We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous portions”

Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small family-run business with the focus on serving fresh and tasty food. All our food is prepared to order. We offer quiches, homemade soups, fresh sandwiches, freshly baked baguettes, paninis, jacket potatoes. Our scones and many of our cakes are homemade. Please note that we are animal friendly and you may encounter dogs on the premises. We are closed on Monday's. We do not take debit/credit cards currently sorry.Over the next few months we will be adding more hot homemade dishes to our menu and we will also be changing the name of the tearoom to Mary's Rest all of which will be updated as and when the changes happen, please note the current website for The Danish tearoom is not up to date and some of the information is incorrect however the phone number is right so if you wish to check again details please call.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Generous portions”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I don't think we would have found this place without actually going out of our way to find it, as its a little off the main street. From the lane it was not very inviting but then it was a bitterly cold day when we visited. I did think twice before entering but I am glad we did enter. Danish meatballs were lovely and the biggest baked potato I have had in some time. It was lovely. Staff very polite and friendly. Definitely worth finding and worth the 3 minutes it took us to find it. Plan ahead and you won't miss this gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ningaloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. I always think that being located on a side road you have to try just that little bit more and I am glad that you decided to come in. Kind regards from the Danish Tea Room team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    60
    12
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a deluxe afternoon tea for two voucher and decided to visit here. I'm so glad we did as the food was scrumptious and the service was brilliant. We were offered so much in fact, that we couldn't manage it all. The owner kindly packaged up what was left and even put some extra jam and cream in with the scones, for us to take away. The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly and the range of cakes and sandwiches were lovely. Coffee cake was my favourite! We recommend visiting if you're in the area and hope to go back again.

Thank you!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review us. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you had a nice time away. Kind regards from us all at the Danish Tea Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A proper Tea Room”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent the Easter Weekend in Bourton on the Water and ate at the Danish Tea Room on two occasions. It's just a friendly place offering good home-made, wholesome food at decent prices. Don't expect anything too lavish - but you won't be disappointed with the food. It's no wonder it always seems to be full...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Je_J_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. We certainly have been very full over Easter! Kind regards from the Danish Tea Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm friendly and inviting”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Me and my husband visited the Danish Tea Room as we had been given a voucher for a deluxe afternoon tea and we centainly were not disapointed. We were made very welcome by the owner who was very friendly and WOW what a fabulous tea we had with lots of lovely cakes, sandwiches and tea and coffee.

Nothing was too much trouble for her and the suroundings were very warm and cosy as the weather outside was very cold that Sunday afternoon.

The tea room was easy to find - from the main car park follow footpath signed 'to the village' and later where the footpath branches take the right turn signed 'Village via Moore Road'.

This is a little gem and not to be missed - enjoy

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. Kind regards from the Danish Tea Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Wow what a great afternoon tea. The scones were the best I have had and warm, real clotted cream. Lots of cake and the sandwiches wer freshly made with a choice of filling. This is worth the money and friendly staff, good service. Would go back. You must try it. Great location too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 222Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. Kind regards from the Danish Tea Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing