We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Statyed here in January as were visiting Gloucester for a rugby game. Very enjoyable stay, rooms were nice, breakfast was varied and tasty, staff were friendly.

Our hotel was very central to everything in Cheltenham and we had lots of nice restaurants on our doorstep, unfortunately we were overcharged by quite a bit on our bar bill, after we returned home, but thankfully got it sorted eventually.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location was of benefit to you. It is my pleasure to pass your kind comments on to the team.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your bill and I am happy to see that this has been resolved for you and I apologised for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon and would be more than happy to assist with any future bookings personally.
Please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book with us directly for your next trip to Cheltenham.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    299
    126
    23
    14
See reviews for
122
214
29
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed one night in January and it was just as good as on previous visits....functional, clean, no-frills with a ( stick with the continental options!) breakfast thrown in at an excellent price. This is a genuinely well-staffed hotel...they are polite, helpful and eager to please. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

At the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham we strive to maintain a high standard in all aspects whilst keeping things simple, smart and spot on for our guests, and it is wonderful to hear that we have achieved this in your recent stay.

We do offer a free continental breakfast with sausages, baked beans and scrambled egg which we are continuously looking to improve and your feedback on this has been passed on to the breakfast team.

I am delighted to pass your kind words on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200, to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in great location for exploring the town and its bars, shops and restaurants. The hotel is modern and clean, with the accompanying service being helpful without being intrusive. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sboy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback.

It is wonderful to see that our central location was ideal for your visit to Cheltenham and that you received the high standards that we endeavour to maintain, both in cleanliness and service.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, please contact a member of the team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends after Cheltenham Races as an alternative to our usual venue of the past decade. Hotel spotlessly clean, and rooms basic but functional. Nice bar in the hotel open all hours. Didn't try the breakfast but the menu looked fine.
Real advantage is the location, with shops, bars and restaurants on the doorstep and approx 20 minutes walk from the Racecourse. Will stay here again for sure. Whilst more pricey than other budget hotels, the relative centrality and the hotel bar are worth the premium.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynicalginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear cynicalginge,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value and accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the high scores for Cleanliness, Service, and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Having stayed at other branches of Holiday Inn, this was my first time at Cheltenham. one nights stay for a training course.
The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, bed linen fresh and bed comfortable.
Good breakfast menu.
There's an additional menu to order at the bar.
There's a 24 hour reception. Nothing was too much trouble

Cheltenham Holiday Inn, didn't disappoint. Location is in easy access to the local High Street.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Court yard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that, as a you are a regular guest to IHG hotels, we did not disappoint in providing you with a simple, smart and spot-on experience. I hope that you will enroll to our IHG rewards scheme, to collect points for your stays and return to IHG hotels in the future.

I have passed your kind comments on to the team and we would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel. Please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com and we would be happy to assist personally with your next booking.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have stayed here before, and the room you get must be the luck of the draw. The room although still on the small size was in better condition than the last one, although a new lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.

Seemed to be a lot of road noise, but the room was on the front of the hotel.

Staff pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Not on the main road, can here drunks and traffic. not sure if they have quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. The hotel rooms are currently undergoing rejuvenation and your comments about the room has been noted and passed onto Maintenance. The staff will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been acknowledged as pride ourselves on the helpfulness and friendliness of our team.

Please do not hesitate to contact our front desk team today on 01242 548200 and request a courtyard facing bedroom to avoid street noise disturbances
.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed in the Holiday inn Cheltenham for the second time. The hotel is very comfortable, the rooms clean, staff all very friendly. The best thing about the hotel is it's location as it was just across the road from " The Brewery" which has lot's of restaurants and a Fitness first gym ( which you can use for free if staying at the hotel).
The hotel does not have it's own car park so I had to use the nearby NCP car park ( you get a slight discount if staying at the hotel) but it is still expensive ( about £9 a night). you can get a ticket which lasts for 3 days which is better value , but is not advertised in the car park ! The hotel supplies a complimentary breakfast which is adequate (a basic continental with scrambled eggs and sausages). I would recommend this hotel for business purposes but not really for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyregent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found the location to be such a bonus, and taking advantage of our deals with local restaurants and Fitness First. I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of our rooms and the team will be elated to hear that.

If we can welcome you back to the hotel, feel free to call us on 01242 548 200 and a member of the team will be happy to assist you.

Many thanks,

Lucy Hartnell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing