We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage in beautiful part of The...”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a lovely glass of wine in the tranquil courtyard. A sun spot in the summer from noon.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a lovely glass of wine in the tranquil courtyard. A sun spot in the summer from noon.
Front of cottage plus parking space Frontage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Enjoy a lovely glass of wine in the tranquil courtyard. A sun spot in the summer from noon.
Front of cottage plus parking space
Frontage
View from front door towards kitchen
View from kitchen to front of property
Gorgeous inglenook fireplace
Lovely bright modern kitchen
Ceramic butler style sink and modern appliances
Bright kitchen window
Beamed ceiling in master bedroom, so pretty
Master bedroom with exposed honey coloured stone wall
View towards window and triple cupboard in master bedroom
View of master bedroom
Cosy master bedroom
Fresh towels and cosy quilts
Mullion window from main bedroom
Top bedroom looking towards attic window
Top bedroom
Bright modern bathroom
Vanity unit and toilet
LED Mirror bathroom
Roof top view to rolling hills beyond from third floor bedroom window
Bourton on the Water Bridges
Front courtyard area
Italian leather bucket chair
Kitchen view
Comfy leather sofa and well equipped kitchen
Burford Mill
Heron fishing at Lower Slaughter Mill, also curiosity shop behind mill
Heron at Lower Slaughter Mill
Bibury cottages
Chipping Campden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob Y
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great little cottage in beautiful part of The Cotswolds”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is just down a little lane so out of the way (parking for one car) but within a couple of mins walk of the High Street which is lined with tea rooms, gift shops, restaurants and pubs. It is small and cosy with wood burner (logs don't last long it seems!) so it was spot on for us for a short break. I think more than a short break it would have been a little too small for us as the bed and sofa aren't huge. The cottage has been renovated to a high spec, kitchen is really nice but not loads of storage for food. Everything is of a high standard and the owners were really helpful, came back quickly if we had questions and booking it was really straightforward and a reasonable price. Wi-fi was good, bed comfortable, dish washer a bonus, TV a little small and only has room for it in a little corner.

We were a little disappointed with the standard of pubs in the town, which were nothing special. The bakery next to the Motor Museum is worthy of some lunch, and we had dinner in The Rose Tree restaurant which was very good and probably the best place in Bourton. The Model Village is worth a visit and we also bought a walking booklet in the tourist info office and walked to lovely Stow-on-the-Wold (4 mils, 2 hrs, but we got a little lost). There are plenty of walks to be had and Lower Slaughter is nearby and has what appeared to be a really nice pub along the river. The Cotswolds is a beautiful area but make sure you do your homework as you can come a cropper is you just walk into a place that looks great from the outside, but inside is a little rough around the edges with average food at high tourist prices. There are some top places mind you, definitely would consider staying again and this little cottage was just the job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of decor in the cottage.
Liked least: It is a little small if staying for more than a short break.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. The master bedroom houses a standard double size bed and we find the luxurious leather sofa to be extremely comfortable for two and not a tight squeeze . Note there is also a leather bucket chair should three guests be staying.The TV is definitely not cinema size, we feel this would ruin the character of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Very good stay at this beautiful Cottage, Excellent facilities (loved the Fire)
Perfect location, Walking distants to shops,restuarants & pubs. I would highly recommend this cottage for a stay in the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the Fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review please visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyphols
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I can't think of enough superlatives for this amazing cottage.

My wife and I were a little unsure on where to stay. Rural or within a town. I wanted in the town so there is plenty to do. I believe the cottage is best of both worlds. Off the main road (with off street parking) so it was extremely quiet, but also offered many things to do within a minutes walk. Not only that but I found Bourton very central to other towns such as Stow and Chipping Camden - Still think Bourton is the prettiest!

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend and loved every minute of our stay. If you're thinking of staying in the Cotswolds, stay here. The property is very tastefully decorated with many modern amenities. It felt very, very clean and very homely. The kitchen had every utensil you could think of, more than enough for a long stay cooking up lunches and dinners. If my life depended on finding a fault it would have to be that there are so many utensils we didn't have much space to store our supplies, but, as I said, it's just an observation and not a complaint!! Lovely log burner for a cosy night in watching tv. What really impressed us were the quality of the towels and bed linen.

Plenty of restaurants and pubs, again, within minutes of the property. We took a long walk to Little Rissingdon and there were plenty of other walks you could take.

As I said, really can't fault the cottage. It's small, but perfectly formed! The owners must be very proud of it. We are already thinking of re-booking for Spring..........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you for your very kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, come and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimmoDerb...
Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says on the tin!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Arrived at the cottage quite easily having followed the directions provided. We were very pleased to be welcomed by a supply of tea, coffee, sugar, milk - and a lovely surprise of a bottle of wine in the fridge!

We were here as a couple so although the space is quite tight, it was perfectly adequate for us. All the furnishings are of the highest quality - thank you so much for the addition of a snuggle rug in the lounge! We used the log burner once when we arrived as the cottage was a little chilly. Once the heating had been on a while, the whole cottage was toasty - no need for the burner at all.

Everything you could want for a few days away was provided. We cooked breakfast each morning in the well equipped kitchen but ate out for dinner each day in the village - literally a 2 minute walk from the cottage - perfect location!

Visiting in January, quite understandably, there were a few shops and a couple of restaurants and pubs closed for either refurbishment or a well earned post Christmas break. That didn't bother us - the fact that there wasn't too many people around suited us - no queuing at the bar in the pubs or fighting for a table for food.

If you're looking to come and stay at a well equipped, comfortable, immaculately clean cottage, then look no further. Just watch out for the low beams in the lounge. The staircase is also very tight but with the handrails included this isn't really a problem.

Thank you to Peter & Alison for putting a lot of thought into making this a welcoming home from home. We would certainly return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage in great location
Liked least: Watch out for the low beams!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your stay !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TW27EX
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You will enjoy your stay here!!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Finally found time to review my stay at the Captain’s Cabin over Christmas, I stayed 7 nights, great little place to just relax and chill, right in the center of town but set back from the main road so peaceful and quiet, resent refurnished and done very well, the owners very helpful!! Local to all the pubs and restaurants, local supermarket only 1 minutes away with all you need to cook in if you want to and good range of wine, beer and spirits!!
Observations, not criticisms, very low ceiling, very steep stairs, in my option not ideal for children or people who have problem with stairs. Public footpath runs along the back of the property and often found children looking through the kitchen area window.
All in all ideal for a short break in the Cotswold’s
My background, my role is as the Facilities Manager at the London Fire Brigade Control Center
And oversee hospitably, Housekeeping, security and day to day running of the building that has to be kept to a 4 Hotel standard and has a keen insight into what is required to provide a good service and the owners of this property have done this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall it was what I wanted
Liked least: Low ceilings
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and given your job responsibilities appreciate your compliments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJHughes1...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for our first wedding anniversary which coincided with New Years eve and we couldn't of asked to have stayed anywhere better. Our stay in bourton and in captains cabin exceeded expectations. Firstly the owners Alison and Peter are very helpful. Any queries beforehand they answered for us promptly, especially when we asked about were was best to eat out. One of the restaurants they recommended was the rose tree and the food and service there was absolutely amazing. They were also very accommodating when we asked if we could check in earlier than stated which was good as we'd planned on getting there early to make as much use of our time there as possible. The cottage itself was perfect. It's situated down a quiet lane but still literally a 30 second walk from all the pubs/restaurants/shops, couldn't of asked for a better location. Inside the cottage is beautiful, very cottage like with all the wooden beams exposed, it really was amazing, especially when you get the log burner going too. It was very clean when we got there and had everything you would need when there. The locals there are very nice and we had a right good drink with some of them for New Years. Defo go see the model village of bourton, that's pretty cool. All in all we had a brilliant time and would defo stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind review and please visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnphunt...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Captains Cabin”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Excellent holiday week at this small and very cosy cottage. Excellent wood burner and central heating, comfy couch, comfy bed, plus recently refurbished throughout which was nice also. The owners left us a bottle of wine which was a nice touch. Parking is easy for a small to medium car, larger cars will find it difficult. The small Village of Bourton has plenty of places to eat, the Duke of Wellington was our favourite, Chip shop and Chinese restaurant are also worth visiting. We spent a lot of our time visiting National trust properties and Blenheim Palace and had an excellent time. Cheltenham is worth visiting for the shopping and Cinema but watch out for the parking fees.
Overall a very relaxed holiday for a winter visit to the gorgeous Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Inglenook fireplace
Liked least: Front door sticking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and please visit us again! We will be sure to add a note to the advert about the turning space so those with vehicles over 4.5 metres are aware (A well known make 7 seater SUV has no problem with the turn or space size).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing