We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Adequate for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

There quality is as could be expected from a holiday express inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The place was modern and clean and the bed was comfortable. I did wonder why they bothered to label pillows soft and firm. The TV was sooo small which does not surprise me as most hoteliers have not clued into how much positive response they will get to 32 inches over 18. Size matters and TVs are cheap these days too. My laptop was larger and that leads me to my main complaint. I booked this hotel because I was told it had free wifi. All I found was a web page that quickly took my credit card information then proceeded to ignore my computer's attempts to go online. Only after going downstairs to the lobby to be told i had to plug in the ethernet cable (I guess we can't all be IT savvy) was my laptop finally put online by the ISP. By the time I returned upstairs I was back to square one with no connection. What a waste of time. I persevered and on about the 10th attempt to be recognized as a legitimate customer was I finally able to download emails and surf. I do not understand why many hotel chains don't simply bite the bullet and include this in their general pricing structure like say La Quinta does. When it doesn't work there is less complaining too. Parking was disappointing as I had to pay over 6 pounds sterling each time came and went to the nearby paid parking. I would have thought the hotel would have a validation arrangement with the parking people. Breakfast reminded me of boarding school setting and quality of food.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dicki55, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre for your recent accommodation requirements, and also for taking the time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is with great regret and disappointment to learn that you had encountered problems during your stay. may I sincerley apologize for the shortcomings that you experienced.

We view all feedback very seriously, and consistently strive to improve our services to ensure all of our valued guests have a comfortable stay with us. I can take comfort in the knowledge that we have a friendly and hard working team at our hotel.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally, should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind regards
Ian Dick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    296
    126
    23
    14
See reviews for
121
212
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Bright, modern and clean. Good location. Good value. Breakfast could be better but could also be a lot worse. All in all a good overnight or short stay choice - not quite so sure about a longer stay. Staff were pleasent and helpful but there were one or two communication difficulties.

Room Tip: Smokers ask for a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comet218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dicki55, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre for your recent accommodation requirements, and also for taking the time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is with great regret and disappointment to learn that you encountered communication problems during your stay. I would like to sincerley apologize for any inconvenience that this caused you.

We view all feedback very seriously, and consistently strive to improve our services to ensure all of our valued guests have a comfortable stay with us. I can take comfort in the knowledge that we have a friendly and hard working team at our hotel.

Therefore I am confident the next time you visit us; you will receive the normal high levels of service and care that our guests have come to expect.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally, should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind regards
Ian Dick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

For a mid range tourist/business hotel this is ideal. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was filling and good. The only minor drawback is that it doesn't have its own car park - but there is an NCP one almost next door.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers
Level Contributor
271 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We had 8 days in England, and this was the cheapest place, but also one of the best places. Great breakfast buffet, a hard and soft pillow to choose from, perfect location and nice staff. Only downside is, that you have to pay for parking (garage on the other side of the road, app 7 £) and wifi. Staying at this hotel gives 10 % discount on many restaurants.

Strange, that all the staff is eastern european?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. Staff were really friendly, which made a nice change to be honest !!! TV in room wasn't showing all the channels (due to the digital switchover I think), but this didn't ultimately hamper the stay. Right opposite The Brewery with bars and restaurants - so great for evening out.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Location of this hotel is fab for the town, there is also an NCP just over the road so ample parking. Since my last visit they have removed all the english staff and replaced them with eastern europeans. This is no bad thing!! Service has improved dramatically!!

However, rooms are still far too hot and if you have a room facing the roads then you can't open a window as it will be too noisy. If you stay at this hotel, insist that the central air conditioning is switched on!

Room Tip: use ichotels advance purchase rate A
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

stayed in a family room with husband and grown up son.At under 54 pounds for the three of us with a more than adequate breakfast what more could you ask for.Room clean adequately furnished and efficient staff.Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandamacheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing