We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked afternoon tea for three people as part of a Birthday present for my mother who is 83 years old. The room in which the afternoon tea was served was quite tired, the paintwork on the skirting boards needing a repaint. The waiter who served us although polite needed a new suit as the one he was wearing was extremely tight and extremely dirty.

The tea itself was poor. The scones were more like rock cakes impossible to cut and once cut fell to pieces. The sandwiches (6) of which two were smoked salmon (very nice) egg and lettuce ?? and cucumber and lettuce (very soggy and unappealing). We were given a very large teapot and hot water although the tea pot only had two tea bags in it so the tea was very weak.

This cost £14 per head and was the same size for three as for two on the next table.

Very disappointing. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A E, General Manager at Dial House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online and we appreciate your valued feedback, I believe we have already sorted some of these issues on our private correspondence so please accept my apology again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Dial House Hotel as we have done some amendments to our afternoon tea service and after all the new work we have done to the hotel and the out-door facilities.

Best regards,

Ali E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    145
    68
    39
    19
See reviews for
48
358
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently went to the Dial house in Bourton for a short stay with my girlfriend on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful member of staff sorry didn't get the ladies name and as we were going in the middle of the week the lady upgraded us to a coach house room which was a pleasant surprise. The room was superb large bathroom, bedroom and separate living room equipped all your amenities kettle, hair dryer, writing bureau, TV, free Wi-Fi etc. the rooms were extremely clean & comfortable. We also had a breakfast in with the room which was lovely I cannot really comment on the other rooms because we didn't venture around the hotel that much but the location was great right in the middle of the town. Bourton is a wonderfully pretty place to visit with stunning views and plenty of restaurants and tea rooms but do shop about when eating there are some contrasting price ranges but all in all a lovely stay in a lovely hotel. The only reason I have given it 4 stars as opposed to 5 is we were offered an evening meal at the hotel but at £49 each I thought that was steep but it might have been worth it but I wasn't prepared to pay that much.

Room Tip: The coach house room we had was excellent but not sure as to what this would cost as we went with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satch4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary and what can I say, room was fantastic, beautiful view through the windows, dinner a wow, all staff very friendly, big thanks to Virginia for warm welcome.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathboyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our stay at the Dial House was just great ,the staff we most helpful the room was superb,and the food was great one could not ask for more top marks
It's just minits from the town and there are a good selection of shops and places to eat if required

Room Tip: Room 1 has a clear view into the town and the rolling hills behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had afternoon tea here and although we arrived earlier than our booking the Receptionist, Virginia was very helpful and asked if we could have it on our arrival. The staff were very pleasant and the room in which tea was served was very pleasant, looking out onto the front garden of the hotel and onto High Street, Bourton. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were exquisite and very much enjoyed by my husband and I and we would certainly recommend people to go there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastoe, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Back to Dial House for our annual Cheltenham festival pilgrimage
New team, and slightly titivated rooms, but still the same Dial House focus on service and excellent food
Ali, Simon and team were attentive and tolerant of whims. Chef produced three excellent suppers, and happily went off piste on the last night for those of us who had worked our way through the menu already
Good value, and a great team
We commend it to you

Room Tip: We love room 2. Room 1 is equally comfortable and offers a bath rather than a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikecolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The service we received at The Dial House was exceptional.
A really lovely boutique hotel right in the centre of the picturesque village of Bourton on the water in the Cotswolds. The hotel has a nice feel both in the rooms and in the lounge and restaurant areas. Little details like books and games in the lounge showed the thought that had gone into making guests feel at home.

We were greeted with a warm welcome at reception, our room surpassed our expectations and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. Service in this quiet hotel was prompt but relaxed and the manager had the skill of always being available without hovering over guests!

The restaurant in quieter seasons is only open on Saturdays for dinner, which was a shame as we would have liked to try the menu as the breakfast choices were fab!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A E, General Manager at Dial House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear NinaMc2013,

Thank you for posting your feedback, I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Dial House and the personalized service that we deliver to all our guests.
I just wanted to highlight that our Fine Dining is open every week Wednesday to Saturday all year around and not only Saturdays

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Dial House for you to enjoy our fabulous gourmet experience and our new added facilities

Best Regards,

Ali E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 25 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Property: Dial House Hotel
Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing