We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea Delight!!!”
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
2 reviews
“Afternoon Tea Delight!!!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stopped in The Dial house for Champagne afternoon Tea during mid week as it was a good half way point on our journey south. The hotel has such a cozy feel and as we walked in the fire was roaring and we were greeted to a very warm welcome. The house champagne by the glass is very good and started the afternoon off nicely. We sat in the restaurant to enjoy Tea which was served promptly. When our stand of "goodies" arrived I knew then there was no way we were going to manage to eat it all! The stand it's self was really smart and modern and matched the style of the restaurant and hotel well. We had a good selection of sandwich's with different fillings and lovely fresh bread. (The amount of times Iv had dry Afternoon Tea sandwiches with hard edges is ridiculous, a little thing but so important.) Next the scones. They were huge and served warm just how they should be, we had a classic and fruit scone each with proper clotted cream and jam. Lastly was the fantastic choose of cakes on the top tier. It was so nice to see some thing different than the classic Afternoon tea pastries, along with a couple of macaroons which is always a winner. We had a fantastic experience and it was finished of nicely with a glass of wine and a game of cards in the bar before heading on our way. A massive thank you to Ali and his team who looked after us so well and now we have found this gem we plan on stopping for the night in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bordelaise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    149
    69
    40
    19
See reviews for
49
363
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Set in the beautiful Bourton on the water, this hotel provides the perfect opportunity for a festive escape. The room had a four poster and roll top bath with beautiful decor. The breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice. The staff and welcome was warm and helpful. This is our 3rd stay at The Dial House, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and it was lovely. Rooms were clean and our one was good in size, did not look at others so cannot comment.
Breakfast was yummy and plenty of variety. Staff were friendly and professional. The location is very convenient and would recommend this hotel with B & B to all.
My only comment would be that it would be a little better to have a booklet folder made up rather than a sleeve but that is just me wanting a completely finished presentation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneAnnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

really lovely small and intimate hotel, very friendly and helpful staff Clean and very comfortable room and delicious food we were able to take our dog as there is one room available with garden.Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I Stayed at this idealic hotel on a short break and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms all have their own character and you can have a different experience every time. The manager Ali made us feel welcome and looked after our every need. He really made our stay. The food was amazing and a real surprise for such a small hotel. I can't recommend this hotel enough and the fact that it's in such a picture card location is the cherry on the top.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S6Geezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Enjoyed a mid week break with my partner and elderly parents. Booked online and received confirmation immediately. Greeted pleasantly and efficiently on arrival. Shown to our rooms, bags carried. Rooms comfortable with everything needed. Very clean as was the whole hotel. Stayed 2 nights bed and breakfast. Great choice of breakfast and service was good with polite and friendly staff. Quality of food very good.

Room Tip: We booked the ground floor rooms for ease of access due to my parents. Very peaceful and quiet in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A friend and I went to the dial house during our lunch break to grab a cream tea, when we arrived a member of staff came around the corner and said rudely 'are you looking for something?'. I said 'yes please, we were hoping for a cream tea', the man then said 'no sorry we've stopped serving, goodbye.' and waited for us to leave even though it was only 2.30pm! On our way out however we could see couples eating inside. Outraged we went to the small talk tea rooms and had a lovely cream tea for half the price!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
689 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
187 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Property: Dial House Hotel
Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing