We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Holly House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this B&B. It is very clean and our room (Rissington) looks as though it has been recently decorated, with newly-fitted shower room. The bedroom had all we needed, including a fridge and iron and ironing board. Breakfasts were good, with cereals, fruit salad, yogurt, full English, etc. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival and there was a decanter of port and glasses with a "help yourself" sign - ditto with cup cakes. There were chocolates and biscuits on the hospitality tray. The village centre is 5 minutes walkaway along a quiet path. Bourton is the nicest village in the area, but having visited before now in peak holiday time, I suggest you avoid them! However, I do recommend Holly House.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in the Cotswolds, where we stayed at Holly House.
On arrival we were welcomed by Jayne, the friendly proprietor and perfect host, who immediately provided us with tea and cake and made us feel very much "at home".
We occupied "Sherbourne" room which was nicely furnished and very well equipped to provide us with everything we needed - and more.
Breakfast was perfect. The breakfast room was beautifully set out and there was an extensive menu of items to choose from. Breakfast was really excellent ,it was nicely cooked and well presented.
Holly House is ideally situated within a short and pleasant walk into Bourton on the Water, which is a very attractive village with a stream running through the middle and where there are many interesting shops and places to eat.
Bourton is an ideal base from which to visit many other parts of the Cotswolds, including a number of attractive little villages nearby and the village itself contains some interesting attractions including "Birdland" which houses many varieties of exotic birds, as well as the penguins, for which it is famous.
We are looking forward to a further visit and renewing our acquaintance with Holly House and Jayne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 438Jammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at Holly House as a treat for my birthday as we've always wanted to stay in Bourton-on-the-Water. From the minute we walked in to the minute we left we had a brilliant experience. The room (Windrush) was beautifully decorated and had everything you needed. Jayne is the perfect host, even leaving a birthday card and biscuits in the room for me. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of selection and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area. I'm sure we'll be back again soon as we didn't want to leave!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adele_flan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our second visit to Holly House and we were just as impressed second time around. Jayne and David are excellent hosts, friendly and relaxed. Nothing is too much to them. Room was extremely spacious and clean, with lots of small details such as chocs etc!
We'll be back!

Jan and Steve Oversby

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Perfect place for a Cotswold weekend away. Really comfortable beds, including high quality linen. Modern decor-loved the mirrored art deco style bedroom furniture and super touches- sweeties!,good quality toiletries and towels, port in guest area- to "help yourself" also homemade cup cakes again to "help yourself". Jayne the host bends over backwards to help you - luggage, parking, serving tea on arrival, and breakfast. The breakfast was beautifully presented and of high quality. I stayed in a 5* hotel recently for double the cost and can honestly say that Holly House is far more 5*+. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms seem stunning- loved our separate lounge area in the Naunton Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsylar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night and wished it had been for longer. The atmosphere was great and we felt very welcome and at home straight away. Jayne was very welcoming and even helped with the luggage. We stayed in The Rissington Room which was beautiful, lovely furnishings and the ensuite was lovely. It had fluffy towels and an assortment of toiletries to use. The next morning we had breakfast, which was a variety of fruit, cereal and full English which again was excellent. We would highly recommend to friends and family as we thought the location was very good, just a short walk into Bourton. I'll definitely be returning in the Summer with my husband and look forward to the new breakfast room extension.

Room Tip: Room at the front, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Holly house house B&B is very professionally run by two genuine and considerate people. Both Jane and Dave were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.We stayed in the naunton suite, cleanliness and room quality was outstanding, the breakfast was superb and service was excellent. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast which is probably the best in bourton on the water

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.4 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
1 mi away
Sunny Nest
Sunny Nest
#17 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House B&B

Address: Holly House Station Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £61 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Gold Award accommodation located only 5 minutes walk from "little Venice" Bourton on the Water ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Holly House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing