We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dining at Dial House”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dining at Dial House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and slept better than we had in weeks.
The staff were great and very helpful.
Breakfast was terrific and we ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and could not fault it, the food was superb and the accompanying wine choices spot on.
The hotel could be said to be a little worn but frankly that is what we expect and enjoy about the Cotswolds!!
We will happily return again.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are spacious and typical Cotswold decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAG0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    142
    66
    38
    18
See reviews for
47
351
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The interior needs some TLC to bring it back up to a good standard, the carpet in our room was filthy and the chairs had some very questionable stains on them. The restaurant lacked any atmosphere where just a bit of music in the background would've helped to not feel like you had to eat in total silence. Staff very friendly and courteous so can't fault the customer service. A small hotel which feels more like a B&B than a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicka19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the Dial House with my partner and another couple for two nights over the New Year and our stay as excellent. The staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and professional. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the food was also excellent on both occasions.

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in the Cotswold's with in a great central location with excellent food and friendly and professional service the Dial House is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had Room #5, a "Classic Room." We stayed only one night. Our room had an unusual stench to it, almost as if something had gotten wet and was not allowed to dry out. It was very cold and rainy the night we were here, so we had to close the windows. Because the windows were shut, the smell got stronger and stronger as the night went on. I'm pretty sure there's a mold issue causing the smell - maybe beneath the carpet? The toilet did not flush well either. And the bed was soft and sank in the middle. This is a very expensive hotel for the quality offered. They clearly are in need of maintenance. Bourton-on-the-Water is a darling, charming town. But I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Returned yesterday from an overnight at the Dial House, on their New Year package. This is an individual and intimate small hotel - the type that will either succeed or fail depending on the standard of service offered.

In this respect, the service provided at Dial House is second to none. It is very rare to find a place where every member of staff appears so determined to ensure that the interests of their guests are paramount. Some of the positives:

1) The afternoon cream tea (included in the package) when we arrived - lovely oven-warm scones with jam and clotted cream, fresh "finger" sandwiches, home-made biscuits, Christmas cake etc.

2) The room - we booked a standard room, which was fine; but were offered an unsolicited upgrade after an hour, following the unanticipated early departure of other guests, to a "Premium" room - one of the large rooms in the "Coach House" annexe, with it's own private garden. Perfect for our elderly Labrador.

3) NYE dinner - 5 courses set menu. Have to admit this included some of the elements of fine-dining that normally set my teeth on edge (foams, miniature portions on very large plates etc.); but this was executed with an emphasis on flavour that was sublime - and clearly took precedence over the "arty" presentation.

4) Breakfast - presentation and primacy of flavour applied to a traditional "full English". Marvellous.

5) Staff. I have never stayed anywhere where the Hotel Manager (Ali) was so "on-hand". Affable, professional and courteous - and engaged continuously in the detailed running of the hotel (including the fireworks at midnight). A star.

Only negative - the lounge is somewhat small if all residents want to congregate there at the same time (a shortcoming only of architecture that is centuries old).

Not cheap - but you absolutely get what you pay for. We will be back.

Room Tip: Pay for premium if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascotsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went to the Dialhouse in between xmas and new year. Can I just say how friendly the staff were, nothing was too much trouble, and the food was out of this world! Our room was so clean with a lovely four poster bed, overlooking Bourtons main high street and christmas tree. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Dial House for two nights between Christmas and Newexperiencend it was perfect. We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival from Simon, who showed us to our lovely room complete with four poster bed.

Eating in the hotel is a great experience. The produce is locally sourced and expertly prepared and cooked. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and the service throughout was very attentive.

We thoroughly enjoyed our break in the Cotswolds which was made perfect by our experience at the Dial House hotel. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Property: Dial House Hotel
Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing