We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stay in hotels a lot on business, I found this hotel overpriced.

The shower in the room, took an hour to drain, so you could only take a 2 min shower or the tray would overflow!!

I asked about wifi and was told it was £6 for an hour or £15 for 24hrs, come on everywhere give you free Internet these days.

Buffet breakfast was not good.

A poor show.... Would not stay in a holiday inn again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlloyd2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    292
    125
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
209
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is another great hotel in the Holiday Inn Express chain. It's centrally located and, as with all the chain, the rooms are functional with a good shower and complimentary breakfast. The bar area is quite large and the breakfast area is bright and light. There's no carpark on site but the NCP is next door at 9 pounds over night. There is a handy parking bay right outside the hotel for unloading. Considering it's central location we heard no noise in our room. Staff were very helpful and gave us money off vouchers for use at local restaurants. There is also complimentary use of Fitness First.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glad2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel one night in August, and having stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Europe and North America I felt this one was grossly over priced for what you get, add to that the close on £10 for parking more than 6 hours up to 24 hours the only nearby option for parking the car it makes this hotel, in my opinion, very expensive.
Reception staff were polite, but not particularly welcoming.

I would like to say the breakfast room staff were friendly and helpful.

Why do UK hotels insist on charging for Internet access? I only need five minutes a day to get my e-mail, but I have to pay by the hour. Having stayed at numerous US hotels including at least five Holiday In Express in the last two months where all the Internet access is provided free of charge, wake up UK hotel the 21st century is here Internet needs to be provided like electricity and water, not an optional extra.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Booked with my boyfriend as a last minute option as we were shopping in Cheltenham.

Price for one night was £99.50 and the only availability was a disabled twin room. To be fair, the Staff fulfilled my request of pushing the beds together and offering a double duvet. And breakfast was included in the price.

A fantastic central location and immaculately clean with modern fixtures and fittings. Service was high and complimentary newspapers a bonus. Asked if I could extend my checkout from 12 to 1pm and this wasn't a problem. Air conditioning in my room also so was not stuffy like others I have stayed in.

Have a feeling this Hotel is very popular so it's maybe good to book up in advance to take advantage of a cheaper price than what I paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swedishstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

How Sad ,,,, This hotel was not what i expected at all,,,, only one lift working ,,,, rooms were ok ,, but dirty carpets and plastic glasses . the bed was small and too soft ,,, but it was the breakfast that ruined it for me ,,, only scrambled egg and sausage with runny lukewarm beans ,,, no bacon in sight ,no black pud or tomatoes and no mushrooms ,,, the orange juice was nasty . this hotel needs a decent breakfast chef to brighten up their guests mornings ,,, in this day and age i thought it was terrible way to treat hard working , money paying travellers ,,,so come on holiday inn ,,get your finger out !!!!! the travelodge has more to offer at a fraction of the price!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stay here very regularly and the service is always of a good standard - a fine variety of restaurants 2 minutes walk away and some good discounts to be had by staying at the Holiday Inn

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

great hotel As all holiday inn express are lovely Location very central to all restaurants, pubs, bars. only downside no parking available stayed three nights had to use ncp car park opposite £28 for the parking apart from that had a great stay

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing