleased that you liked it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSto...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovley house and location”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I am one of the party of 9 that stayed in robins nest at the beginning of June. I can confirm that ALL 9 of us agreed that the house was dirty and seating area not equipped for 10 people as stated. Also as we left the cleaner was waiting so the owner was NOT the next person in after us. If the house was clean it was because we had to clean it.For example,as we sat for our first evening meal we lifted the table mats only to be greeted by a weeks worth of food left by previous visitors. The microwave had food spilt all over it ( not just finger prints ) and there was a film thick greasy dust all over the house. The living area was disappointing as it only seated 5 people. There was no battery in the smoke alarm.
The house itself and location is beautiful. There was a small area out the front to sit in but only had a few plastic chairs two of which were broken. We often spend the weekend away as a
group and although this was in a beautiful location it was by far the dirtiest. We still had a great time and there is a lovely town with great shops and a pub within walking distance. I'm sure it would be a beautiful house if these issues were addressed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
We can only apologise sincerely once again to your group who were disappointed with the cottage and have already submitted one review to that effect. The day of your arrival there had been a substitute cleaner doing the preparation rather than our regular caretaker. There are 3 smoke/carbon monoxide alarms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy level walk into the centre of the village
Liked least: One or two bedrooms could perhaps have had more storage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for very kindly submitting a lovely review of Robins Nest and we are pleased with your feedback comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That every family member had their own room. Close proximity to village, pubs .
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Robins Nest. We appreciate your taking time to submit that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
susiemidd...
middx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful with plenty of space inside very quaint and well equipped and only minutes walk to the village

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Many thanks for taking time to submit a lovely complimentary review after your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation - that is our aim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldredtra...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here with family. A group of 9 ladies. The location is perfect, close to pub and the beautiful town centre. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable. There is a nice outside sitting area with plastic chairs and fake grass but ok. That's the good bits. The house was dirty. Cobwebs, dirt and dust everywhere. There was only one smoke alarm downstairs and that had no battery. How dangerous is that? The sitting room only had seating for 5 people, not the 10 advertised. We had to carry through 4 small wicker chairs ( not large comfy ones) which made 9 seats ,from another room. You need £1 coins for the electricity meter. I'm sure this could be a lovely place to stay if it was cleaned and more comfy seats and working smoke alarms were added.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
We are very sorry to read your comments as our sincere aim is to have happy guests and we hate to disappoint. We were quite shocked at your review as all our other reviews of Robins Nest are really good ones so we did not expect this. We have phoned the person in your group who booked the cottage to discuss it with her - but found that this is not her review but rather was sent in by some unidentified person in the group under her name without her knowledge. We asked for her comments and she confirmed that the smoke alarm needed a new battery, that they wished there were 10 permanent chairs in the sitting room rather than having to augment with the armchairs from the kitchen, that they noticed some cobwebs among a couple of beams - for which we apologise but they do form very quickly in old houses, that there were fingermarks on the front of one of the microwaves, the wine rack was dusty, there were some rice grains left in one of the cupboards - but that otherwise the cottage was clean- the floors, carpets, kitchen cupboards and countertops, cooker, fridge, bathrooms, toilets, showers. beds, bedding etc.etc. She did not know that someone was going to write a review in her name and had not intended to submit a review herself. We can only apologise for the issues brought to our attention and promise to address them - but we do wish to challenge the description that the house was dirty as we ourselves went into the cottage immediately after these guests and it was not.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
We are so pleased that you liked the cottage and thank you very much for taking time to submit such a lovely review of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing