We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Handy Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Handy Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend (Sunday and Monday) at special rate for Greenbelt Festival weekend. The hotel is handy for the coach station which is about 10 minutes walk away, and I also walked to the racecourse on the two days (took about 25 minutes). A cab back cost £7. The room was very nice, very clean and spacious with a good shower, and choice of pillows (soft or firm!). The breakfast was good (self service), although they'd run out of pain au chocolat on the first morning. Staff were welcoming and attentive. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham during the Greenbelt Festival and for taking your time to share your experience. I am very pleased to hear that you took advantage of our advance purchase rates and town centre location. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to our front desk and housekeeping team, as they will be delighted to hear that their efforts do not go unnoticed.

It brings me great pleasure in knowing you would recommend our services and facilities, and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future. Please call our 24 hour reception team on 01242 548200 to make the most of our Greenbelt 2014 advance purchase rates.

Kind Regards,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    304
    128
    22
    14
See reviews for
127
218
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham-uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

stopped here for 2 nights while my bathroom was being refitted, very nice staff, decent starter breakfast, comfortable room and good size shower tray.nice large bed and bed settee in the room, television ok, but a few more channels would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndelta50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Our front desk team will be delighted to hear that their efforts were appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is of value to us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future with even more to offer.

Kind Regards,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at The Holiday Inn for the weekend 24th and 25th August 2013.

I can report that it was very comfortable, the room was clean and a reasonable size with en-suite bathroom. The staff were very attentive and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The room has a large flat screen tv, coffee making facilities, hair drier, wifi etc. The beds were comfortable and our room and bathroom was spotless.

The bar/lounge has two flat screen tvs and it was showing the football at the time we arrived. There is an excellent health club that we looked in on but unfortunately did not have time to use. The hotel has a large free car park.

The hotel is well located near the town centre and shops.

The staff were very helpful and the stay was very pleasant.

I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of your stay. Please be aware that our hotel does not have a free car park, however we do provide discount with our neighbouring car park, The NCP.

It brings me great pleasure to hear that you would have no hesitation in recommending us, we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future with even more to offer! Please contact our Front Desk team on 01242 548200 to make the most of our advance purchase rates.

Many Thanks,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

a standard hloiday inn express, it says what it is on the tin. service was good parking nearby is easy and discounted from the hotel, asked for a taxi it turned up straight away which always a good sign. have stayed before and will again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear William N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We took the train up to Cheltenham for the weekend and just stayed one night. I was quite impressed with it, as far as Holiday Inns go! It's in a good location - close to the town centre and restaurants.

The staff at the check in desk were very friendly and helpful - they made a big effort to make you feel welcome. The room was what you'd expect from a chain - reasonable size, clean, and functional. The breakfast was a buffet and was fine - again what you'd expect from a chain - not great, but there was variety and you could eat lots of it!

I'd most likely stay here again to visit Cheltenham if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your visit to Cheltenham and taking your time to comment on your experience. I am delighted to hear that our town centre location and dedicated team have left you with a great impression of our hotel, and I truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Please contact our 24 hour front desk team on 01242 548200 to make the most of our early booking rates.

Many Thanks,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I already reviewed the Holiday Inn Express in Cheltenham a few months ago, but felt impelled to repeat the process now that I have stayed in this hotel three times (for three or four nights on each occasion) during business trips to the area over the past year. Needless to say, I am a big fan of this hotel.

Long story short, this hotel is exactly what I need while I am on business in Cheltenham, for many reasons, not least:

1. It provides everything a business traveler would reasonably need, except (and this is on my checklist for all business hotels, so Holiday Inn may wish to take note) a safety deposit box in the room.
2. The reception staff are always friendly and helpful.
3. Good check-in sense: I have arrived before noon more than once and been assigned a room right there on the spot, with no arguments. (Don't you hate it when an affronted receptionist refers to the policy of checking in only after 3pm, when they know full well that there are rooms available that could be used? I have seen this happen on many occasions in other hotels.)
4. There is a good, varied buffet breakfast in the morning to start your day, and the restaurant is open in the evenings if you don't want to go out to eat.
5. The hotel is located right next to The Brewery where there are a lot of restaurants to choose from, all of them with discounts if you present your hotel card.
6. There is a fitness center, Fitness First, in the Brewery complex, with free access for hotel residents (just bring your card along with you). It's open from 6am, so you can still get a good workout before breakfast and be at the office in good time.
7. The main high street is less than five minutes away by foot (and there is late night shopping on Thursdays).
8. It's easy to get a taxi in the mornings, and many taxis pull up alongside the hotel in the morning for that very purpose.

Enough said? Oh, and the hotel charges, especially when applicable corporate rates are applied, are really good for what you get. Try it out next time you are in Cheltenham. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Easy access rooms are more spacious, and I was assigned one of these when I checked in late on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that as a returning guest you have continuously been impressed by our town centre location and staff dedication. Comments like these remind us of why we were awarded ‘Hotel of the Year 2012’.

As a regular guest I hope you are an existing IHG Rewards Club member. IHG Rewards Club is completely free to join and aims to improve your stay at all hotels within the IHG chain, with such benefits as free internet, quicker check-ins and free room nights.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very glad to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a regular basis.

Kind Regards,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for just one night two weeks ago and cannot fault anything. I actually booked hotel through an online company and within minutes we were in the hotel and given our room keys - no waiting whatsoever! Staff were all very helpful and friendly when we checked in. Our room was a standard HI Express room so we got what we expected. What sold this hotel though was its location. Just across the road from The Brewery where we found a selection of restaurants and bars where we enjoyed ice cold sangria and then had a meal. The main shopping streets were just around the corner so we don't think we could have been better placed.

Breakfast was again exactly what we expected so no complaints. Check out went smoothly and we were given a ticket for NCP car park to receive a discount. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very pleased to hear that upon arrival you received a warm and friendly welcome and an efficient check-in; I will pass on your kind words to our front desk team as they will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

We believe it is not just the in-house experience which contributes to our guest’s overall stay and very glad to hear that you took advantage of our excellent town centre location and fantastic discounts at the Brewery Complex.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing