We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in June. Well located for touring the cotswolds. Accommodation spotless, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast lovely. Staff very nice. Would stay there again. The only downside possibly for some would be the noise from passing traffic (kept my wife awake but didn't bother me!) . Otherwise perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SH8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    54
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
93
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I am a local to the area, just eaten there with my partner and 4 year old, really accomodating service from Luke and his team. Food very good and certainly worth a walk from the other sub standard eateries in Bourton.
Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chambo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first visit to the cotswolds and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The new management had only been in for 5 weeks but they really mean business. The decor is beautiful with muted farrow and ball colours and William Morris wall coverings, perfect for this 400 year old building. The location is perfect for all the surrounding villages.
The accommodation is separate to the pub/restaurant by about 10 metres away or so. The rooms are pleasant and very clean with ample parking. There are 5 rooms on total and I believe they have decorated the main family room but are working their way through the others. Even so the rooms that they have yet to do are still wonderful so it would be great to see them with new decor when we return.
The menu is simple with a twist and very appealing to all. We had breakfast on 2 mornings and had an evening meal at night. The food was soooo good all fresh and locally sourced. The drinks are priced well too.
Luke and Robyn made us feel very welcome. We wish them well and can only imagine that they will make this a huge success. Thank you for our lovely stay x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I have known this pub under previous management. The new team have made considerable improvements to the decor. It now has a fresh feel. The menu and food are well worth a visit. Sunday lunch was very good, and the pub was very busy. Well done to Luke and Robyn.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RodFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

called to the coach and horses for something to eat on the off chance.what we recieved was nothing short of supreme, the food was absolutely delicious, I highly recommend this establishment for food and the great service we recieved, just wish we lived closer so we could go again.thankyou again for our lovely food.xx

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Coach & Horses is on the A429 Fosse just outside Bourton -on-The Water so within easy reach of many places in this beautiful part of the country.The new management are young and full of ideas to make this truly a place to visit or stay for any and everybody.The accommodation is away from the main pub and is clean and well equipped having the feel of being in a cottage .Fine food cooked by a chef .Small but friendly bar.Outside there are lots of area's where you can sit and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went with the family for Fathers day lunch. Made to feel very welcome by the new owners. Good food at reasonable prices and lovely snug. Will be back soon to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.6 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
420 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mousetrap Inn
The Mousetrap Inn
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Property: The Coach and Horses
Address: Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach and Horses Inn is a superb 400 year old family orientated coaching house set in the heart of the Cotswolds, in the very beautiful picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water. Redecorated in 2014, and further improvements made in 2016, look forward to seeing you through 2016 Kind Regards Coach & Horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing