We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green and Pleasant

Green and Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Naxxar, Malta
1 review
“afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

It was our first experiance,as we were on a day trip and came accross this lovely restaurant. The owner was very friendly even his stuff.we had a pleasant welcome and a great afternoon tea.we came all the way from malta as were visiting my sister from leeds .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maris-bugeja-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt m, Owner at Green and Pleasant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
It was a real pleasure to meet you all and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I hope that you will get the opportunity to come and visit us again soon.
Many thanks,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    75
    31
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining Host attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

After a 12 + mile walk it was wonderful to discover this delightful oasis that had a wonderful array of food including gluten free options - more than one would normally expect.
A delightful view of the river,quick efficient service and a delightfully entertaining host.
Some of the amenities could do with improvement but clean & well stocked.

Thank you for a lovely end to our walking day Matt and good luck for the future, will recommend you & return thexadelphos.

Cathy x

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt m, Owner at Green and Pleasant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
After a 12 mile walk, you deserved a rest and I'm really glad you decided to take it at Green and Pleasant, it was really nice to meet you. We are always trying to find ways to improve and offering a larger selection of gluten free options was high on our list this year, so it's great to get some feedback on that.
I hope that if you decide to take another walk around the Cotwolds that you will drop in and see us again.
Kind regards
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good coffee too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I arrived in Bourton-on-the Water just after 9am and wanted a coffee. So many places were not open at that hour but we came across "Green & Pleasant" and were served a lovely cup of coffee (and we are fussy!) The staff were friendly too. Certainly a place where we would return when next in the area.
I was surprised to read the poor review given by Adam B as his experience is nothing like what we found. I wonder if the £11.95 was an accidental till mistake. He could easily check up by phoning Green & pleasant and asking. They are so agreeable I'm sure they would give him a refund. As for the scones - we were told they are made fresh every day so I'm at a loss to understand how they could have been stale. I am not a relative just a casual tourist.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt m, Owner at Green and Pleasant, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind, frank and honest review of Green and Pleasant Tearooms, it is very much appreciated by all our hard working staff. We pride ourselves on the quality and freshness of our scones and coffee and really hope that you will visit us again soon...we love fussy coffee drinkers!!
Thank you once again,
All the staff at Green and Pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Green & Pleasant Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

On our Tour at BOURTON-ON -THE-WATER .. We come across this lovely and most WELCOMING Tea Room .. We had a lovely afternoon Tea , the cakes and other pastries we had were yummy and Fresh ..but what attracted us the most was the welcome and pleasant Owner and his Staff . They came and chatted to us as we enjoyed our Tea...
Will I go again YES FOR SURE .As we booked another trip to the Cotwalds next .
So to the Owner and your Staff . Keep your Charm and your pleasant welcome to the visitors .
The name of your Tea Room said it all ...(Green and Pleasant ) xxx Jane and my family from Malta ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt m, Owner at Green and Pleasant, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
What a lovely review! A huge thank you, we really appreciate the wonderful comments. We do try really hard to make sure that all our customers enjoy every aspect of their visit to our Tea Rooms and experience the warmest of welcomes, we hope that you and all your family will return really soon, it was lovely to meet you.
Thank you once again,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor food and very overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went with my husband and we had a scone each and a soft drink, could not believe it when he told me it was £11.95. The scones were hard and stale, they must have been heated up before being served. Next time will have to check TripAdvisor before sitting down. Waste of money please don't eat here.

Helpful?
7 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green and Pleasant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Green and Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing