We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B !”
Review of Holly House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Willenhall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B !”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Wife and I are regular users of B&B's and Hotels. We have stayed at some good ones, some excellent ones, but Holly House is the best ! We stayed in The Naunton Room ( suite ). Fantastic, with its own lounge area complete with fridge, t.v., comfy chairs and subtle lighting. The en-suite bedroom was large with a king-size bed, built-in wardrobe and another tv ! There was even a tablet supplied to use the internet. The bathroom was spotless with a fantastic shower. The welcome we received from David and Jayne could not have been warmer and nothing was too much trouble. Complimentary home-made cakes were left daily in the reception area, as was a bottle of Port for guests to enjoy a glass after a day's exploring. The location is excellent, only 5 minute walk from the beautiful Bourton village centre and 15 minute stroll to the picturesque Slaughters. Saving the best 'til last - Breakfast - top quality food cooked to perfection. Genuinely cannot wait until our next visit !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
388
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having arrived early, we were welcomed in an offered tea/coffee, an a slice of teacake, very much appreciated. Room ready 10 minutes later, an what a fab room. We had booked the Naunton Suite separate lounge area with TV, fridge modern radiator, an easy chairs. The bedroom its self was very clean (as was the ensuite)with lots of little touches from cotton buds, tissues, cotton wool, built in wardrobe an even fresh flowers. We stayed over the easter holiday an were even left an easter egg an mini eggs upon our return later that day. Both Jayne an David are friendly an gave us tips about things. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice an nothing was to much trouble more tea/coffee toast if you wanted it. We will definitely return at some point. Thank you David an Jayne xx.

Room Tip: Naunton suite excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The service we received was excellent. Jayne was very welcoming, attentive and professional. The room itself was very clean to the point that everything sparkled! The inclusion of HD TV, complementary useable tablet and WI-FI were all great additions. The dining room was beautifully presented in a lovely bright room overlooking the garden.

Breakfasts were cooked to perfection and were served with military precision. The addition of complementary fairy cakes and port was a lovely touch.

Bourton itself is gorgeous and quintessentially British! Would thoroughly recommend staying at the Holly House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_bedfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were made very welcome by Jayne and well looked after for our stay, The bedroom was newly decorated and was very comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and the new shower was very efficient. The breakfast was well presented and with a reasonable choice. The freshly baked fairy cakes was a nice treat. All in all a good place to stay and close to the village.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepzibah186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this B&B. It is very clean and our room (Rissington) looks as though it has been recently decorated, with newly-fitted shower room. The bedroom had all we needed, including a fridge and iron and ironing board. Breakfasts were good, with cereals, fruit salad, yogurt, full English, etc. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival and there was a decanter of port and glasses with a "help yourself" sign - ditto with cup cakes. There were chocolates and biscuits on the hospitality tray. The village centre is 5 minutes walkaway along a quiet path. Bourton is the nicest village in the area, but having visited before now in peak holiday time, I suggest you avoid them! However, I do recommend Holly House.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in the Cotswolds, where we stayed at Holly House.
On arrival we were welcomed by Jayne, the friendly proprietor and perfect host, who immediately provided us with tea and cake and made us feel very much "at home".
We occupied "Sherbourne" room which was nicely furnished and very well equipped to provide us with everything we needed - and more.
Breakfast was perfect. The breakfast room was beautifully set out and there was an extensive menu of items to choose from. Breakfast was really excellent ,it was nicely cooked and well presented.
Holly House is ideally situated within a short and pleasant walk into Bourton on the Water, which is a very attractive village with a stream running through the middle and where there are many interesting shops and places to eat.
Bourton is an ideal base from which to visit many other parts of the Cotswolds, including a number of attractive little villages nearby and the village itself contains some interesting attractions including "Birdland" which houses many varieties of exotic birds, as well as the penguins, for which it is famous.
We are looking forward to a further visit and renewing our acquaintance with Holly House and Jayne.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 438Jammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Holly House as a treat for my birthday as we've always wanted to stay in Bourton-on-the-Water. From the minute we walked in to the minute we left we had a brilliant experience. The room (Windrush) was beautifully decorated and had everything you needed. Jayne is the perfect host, even leaving a birthday card and biscuits in the room for me. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of selection and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area. I'm sure we'll be back again soon as we didn't want to leave!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adele_flan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
1.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,062 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House B&B

Property: Holly House B&B
Address: Holly House Station Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Gold Award accommodation located only 5 minutes walk from "little Venice" Bourton on the Water ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Holly House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing