We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic......”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bev W
1 review
“Idyllic......”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautiful cottage in an idyllic location. We celebrated our anniversary whilst we was there and Hilary very kindly left us some chocolates and an anniversary card, so thoughtful. The extras that Hilary left included wine, jam, bread, butter, juice, tea, coffee, milk etc and were gratefully received - Bourton on the Water is such a pretty village and Lavender Cottage is perfectly placed just 2 minutes walk from the main area. Hilary and Alistair are the perfect hosts and I highly recommend Lavender Cottage, cannot fault it at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience of Lavender Cottage. I'm glad that your waterproofs enjoyed their countryside break!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you for writing this review as soon as you got home. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage and that you appreciated all that Bourton-on-the-Water has to offer. We'll look forward to welcoming you again for some R&R.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
I'm pleased that Lavender Cottage was the perfect base for your tour of the Cotswolds and that you all enjoyed everything that the village offers. The river & the ice creams are certainly a favourite with our young guests. Thank you for sharing your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for posting this review. I'm glad that you found time to wander in our lovely village as well as enjoy your festival weekend. It was my pleasure to pre-book your taxis & I'm happy they turned up on time to bring you "home".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katrina L
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Wilderness Weekend”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our second visit to Lavender Cottage - we stayed here during Wilderness Festival in nearby Charlbury. Everything we could have possibly needed/ wanted was provided and the owners couldn't have been more attentive. It was a real treat and the perfect way to spend our festival weekend; we were very spoilt and hope to be back soon! Thank you!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
It was lovely to welcome you back to Lavender Cottage and I'm glad that you had such wonderful weather for your festival fun. We'll look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmed
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our own every special " escape to the country", blue ribbon style.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Following an extremely busy UK conference trip, our three night stay at our much loved ' Lavender Cottage ', was more than what we could of wished for, before our long trip home. From the moment we met Hilary, she had quickly worked out all the aspects of how our stay could exceed our expectations. The cottage has every aspect covered, but with more. The thought and care to detail throughout the cottage, reflects the high standards presented to all who are lucky to stay at Lavender Cottage. The position and privacy of the cottage allows you to quickly embrace the charm of Burton on the Water, without being caught up with the daily tourists. We wished we could of stayed longer. Many thanks to the wonderful hosts Hilary and Alistair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts, Location, the overalll layout of the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
I'm pleased that our little haven gave you a chance to relax and that you enjoyed all that Bourton-on-the-Water has to offer. We'll look forward to seeing you next time you visit England.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every detail was thought of by the owners.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lavender Cottage. We've tried to provide everything that our guests might need during their stay and we appreciate that good WIFI is essential, especially for our many visitors from overseas. I'm pleased that we helped to make your UK trip memorable and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing