We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 24 March 2014

On arrival we were greated by a young lad who was very welcoming and full of information whether it was a restaurant recomendation, the best pubs, bars and clubs to go to and things to see and do during our stay in Cheltenham. Very impressed with the staff at the hotel and this includes the breakfast staff.
Rooms fine and kept very clean. Location was spot on- accross the road you have Nandos, F&Bs, Prezzo, Apres, a cinema and a gym. The hotel is a 5 min walk to the high street.
Breakfast was good, food kept warm and you help your self.

We would return without a doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte23512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to be able to pass on your kind words to the front of house, housekeeping, and breakfast teams.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again soon, please contact a member of the team on 01242 548 200 and we would be happy to assist with your booking personally.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Good location, free street parking behind the hotel but check not in restricted area. Good rooms, small and basic but clean. Had few teenagers staying with rugby team but reception dealt with our concerns straight away. Excellent self serve breakfast. Would recommend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for takign the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you had concerns during your stay regarding a rugby team, but it is great to see that the front of house team resolved this for you quickly, and I am overjoyed to be able to pass your feedback on to both the reception and breakfast teams.

We hope to have the oppportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, for a concern-free stay and would be more than happy to deal with your booking personally. Please contact us on 01242 548 200, to make your next reservation with us personally.

Kind Regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here with friends. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful, remarkably so.
Hotel is in a great location, next to an NCP car park which is handily discounted.
Breakfast was nothing special but included in a v reasonable price and was varied so we were impressed in that respect.
Would definitely stay again and thank you to the superb, cheerful staff stuck inside on a very sunny warm spring weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to be able to pass on your kind words to the front of house team.

As a Holiday Inn Express we offer a free continental buffet with sausages, baked beans and scrambled egg, which we are continuously working to improve. We do also have a discount with Frankie & Benny's which entitles our guests to a full english breakfast for just £4.00, which you might like to try should you return to our hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind Regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Small, but comfy rooms, lovely, friendly hotel staff, free fast wifi and yummy breakfast. Right in the heart of the city, so close to shops and eateries. There is no parking, but a large parking block next door and a discount is given. We have really enjoyed our stay and would recommend as worthy budget accommodation. A great start to our overseas holiday. :)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Gina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.
Please contact a member of our team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to make your next booking with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice hotel, typically holiday inn express, very clean and organised, staff really helpful to help with taxis or holding luggage etc. special mention to the lady on reception who tirelessly organised cabs for people and ensured they got into the right cabs. As it was Cheltenham festival week it was extremely busy but this shouldn't be an excuse for a bad breakfast, this free breakfast nonsense is a joke, if it was free I would seriously be questioning the price of the rooms. The continental side is good but the cooked bacon was dreadful, the toaster didn't work properly and there was no sausages, the scrambled egg was more like a rubber pud! Take my advice and go to frankie and bennies for breakfast over the road!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience. I am glad you like our helpful hotel staff and great rooms. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the breakfast selection not being at par with your expectations. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have stayed here for the last 5 years for the festival. They really do look after there regular customers they rang a few days before to check if we need the sofa bed making up i replied no but requested if we could have the same room as last year, to my surprise i was informed that I had already been allocated it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasb972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

As a regular guest to our hotel, you are important to us and I hope that you continue to have an enjoyable experience when you stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great Gold Cup Races next year!

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I often stayed in this hotel over a period of 6-7 years due to business reasons. I can't say the hotel is poor or offering bad service, but it's just featureless. Only for sleep over with absolutely no offer on its premises. It is often used for some short business gatherings and meetings as it is equipped with 2 meeting rooms- small, though.

The weakest side of this hotel is breakfast offer. Though the hotel evolved in breakfast provision over the years, it is still this dull experience you have each morning you enter the breakfast room.
The other weak point is exceptionally high price for internet.

In general, it's not the end of the world, but could be much much better.

Getting there from Heathrow airport is most convenient by bus (National Express Service is great and the buses are running each day very frequently). It takes up to 3 hours to get from Heathrow bus terminal to the central bus station in Cheltenham. This station is very close to the hotel - even if there's no taxies available, you can still make it on foot in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with street view on lower floors
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear IvanaDJ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing