We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service!”

Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small family-run business with the focus on serving fresh and tasty food. All our food is prepared to order. We offer quiches, homemade soups, fresh sandwiches, freshly baked baguettes, paninis, jacket potatoes. Our scones and many of our cakes are homemade. Please note that we are animal friendly and you may encounter dogs on the premises. We are closed on Monday's. We do not take debit/credit cards currently sorry.Over the next few months we will be adding more hot homemade dishes to our menu and we will also be changing the name of the tearoom to Mary's Rest all of which will be updated as and when the changes happen, please note the current website for The Danish tearoom is not up to date and some of the information is incorrect however the phone number is right so if you wish to check again details please call.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited on April 8, 2014 and were very pleasantly surprised. We ordered many different dishes and each one was great. My only complaint was that the toilet wasn't functioning properly. We will visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DawnStayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate you taking the time out to write it, we are glad you enjoyed the food & service. unfortunately the day you visited us we had an issue with the toilet handle, the wire that connects the handle to the flush system came loose, once it was brought to our attention we attempted to fix it a few times over the day, it has now been sorted out so hopefully we won't have this problem again, apologies for the inconvenience.

Hope to see you again when you are next in the area

Kind Regards

Ruth & Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Have just been to Mary's Rest for afternoon tea. The scones and cake were absolutely delicious. Would recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time out to write this lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed our home made scones and cake, please call in again.

Kind Regards

Ruth & Wayned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Visited the tea rooms with my wife midweek... We both had afternoon teas, Good friendly staff really welcoming . £20 pound for a good selection of sandwiches , cakes and scones with lashings of clotted cream and jam a real treat with a teapot full of tea ..We both really enjoyed the offering and felt we need to spread the word as the cafe is located just off Bourtons main strip so could be passed without realising what a gem awaits.. Wishing the owners all the best for the future as i could see the passion and graft they have for this cafe

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Waccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we remember your visit and we are so glad you enjoyed it, it was so good to read you comments, this means a lot to us, hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Ruth & Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I visited this wonderful tea room with five friends on Saturday afternoon for tea which was a voucher birthday present from them.
The whole presentation of the tea was wonderful and the staff were so attentive.The choice of sandwiches was great and they were absolutely delicious. The cakes and scones with clotted cream and jam were just the empitome of gorgeous. We all felt so full afterwards as there was so much to eat. Now trading as Mary's Rest i would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We really appreciate this lovely review and the fact you took the time out to write it, thank you, and we are so glad you enjoyed the food and your experience in our tearoom, please do call in again

Kind Regards

Ruth & Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My daughter and two puppies stopped in for afternoon tea today and I can say the experience start to finish was excellent!!! Nothing was too trouble for the staff they even offered my dogs a bowl of water and a little bowl of biscuits.
The afternoon tea was simply yummy and we ended up having to bring cakes home as we couldn't finish it! Well done to the Owners we will definitely be back! Can't wait for now....where did I out those cakes....

Thank Renboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannie T, Owner at Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for this brilliant review and for taking the time out to write it, it's so good to read how much you enjoyed your visit, especially when it was such a busy day when you visited, so it's good to hear that you felt the food and service was still of a high standard, as it can be a worry that these can sometimes slip when you get over busy.

See you again

Kind Regards

Ruth & Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing