We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Small, but comfy rooms, lovely, friendly hotel staff, free fast wifi and yummy breakfast. Right in the heart of the city, so close to shops and eateries. There is no parking, but a large parking block next door and a discount is given. We have really enjoyed our stay and would recommend as worthy budget accommodation. A great start to our overseas holiday. :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Gina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.
Please contact a member of our team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to make your next booking with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    301
    127
    23
    14
See reviews for
122
215
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, typically holiday inn express, very clean and organised, staff really helpful to help with taxis or holding luggage etc. special mention to the lady on reception who tirelessly organised cabs for people and ensured they got into the right cabs. As it was Cheltenham festival week it was extremely busy but this shouldn't be an excuse for a bad breakfast, this free breakfast nonsense is a joke, if it was free I would seriously be questioning the price of the rooms. The continental side is good but the cooked bacon was dreadful, the toaster didn't work properly and there was no sausages, the scrambled egg was more like a rubber pud! Take my advice and go to frankie and bennies for breakfast over the road!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience. I am glad you like our helpful hotel staff and great rooms. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the breakfast selection not being at par with your expectations. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have stayed here for the last 5 years for the festival. They really do look after there regular customers they rang a few days before to check if we need the sofa bed making up i replied no but requested if we could have the same room as last year, to my surprise i was informed that I had already been allocated it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasb972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

As a regular guest to our hotel, you are important to us and I hope that you continue to have an enjoyable experience when you stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great Gold Cup Races next year!

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I often stayed in this hotel over a period of 6-7 years due to business reasons. I can't say the hotel is poor or offering bad service, but it's just featureless. Only for sleep over with absolutely no offer on its premises. It is often used for some short business gatherings and meetings as it is equipped with 2 meeting rooms- small, though.

The weakest side of this hotel is breakfast offer. Though the hotel evolved in breakfast provision over the years, it is still this dull experience you have each morning you enter the breakfast room.
The other weak point is exceptionally high price for internet.

In general, it's not the end of the world, but could be much much better.

Getting there from Heathrow airport is most convenient by bus (National Express Service is great and the buses are running each day very frequently). It takes up to 3 hours to get from Heathrow bus terminal to the central bus station in Cheltenham. This station is very close to the hotel - even if there's no taxies available, you can still make it on foot in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with street view on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear IvanaDJ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night in March in a double room. Good points: Reception very helpful and friendly and hotel and room very clean and tidy and location was great, right in the centre. Breakfast was good. Not so good points: Bed was really uncomfortable, hotel corridor was very noisy at night through to 3.30am with lots of returning parties. No comfortable chair in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Chippy2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

please to say that I stayed here on business again last week, and it was great - the staff were super friendly and helpful, and the room was again clean and well appointed - for a budget hotel of course.

Will definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herbifoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, once again.

I am delighted that you returned to our hotel and experienced the high standards that we continuously strive to achieve.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future, please contact a member of our team on 01242 548 200 and we will be happy to assist with your bookings personally.

Kind Regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Statyed here in January as were visiting Gloucester for a rugby game. Very enjoyable stay, rooms were nice, breakfast was varied and tasty, staff were friendly.

Our hotel was very central to everything in Cheltenham and we had lots of nice restaurants on our doorstep, unfortunately we were overcharged by quite a bit on our bar bill, after we returned home, but thankfully got it sorted eventually.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eithne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location was of benefit to you. It is my pleasure to pass your kind comments on to the team.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your bill and I am happy to see that this has been resolved for you and I apologised for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon and would be more than happy to assist with any future bookings personally.
Please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book with us directly for your next trip to Cheltenham.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing