We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value, comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good value, comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel on a girlie Christmas shopping weekend.

Lovely clean, comfortable twin room. All good quality basics you would expect for a good value weekend away.

The hotel is situated at the 'value' end of town - which is absolutely fine for us... as we enjoy browsing the charity & pound shops on the 5-10 minute walk to the more 'boutique' end of Cheltenham.

There are a number of eateries just opposite the hotel - which was very convenient.

We enjoyed our stay - and can recommend it here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PotDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be an added bonus. We pride ourselves on being able to offer discounts at local restaurants and Housekeeping will be thrilled to hear that their efforts do not go unnoticed.

Feel free to give us a call on 01242 548 200 to arrange your next shopping trip. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    292
    125
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
209
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varde, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

stayed one night ,two rooms ,one double,one twin,excellent friendly service even though it was "mad friday" with a christmas party going on, rooms clean and adequate,our two sons had a top floor room with great view. Really good value for money.

Room Tip: good views from top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. The team will be pleased to hear that their efforts have been appreciated and you enjoyed your stay with us.

To guarantee a great view on your next stay, please feel free to contact a member of the team on 01242 548 200.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

One Holiday Inn Express is much the same as any other so you know what you are getting: everything is perfectly adequate but you ain't getting any soul or character. If you don't want that, then this is a good place to stay. This used to be the grittier end of Cheltenham but is now gentrified (look at the house prices!). Ten minutes walk gets you to the Promenade and the posh side, another ten minutes to the cafe-society of Montpelier. There is some street parking nearby but not much so you will probably need the NCP carpark.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel fell short of your expectations. Our team goes out of their way to recognize the reasons behind our guest’s stay with us in order to offer what we believe will optimise their experience and I’m sorry you found this was not the case on this occasion. The area around the hotel is currently undergoing regeneration which we hope will make the area more attractive to all our guests.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel to provide you with a stay that is truly memorable for all the right reasons.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but we were very impressed with this hotel.
Staff polite well turned out and we'll trained.
Room and bathroom very clean. With all you would expect coffee etc.
Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice and plenty of seating.
We'll placed for Central Cheltenham
Fast check in and out.
Parking near by.
We would use Holiday Inn Express again.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacoott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful compliments. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. If we can be of any assistance when making any future bookings please do contact us on 01242 548 200 where a member of our team will be happy to help.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here through a Groupon offer so ended up paying only £35 for the night with breakfast which is an absolute bargain! On the advice of a previous reviewer we managed to find free parking a few minutes away from the hotel. You need to head left out of the hotel for the free parking. The receptionists were so friendly and helpful, some of the nicest I have ever met in a hotel. I met about 4 individuals and they were all as friendly as one another. You receive a number of discounts from the hotel in the brewery which is literally across the road where there are a number of well known restaurants. The location is great, only a few minutes walk from the town centre. The actual room was very basic, I'd say 3/5 but the service was 5/5 so overall I'd give this hotel 4/5.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not live up to expectations. However it is brilliant to hear that the staff are appreciated for all their hard work and I will forward your comments to the team. Our location is of great importance to us, and I am pleased to hear that you managed to make use of the discounts we have with the local restaurants.

Please feel free to call our friendly team to arrange your next stay on 01242 548 200.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Did a 2 night post christmas break.

Hotel is very well situated and currently you get 25% off car parking in next door ncp car park. Just ask for ticket at hotel reception.

Rooms are basic but clean & tidy. Our room overlooked main road but we were not bothered by road noise.

Staff are friendly. Breakfast was pretty good. The hot buffet was hot & fresh. Only criticism on breakfast was the bread rolls appeared a bit stale.

Great hotel if you want basics.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deanio1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. I am pleased to hear that you noticed the cleanliness of our rooms and that the traffic noise from the road did not disturb your stay. We take on board all of our guest feedback and I have passed your comments onto the breakfast team to ensure that we can continuously improve our breakfast offering to provide our guests with the best possible start for the day.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future. Please do contact us directly if we can be of any assistance.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Wanted somewhere in centre of Cheltenham, close to my daughter's. We pre booked our room fir Christmas Day night and took advantage of the 21 day super saver rate, 35 pounds for a twin bedded room, for two people including breakfast! Yes that's both of us for 35 pounds. I couldn't fault it. The room was clean, the beds comfy, two types of pillows and tea / coffee making facilities. Breakfast was self service but all tastes catered for, continental, cereals, yogurts, croissants and pan au chocolats, juices, toast and hot drinks. Hotel areas were spotless! Staff around were pleasant and helpful, particularly Asian girl and Eastern European lad on Reception - thank you both.

Would definitely stay again as best value for money hotel we've stayed in.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sharon2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express again soon.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing