We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but we were very impressed with this hotel.
Staff polite well turned out and we'll trained.
Room and bathroom very clean. With all you would expect coffee etc.
Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice and plenty of seating.
We'll placed for Central Cheltenham
Fast check in and out.
Parking near by.
We would use Holiday Inn Express again.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacoott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful compliments. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. If we can be of any assistance when making any future bookings please do contact us on 01242 548 200 where a member of our team will be happy to help.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    292
    125
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
209
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here through a Groupon offer so ended up paying only £35 for the night with breakfast which is an absolute bargain! On the advice of a previous reviewer we managed to find free parking a few minutes away from the hotel. You need to head left out of the hotel for the free parking. The receptionists were so friendly and helpful, some of the nicest I have ever met in a hotel. I met about 4 individuals and they were all as friendly as one another. You receive a number of discounts from the hotel in the brewery which is literally across the road where there are a number of well known restaurants. The location is great, only a few minutes walk from the town centre. The actual room was very basic, I'd say 3/5 but the service was 5/5 so overall I'd give this hotel 4/5.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not live up to expectations. However it is brilliant to hear that the staff are appreciated for all their hard work and I will forward your comments to the team. Our location is of great importance to us, and I am pleased to hear that you managed to make use of the discounts we have with the local restaurants.

Please feel free to call our friendly team to arrange your next stay on 01242 548 200.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Did a 2 night post christmas break.

Hotel is very well situated and currently you get 25% off car parking in next door ncp car park. Just ask for ticket at hotel reception.

Rooms are basic but clean & tidy. Our room overlooked main road but we were not bothered by road noise.

Staff are friendly. Breakfast was pretty good. The hot buffet was hot & fresh. Only criticism on breakfast was the bread rolls appeared a bit stale.

Great hotel if you want basics.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deanio1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. I am pleased to hear that you noticed the cleanliness of our rooms and that the traffic noise from the road did not disturb your stay. We take on board all of our guest feedback and I have passed your comments onto the breakfast team to ensure that we can continuously improve our breakfast offering to provide our guests with the best possible start for the day.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future. Please do contact us directly if we can be of any assistance.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Wanted somewhere in centre of Cheltenham, close to my daughter's. We pre booked our room fir Christmas Day night and took advantage of the 21 day super saver rate, 35 pounds for a twin bedded room, for two people including breakfast! Yes that's both of us for 35 pounds. I couldn't fault it. The room was clean, the beds comfy, two types of pillows and tea / coffee making facilities. Breakfast was self service but all tastes catered for, continental, cereals, yogurts, croissants and pan au chocolats, juices, toast and hot drinks. Hotel areas were spotless! Staff around were pleasant and helpful, particularly Asian girl and Eastern European lad on Reception - thank you both.

Would definitely stay again as best value for money hotel we've stayed in.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sharon2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express again soon.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I spent Christmas in Chletenham an stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas night the staff were extremely helpful, very friendly and also helped me with directions.
The rooms were clean and the housekeeping service also very helpful have me extra coffee and towels when I requested them.
Breakfast was fine for me but I can understand why people are disappointed with the cooked breakfast option. I like coffee and cereal so no complaints from me here.
I also ordered off the express menu and the food was good and made quickly and I was able to eat this in my room.
The location is excellent for the shops and also only a short drive away from nicer Cotswold villages like bourton-on-the-water etc.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Liblet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. It is great to hear that the team’s service and attention allowed you to fully enjoy your stay with us and that the hotel was a great central base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and I am pleased to announce we now offer a great discount across the road with Frankie and Benny’s should our guests want a greater choice of cooked breakfast.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for one night this weekend. We chose the hotel for location, as we were going out with friends and didn't want to drive. The hotel staff that we interacted with were very professional and personable. The hotel was clean, the room was clean (although bottom 6 inches of shower curtain was covered in soap scum and limescale) but quite dated. The breakfast was absolutely fine.

The very worst thing about this stay was the bed. It was the worst bed we've ever slept (loose term) in. I would like to invite the manager and their spouse or partner to try that bed for a night and see if they, a) get a good night's sleep, and b) need an osteopath in the morning. There was a huge dip in the middle and the bed was made out of marshmallow trampoline material. If I or my partner moved, the other one would bounce around like they were on a trampoline. Two days later I am still suffering with a sore back and I didn't have one before.

But as we only paid £64 for the night it may prove the adage you get what you pay for?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Julie T,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am glad you liked our convenient location as well as friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the sleeping accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

You know what your getting when you book this hotel. No gym or resturaunt, it is an express! Its position is perfect for a variety of cheep eateries, the cinema & gym, all directly across the road. The shops & excellent restaurants like the purslane are not far.They offer some fast food 24hrs in the hotel. The breakfast choice was adequate with fresh fruit also offered, although the coffee is not great. The hotel and room was well appointed, maintained & spotlessly clean, could have done with coffee & more sugar in the room but im sure the staff would have brought it if asked, as nothing was too much trouble for the friendly professional team here. The bed was fab, unfortunately we didnt sleep for the heat, which we later found we could have easily adjusted ourselves & the dreadful noise from air con unit outside. So look out of the window when allocated a room to check there is no machinery as the wonderful staff will move you. Thanks Lauren & Callum for your professionalism we will return but not to that room! Trac & Keith

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ghostworrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to notice the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff; I will pass on your kind words to our housekeeping and front desk team as they will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some issues in your room during your stay. Please be assured, our maintenance engineers have been notified and are working to ensure the issues you have raised can be addressed.

Please feel free to ring our friendly team direct on 01242 548 200 before booking your next stay so that we can ensure a quiet room, allowing you to fully enjoy your stay with us.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing