We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and service!”
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a night's stay at the dial house hotel.
the hotel is fantastic, best in Bourton on the Water. The location of the hotel is brilliant, right in the middle of Bourton. The hotel has beautiful grounds to the rear, where residents can relax on the deck chairs provided. They have also acquired a new hot tub, which was being used for the first time when we were there. the tub is located in a secluded area, with sun loungers etc, fab!
Ali, the manager was fantastic, he was the most helpful hotel manager we have met, nothing was too much trouble for him. We had a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed. We wish we could have stayed longer. thanks ali and staff at dial house!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

This mellow Cotswold stone historic building (1698) set idyllically in the heart of the model village Bourton on the Water, on the River Windrush in the Coldsworld was pure bliss. Picture perfect !
It is a small boutique hotel blending old with new with exceptional beauty and style. The bedroom decor was cosy and spacious with a 4 Poster bed, dark embosed wallpaper, and heavy velvet drapes --- reminiscent of another era. The bathroom was large, appeared to have recently been updated, and contained a large claw foot bath and modern fixtures and fittings. Well heated.
Thick fluffy white towels provided. Tea/ coffee making facility. So peaceful and quiet.
The stunning Dining Room was a perfect backdrop for the amazing French influenced food presented. It was a gastronomic experience with the food so beautifully executed. A truly memorable moment. The customer service and friendliness of the staff was most impressive.
This Country House Hotel was unique and surpassed all expectation.

Room Tip: Room 3 in the main house looked out over the front garden and to the street -- very quiet. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We've stayed in many places all over the UK and across the world. This was the best. The staff were wonderful, the room was perfect, individual and had a bed that just envelopes you in comfort. The views out to the High Street (with its own river)- from which you are set back - and the hills behind Bourton on the Water are stunning. Beautiful front and back gardens, and really pretty public rooms as well, like being in a country house, but in town. It's a perfect Cotswold spot. You can drive or walk wherever you want in this beautiful place. Not too many guest rooms to detract from very personal service.

But make sure you eat in. The food is absolutely out of this world (and we're quite picky foodies whose idea of a good time is Raymond Blanc's Manoir Au Quat' Saisons or Gordon Ramsey's Brasserie). If you're having a special celebration you could not ask for a more memorable experience. The only problem with dinner was that it had to end at some stage!

If you want an experience you won't forget and you'll want to repeat, the Dial House is a must.

Room Tip: It's all very quiet and pleasant. You're set back from the High Street, so any room is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked afternoon tea for three people as part of a Birthday present for my mother who is 83 years old. The room in which the afternoon tea was served was quite tired, the paintwork on the skirting boards needing a repaint. The waiter who served us although polite needed a new suit as the one he was wearing was extremely tight and extremely dirty.

The tea itself was poor. The scones were more like rock cakes impossible to cut and once cut fell to pieces. The sandwiches (6) of which two were smoked salmon (very nice) egg and lettuce ?? and cucumber and lettuce (very soggy and unappealing). We were given a very large teapot and hot water although the tea pot only had two tea bags in it so the tea was very weak.

This cost £14 per head and was the same size for three as for two on the next table.

Very disappointing. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A E, General Manager at Dial House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online and we appreciate your valued feedback, I believe we have already sorted some of these issues on our private correspondence so please accept my apology again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Dial House Hotel as we have done some amendments to our afternoon tea service and after all the new work we have done to the hotel and the out-door facilities.

Best regards,

Ali E

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Recently went to the Dial house in Bourton for a short stay with my girlfriend on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful member of staff sorry didn't get the ladies name and as we were going in the middle of the week the lady upgraded us to a coach house room which was a pleasant surprise. The room was superb large bathroom, bedroom and separate living room equipped all your amenities kettle, hair dryer, writing bureau, TV, free Wi-Fi etc. the rooms were extremely clean & comfortable. We also had a breakfast in with the room which was lovely I cannot really comment on the other rooms because we didn't venture around the hotel that much but the location was great right in the middle of the town. Bourton is a wonderfully pretty place to visit with stunning views and plenty of restaurants and tea rooms but do shop about when eating there are some contrasting price ranges but all in all a lovely stay in a lovely hotel. The only reason I have given it 4 stars as opposed to 5 is we were offered an evening meal at the hotel but at £49 each I thought that was steep but it might have been worth it but I wasn't prepared to pay that much.

Room Tip: The coach house room we had was excellent but not sure as to what this would cost as we went with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satch4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary and what can I say, room was fantastic, beautiful view through the windows, dinner a wow, all staff very friendly, big thanks to Virginia for warm welcome.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathboyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our stay at the Dial House was just great ,the staff we most helpful the room was superb,and the food was great one could not ask for more top marks
It's just minits from the town and there are a good selection of shops and places to eat if required

Room Tip: Room 1 has a clear view into the town and the rolling hills behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
723 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,265 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £83 - £976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing