We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking place”

Old New Inn Cafe Bar
Cuisines: British, Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went there for lunch over the Bank Holiday weekend and ordered some sandwiches for our party of five. I could not believe it when a few seconds later the waitress produced five packets of pre-made British Rail/supermarket sandwiches in cheap cardboard packaging!!! I honestly believe the landlord must have gone to the local supermarket and bought a hundred or so 'meal deals' and then sold them on at an inflated price at his pub. Total rip off and I feel sorry for any overseas visitors who get this as an example of British hospitality. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki A, Manager at Old New Inn Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

July 2014 we do not sell sandwiches,we sell salads and baguettes.We also sell hook Norton ale,stowford press,addlestone cloudy cider and much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

looks very quaint from the outside but once through the door there is no atmosphere, dingy decor and completely uninterested staff. Ordered 2 sandwiches and were given 2 British rail type pre packed stale ones, awful. We asked for salt, thinking it might improve the taste but the staff were quite ignorant, looked at each other and shrugged shoulders and then said they hadn't got any. Garden ok. Try one of the lovely tea shops further along. How can they call themselves a cafe bar??

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki A, Manager at Old New Inn Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

April 2015 we are open every day 11 to 5.30 for hot and cold drinks.We sell baguettes at lunch time.We have the best pub garden in Bourton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We visited Bourton on the Water on a sunny Friday. It was very busy and some of the cafes had not opened. Looking for somewhere to have lunch we found this place. The staff were welcoming and attentive. The garden at the back was quiet and a great place to relax. Tables were being promptly cleared and wiped down as soon as customers left. There is a small play area and space for children to let off steam.
We had sandwiches from a list of 6 options. We chose tuna and cucumber, and chicken salad on wholemeal bread. The sandwiches were prepacked, but they were fresh and the fillings were generous. Personally I would rather have my sandwiches hygienically sealed in wrapping than have them sitting around on open display.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hand10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki A, Manager at Old New Inn Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

April 2015 we are open every day 11 to 5.30 for daytime hot and cold drinks.We sell baguettes at lunchtime.We stock hook Norton.stowford,addlestone,carling and much more.Great pub garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We looked for a pub fr a cold drink but were deterred by the busy nature of the water-front pubs. Just a few paces down the road is this pub, boasting a large quiet garden. We were the only users for about an hour.

Good for avoiding the crowds

A larger range of real ales would have completed the final star.

Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki A, Manager at Old New Inn Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015
Google Translation

Best beer garden in bourton. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

This place has so much potential considering its location (next to the main car park and the model village). However, we were the only ones in the place (should have taken the hint). There was no food available and the beer was absolutely average. Come on, sort it out or that will be another pub consigned to the scrap heap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank firemanmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki A, Manager at Old New Inn Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

April 2015 I do not think previous staff were rude, but I think they got fed up with people just using the loo and not buying anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old New Inn Cafe Bar also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Old New Inn Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing