We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Home Base” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing Home Base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location near Bourton on the Water was nice - just a short walk into town for shopping and restaurants. Easy walk over to the Slaughters via the footpaths. Central location for visiting the small towns in the Cotswolds. Hosts, Jayne and her husband made you feel right at home. Offered us tea when we checked in plus had some homemade cupcakes and Port available in the afternoon. The rooms had a tray with tea pot, tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplies, and a small supply of snacks (nuts, cookies, candy). Our room had a small fridge, a hair dryer, TV, wifi access. Bed was large and comfy (more "American" style bed - sits up higher and is thicker than most European standard beds). Bathroom was small but immaculate and stocked with basic bath products. Breakfast was substantial - you could choose from several hot options including the full English breakfast and some specials. Fresh homemade bread - yum! Overall - really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
363
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here in April 2011 for two nights and said I would review it. Never did. So putting record straight after wife reminded me about it.

Charming and helpful hostess
Spotlessly clean
Superb Breakfast
Comfortable beds
Good location

Everything about the Holly House is excellent.
The reviews are still the same three years later. Look no more. This is the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed with Jayne and David second week in July. Our third trip to Holly House. As usual everything was truly superb, from the award winning breakfast where you can have virtually anything you like, to the beautifully appointed (and unbelievably comfortable) bedrooms. Nothing is too much trouble and Jayne is the perfect hostess. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Bourton you will not find anywhere better than Holly House. A fantastic stay is assured. Jayne and David set the benchmark on how to run a great b&b.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just had a great 3 nights at the Holly house B&B . As others have said the location is close to the centre by foot it's a 10 min stroll down a pleasant walk way, and only a 20/30 min walk to Lower Slaughter .
The room was very well equipped and nicely decorated you won't be disappointed with the standard of the Holly House, the bath room is of a very high standard with shower gels/ shampoo supplied . The bed was a little soft for me ( I like a harder bed odd I know) but my wife was fine with it.
Breakfast is very good and with so much choice you could eat here for a week and not have the same thing twice.
Thanks to Jayne and David you have a wonderful home and we will be back one day.

Room Tip: The Risington room can be set up as a twin or super king
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasman295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are looking for 5 star accomodations in a B and B then Holly House is the answer. It is truly superb. I don't think many B and B' s offer Eggs Benedict, Eggs Royale or Eggs Florentine as part of their breakfast choices. There is of course the usual English breakfast and cereals but even these are superb. With the cereals there is a choice of fruit compotes. The room itself is outstanding. There is an iphone dock as well as a tablet should you need them. The rooms are well appointed and clean and bright.
A short 6 -7 minute walk takes you into the village proper where you will find all the shops and of course the river Windrush by which you could have a picnic or sit at the bankside cafes to watch the world go by.
There is also parking within the compound of the house.

Room Tip: The Bourton or Rissington rooms face the road but you do not hear the noise. It is bright and cheerf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tianshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for our visit to the Cotswolds and found it to be an ideal location. Jayne is the perfect host and prepared the most amazing breakfasts, as well as providing information about local restaurants and nearby places of interest. The room was immaculately clean and very comfortable and on-site parking is provided. I can't imagine why you would want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Holly House for 3 nights while visiting the Cotswolds. It was absolutely perfect. The location was great for both driving around the area as well as walking to downtown to get dinner. The B & B was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious. Both my husband and I are vegetarians and they were so accommodating. The room, bed, amenities were exactly what we needed. We had the best nights sleep while staying. Jayne and David were amazing hosts and we would recommend that you stay while in Bourton on the Water! We were so glad we did!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.3 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House B&B

Property: Holly House B&B
Address: Holly House Station Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Gold Award accommodation located only 5 minutes walk from "little Venice" Bourton on the Water ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly House Bed And Breakfast
Holly House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing