We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enthustastic Recommendation for Lavender Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
C J
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enthustastic Recommendation for Lavender Cottage”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lavender Cottage! It is ideally located for exploring the region. Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon, and Blenheim Palace are each about an hour’s drive. All the most beautiful and charming Cotswolds villages and towns are much closer. Bourton-on-the-Water was crowded with daytrippers many days, but by late afternoon the crowds simply disappear. Lavender cottage is 100 yards from the Water, yet each night was silent and peaceful, every morning calm and lovely. The cottage is comfortable and welcoming. Beds, shower, kitchen all first rate – AND Hilary provides coffee, tea, milk, cereal, bread, and jam (plus wine and beer) upon arrival, so if you roll in late, your breakfast groceries are already on hand, so no dash to the market! We’d give this place SIX stars if we could; it’s the best self-catering we’ve ever enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lavender Cottage and Bourton-on-the-Water. I bet you're in need of a holiday after your busy time in the Cotswolds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy, comfortable and right in the middle of town”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the moment that the booking was confirmed the communication from Hilary was absolutely superb and meant that she was able make the little touches that made our stay even better. Things like providing us with a lockable area for our bikes, bike route guides and three bottles of Hobgoblin beer on the counter.

Upon arrival I was amazed to find what was already in the fridge: milk, butter and juice, as well plenty of different teas and coffee in the cupboards. Above and beyond what I was expecting.

The cottage itself is clearly very well maintained and the furnishing just adds to the cosy cottage feel, which was exactly what I was after. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the shower is also very good. In terms of locations you couldn't be much closer to the centre of Bourton on the Water but it is still so peaceful.

Lavender Cottage ticked all the boxes and I therefore cannot find fault with it. Hilary and Alistair quite clearly want everyone who stays there to have the best possible experience and they do so much to ensure that is the case.

I hope to return, this time with my family, in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Things in the fridge and cupboards, just so unexpected
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage and all that it offers. I'm sure the sunshine helped, too! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
I'm pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and I appreciate you taking the time to post this lovely review. I'm glad that the Welcome Pack was suitable for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clare H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic holiday in great holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic holiday in Bourton-on-the-Water. Lavender Cottage was perfectly situated right in the centre, so we were able to walk out of the door and were right in among the shops, cafes and attractions. The holiday cottage welcome parcel was fantastic. There were food items supplied in the cupboard and fridge as well as some Easter treats! The cottage was very well equipped with good quality furniture and furnishings and everything was tidy, smart and well organised. We stayed with two young children and enjoyed visiting many local attractions (motor museum, Birdland, model village, Cotswold Farm Park, Crocodile Zoo, model railway exhibition). We have stayed in Bourton-on-the-Water on four previous occasions. This was our favourite cottage so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for this glowing review. I'm pleased that you all enjoyed returning to the area & visiting your favourite attractions. I'm sure that Bourton-on-the-Water will be a favourite with your children for many more years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed in March/April 2015 for a week.
Lavender Cottage is a beautiful little cottage which has been modernised in a very tasteful and cosy way. Very attractive inside, warm and with a lovely kitchen/dining area. The cottage has just been cleaned by Hilary herself and she stayed to greet us when we arrived, which was helpful and very hospitable! So many little extras have been thought of by Hilary .... from the bottle of wine in the fridge and the Waitrose jams to the teas, coffee, salt and pepper, shower gel, washing-up gloves, etc. etc .... even a jar of marmite! It certainly made the trip even easier with a lot less to buy locally. Hilary is so friendly and helpful and that made a big difference.

The location is unbeatable .... just a few steps from the front door and you are on the River Windrush in the middle of Bourton with all its tea shops, gift shops, etc. A large Coop is just a 5 minute walk away and there is a big Londis as well which is even nearer. As well as the many restaurants in Bourton there is a Chinese and a chippy within a minute of the cottage so no need to go very far at all!

Would really recommend the cottage and my teenagers loved it too..... give them wireless and they are really happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I feel that I should apologise for the dreadful weather you had all week, but I'm glad it didn't spoil your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
I'm pleased that you both enjoyed your stay, and that the answer was YES. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversaries!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
I'm pleased that the cottage & the village gave you the relaxing break you were looking for. We hope to welcome you for a longer stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing