We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Rude !!!!”
Review of The Mousetrap Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mousetrap Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When we pulled up , we thought how beautiful it looked . We went in side to be greeted by a man that just stared at us and carried on his way . He eventually came over to us and just said nothing . We said we had a booking , to which his reply was AND , i was gob smacked to say the least . Raising his hands in the air he shouts NAME to us . we was then given our key and told to go upstairs to the end of the corridor . Room 7 was adequate . Shower was brilliant , bed comfy . Just tiered decoration . On the night we decided to eat here , the food was gorgeous and the young girl serving was lovely too . The drinks was a different matter . I had a glass of wine which was a quarter full . One mouth full and it was gone .For £4.20 , it was an expensive swallow . BUT what let the whole place down was the rudeness of John . He maybe 68 but has no customer service skills . A smile would even help . It carried on at breakfast time also . He would ask what you want but walk off before you had finished telling him what you wanted , this was done to all residents This place is in a beautiful spot but wont be returning due to feeling like i wasn't welcome . Such a shame ...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxsamantha89xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

What's that old saying... 'small but perfectly formed'!

Situated on the outskirts of the beautiful Cotswold town of 'Bourton on the Water, this interesting and well priced accommodation is well worth a look.

On a very hot day we arrived to check in and were given the key to our 'Chalet' in the lane! Yes a one bedroomed single storey chalet with a stable door and real wood window...that opened perfectly...thank God!

No A/C but not expected really at these prices. ou park your car directly outside the room door and there are exactly the right number of car spaces for the rooms!

Room was good with en-suite and very comfy beds. Flat screen TV and you knew your car was safe!! :)

Just a ten minute stroll to the beautiful town centre this hotel/inn/restaurant is well worth a visit or stay. The breakfast as also very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good parking place! Not open to receive between 3pm and 6pm.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank plb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Mousetrap Inn is a picturesque old Inn about 5 minutes from the Centre of Bourton on the Water.
We received a very friendly welcome and the young lady carried our bags up the stairs for us.
The en suite room was quite large with a very comfortable bed. I was concerned that it might be noisy as our room was at the front and right above the bar but it was not too noisy.
Breakfast was included and was a typical English breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Good food and not over priced. 3rd day in a row eating here and really enjoyed the good beer, food and service. A bit of a jem in Boughton where most other places are over priced and poorly run. Give the mousetrap a go if you don't want fine dining you'll be surprised.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank dazalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in the mousetrap from the 4rth of July we had room 7 very outdated room but cosy comfy bed yes shower was noisy but no problems sleeping with any plumbing noise.Very relaxed place could come and go as you pleased BUT as for the hospitality in the resturant the landlord struggled to pass the time of day with you, a good morning would have been nice, my husband dropped his fork and asked for another one and his reply was" what is the matter with the one you have got"? We found him very funny yes he was the typical old fashioned landlord but we did enjoy our time there he is very hardworking dont take him personally very pleasant when we left!! The Old Manse in Bourton is the place to stay away not the Mousetrap.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Smeachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent location a few minutes walk from the center of Burton on the water. Food was excellent, good service.Room was in need of updating rather tired looking but spacious. Would have liked information in the room about the hotel and area.Underfloor heating was very noisy at night.

Room Tip: some ground floor rooms have easy access and are away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROLE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for such a warm, welcoming stay. We both thouroughly enjoyed our accomodation and was impressed with the value for money. The hotel is perfectly placed within walkiing distance from the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water. The owner and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to a return visit later on in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bananabird69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
729 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#11 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mousetrap Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mousetrap Inn

Address: Lansdowne, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £72 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mousetrap Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mousetrap Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mousetrap Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing