We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and excellent service”

The Coach and Horses
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Coach & Horses is a 400 year old coaching inn nestled in the heart of the Cotswolds on the outskirts of picturesque Bourton-on-the-Water. We currently serve food all day in our cozy tradtional pub and relaxed restaurant. While our menu is traditional English cuisine it is influenced by contemporary ideas and seasonal ingredients. We have a real log burning fire, local real ales and are family and dog friendly. Located on the A429 close to the Oxfordshire boarder, it is in the perfect location to explore some of the most quaint & traditional villages, town & cities in the country. Just 40 minutes from Regency town Cheltenham, birth place of Shakespeare Stratford-upon-Avon, 10 minutes from Stow-on-the-Wold and 1 & a half hours from beautiful Bath. There are many marked footpaths throughout the Cotswolds within easy reach ranging from light strolls across poppy fields and equestrian centre land to long distance stamina walks such as the Cotswold Way National Trail for more seasoned walkers. Just a short distance is a footpath to beautiful Upper and Lower Slaughter where you can stop for cream teas and visit the old mill. Our B&B rooms are set back off the road in the old, converted coaching house separate from the pub & restaurant. We have 5 rooms all together, with disabled access to the ground floor, twin and two doubles. Upstairs there is two large family rooms with exposed beams, king sized beds and sofa beds. All rooms are en-suit with bath and powerful showers as well as tea & coffee making facilities.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and excellent service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here night before a wedding. Found that cabs were few and far between but the kind owner offered us a lift to the venue up the road.
Clean and well presented rooms and great food. Eggs benedict was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    7
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just the Place”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

When traveling through the Cotswalds in the Lower Slaughter/ Bourton on the Water area
The Coach and Horses is just the place for you.

It is conveniently located off "Warden Way Footpath"or driving along Stow Road near the
Bourton Vale Equestrian Facility.

It is a charming restaurant with a wonderfully varied menu. Salads, burgers, fish, chicken,meat pies are just a few of the offerings. Dessert and drinks are plentiful. It has a children menu too. It serves
breakfast from 8 to 10, has a long lunch hour and better yet dinner begins at 5pm. Perfect for the young families with starving children.
The service was warm, friendly and attentive. We were treated so kindly by Jemima, our server. She is a knowledgeable world traveler who now lives locally. She made excellent food recommendations and gave us wonderful information on the area.

Here is a valuable tip. When you arrive in Slaughter and all restaurants are closed or not accepting reservations . Treat yourself to a lovely short walk on "Warden's Way," along the bridle path to Coach and Horses. It is just the place.

Helpful?
Thank Claudiafee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stopped on off chance as really hungry after travelling from Cardiff. Really nice menu, plumped for fish and chips - beautiful fresh hake and big fat chips and peas. Presentation and service top notch, would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olliekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch on the way to Gloucester. I had cheese, pickles and salad + chips. The cheese was just 2 medium thick slices of cheese, the salad was a small amount of lettuce leaves which had not been washed together with a mini tomato cut in half and half a slice of cucumber. The pickles were 4 silver onions and 4 gherkins all from jars and the chips were cold. All this was served on a chopping board. I actually had a small beetle crawl out from the lettuce leaves.

There was no draught cider although they had a pump for it on the bar which they said wasn't connected up. There was no soup and whilst there they ran out of ham and there were only 4 people eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pigmyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Under new management and they seem very organised. Excellent service and great food. I'm working away and have eaten here two night's in a row, probably will be eating here all week.

Helpful?
Thank dazalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach and Horses also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing