We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holly House gives us good impression.”
Review of Holly House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We selected the "Rissington" and "Bourton" rooms for 3 of us. Rissington is small for twins but we could managed well with little space for 2 suitcases. Without putting on the heater, I think it's a little too warm in this room even we are from a tropical country we did open the window, while it is under 10 degree celsius outside; otherwise the room is just perfect. However my daughter loves the beautiful "Bourton". Both rooms are pretty, clean and well decorated. Breakfast room and table is nicely arranged and the food is tasty and plenty. Jayne and David are friendly and helpful. They have red wine ready for everyone coming cold from outside. We like the quick WiFi provided as compliments. Holly House gave us good impression. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niramit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Wife and I are regular users of B&B's and Hotels. We have stayed at some good ones, some excellent ones, but Holly House is the best ! We stayed in The Naunton Room ( suite ). Fantastic, with its own lounge area complete with fridge, t.v., comfy chairs and subtle lighting. The en-suite bedroom was large with a king-size bed, built-in wardrobe and another tv ! There was even a tablet supplied to use the internet. The bathroom was spotless with a fantastic shower. The welcome we received from David and Jayne could not have been warmer and nothing was too much trouble. Complimentary home-made cakes were left daily in the reception area, as was a bottle of Port for guests to enjoy a glass after a day's exploring. The location is excellent, only 5 minute walk from the beautiful Bourton village centre and 15 minute stroll to the picturesque Slaughters. Saving the best 'til last - Breakfast - top quality food cooked to perfection. Genuinely cannot wait until our next visit !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having arrived early, we were welcomed in an offered tea/coffee, an a slice of teacake, very much appreciated. Room ready 10 minutes later, an what a fab room. We had booked the Naunton Suite separate lounge area with TV, fridge modern radiator, an easy chairs. The bedroom its self was very clean (as was the ensuite)with lots of little touches from cotton buds, tissues, cotton wool, built in wardrobe an even fresh flowers. We stayed over the easter holiday an were even left an easter egg an mini eggs upon our return later that day. Both Jayne an David are friendly an gave us tips about things. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice an nothing was to much trouble more tea/coffee toast if you wanted it. We will definitely return at some point. Thank you David an Jayne xx.

Room Tip: Naunton suite excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The service we received was excellent. Jayne was very welcoming, attentive and professional. The room itself was very clean to the point that everything sparkled! The inclusion of HD TV, complementary useable tablet and WI-FI were all great additions. The dining room was beautifully presented in a lovely bright room overlooking the garden.

Breakfasts were cooked to perfection and were served with military precision. The addition of complementary fairy cakes and port was a lovely touch.

Bourton itself is gorgeous and quintessentially British! Would thoroughly recommend staying at the Holly House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_bedfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were made very welcome by Jayne and well looked after for our stay, The bedroom was newly decorated and was very comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and the new shower was very efficient. The breakfast was well presented and with a reasonable choice. The freshly baked fairy cakes was a nice treat. All in all a good place to stay and close to the village.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepzibah186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this B&B. It is very clean and our room (Rissington) looks as though it has been recently decorated, with newly-fitted shower room. The bedroom had all we needed, including a fridge and iron and ironing board. Breakfasts were good, with cereals, fruit salad, yogurt, full English, etc. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival and there was a decanter of port and glasses with a "help yourself" sign - ditto with cup cakes. There were chocolates and biscuits on the hospitality tray. The village centre is 5 minutes walkaway along a quiet path. Bourton is the nicest village in the area, but having visited before now in peak holiday time, I suggest you avoid them! However, I do recommend Holly House.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in the Cotswolds, where we stayed at Holly House.
On arrival we were welcomed by Jayne, the friendly proprietor and perfect host, who immediately provided us with tea and cake and made us feel very much "at home".
We occupied "Sherbourne" room which was nicely furnished and very well equipped to provide us with everything we needed - and more.
Breakfast was perfect. The breakfast room was beautifully set out and there was an extensive menu of items to choose from. Breakfast was really excellent ,it was nicely cooked and well presented.
Holly House is ideally situated within a short and pleasant walk into Bourton on the Water, which is a very attractive village with a stream running through the middle and where there are many interesting shops and places to eat.
Bourton is an ideal base from which to visit many other parts of the Cotswolds, including a number of attractive little villages nearby and the village itself contains some interesting attractions including "Birdland" which houses many varieties of exotic birds, as well as the penguins, for which it is famous.
We are looking forward to a further visit and renewing our acquaintance with Holly House and Jayne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 438Jammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.4 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
1 mi away
Sunny Nest
Sunny Nest
#18 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House B&B

Address: Holly House Station Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Gold Award accommodation located only 5 minutes walk from "little Venice" Bourton on the Water ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Holly House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing