We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and central and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 13 May 2011

For a mid range tourist/business hotel this is ideal. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was filling and good. The only minor drawback is that it doesn't have its own car park - but there is an NCP one almost next door.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

We had 8 days in England, and this was the cheapest place, but also one of the best places. Great breakfast buffet, a hard and soft pillow to choose from, perfect location and nice staff. Only downside is, that you have to pay for parking (garage on the other side of the road, app 7 £) and wifi. Staying at this hotel gives 10 % discount on many restaurants.

Strange, that all the staff is eastern european?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. Staff were really friendly, which made a nice change to be honest !!! TV in room wasn't showing all the channels (due to the digital switchover I think), but this didn't ultimately hamper the stay. Right opposite The Brewery with bars and restaurants - so great for evening out.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Location of this hotel is fab for the town, there is also an NCP just over the road so ample parking. Since my last visit they have removed all the english staff and replaced them with eastern europeans. This is no bad thing!! Service has improved dramatically!!

However, rooms are still far too hot and if you have a room facing the roads then you can't open a window as it will be too noisy. If you stay at this hotel, insist that the central air conditioning is switched on!

Room Tip: use ichotels advance purchase rate A
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

stayed in a family room with husband and grown up son.At under 54 pounds for the three of us with a more than adequate breakfast what more could you ask for.Room clean adequately furnished and efficient staff.Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandamacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

spotless, modern room. Friendly, helpful staff. Convenient location for walking in Cotswolds and good value for money. Walked into Cheltenham for breakfast in the numerous cafes and again in the evening for wonderful meals in the excellent restuarants of Cheltenham. As mentioned before no hotel parking but this was not a problem as parking was right next door £6.50 for 24 hours. Would definately stay again

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank windrushCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel in feb for a night out with some friends.

Location wise the hotel is perfect for the centre of cheltenham. It is next to a car park (£7 for 24hrs I think? Not bad!) which was handy and the hotel was opposite the brewery which is like an entrainment centre. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in there for eg nandos, frankies and bennies, Chiquita etc etc and also bars such as après. The bars are great for just a quiet drink or a start to your night, if you want something livelier though you have to go into town however this was within easy walking distance.

The hotel is lovely and clean, with triple and double rooms available. We had a triple room and it was a good size with everything we needed. The hotel is definitely a very good standard 3* as it lacks the facilities of a higher standard however the price does reflect this, and so the hotel is amazing value for money!

The service at the hotel is high, reception staff was friendly telling us about discounts we would receive for the bars and restaurants in the centre across the road, and check in was smooth and efficient. There was a bed settee in our room which wasn't made up and had no linen. We called down to reception and they explained that someone would be up later on to set it up for us. A little later a man came up to make up the bed, so service wise there was not a problem at all.

I have given the hotel an extra star on my review for pure value for money.

I would say, anyone wanting to go to Cheltenham for a night out like us, choose somewhere else. There is a bar called decota (? i think) thats supposed to be the best in town which we did go to, but again was nothing special. Adequate for the uni students of the town I'm sure, but nothing to go out of your way for. Shopping however is a dream, with shops and restaurants in abundance on the high street.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit cheltanham due to value for money and convenience of it's location. X

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claritabelle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
264 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing