We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice, good location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Road side rooms are very loud. Breakfast was nice rather than trying to go out. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great location. Bar area in evening was nice too versus going out. Computer and printer in lobby also extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Room, bed and pillows very comfortable. Request room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear LHC111,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the level of noise from the road was high and i apologise for any disturbance this may have caused.

It is great to hear that our central location, bar and internet facilities were of benefit to you during your stay and I have passed your kind comments on to the teams.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 to book your next stay with us directly so that we can ensure you get a quiet room and a good nights' sleep.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    299
    126
    23
    14
See reviews for
122
214
29
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent there 8 nights with family.
The room was not so big, but enough to arrange four of us quite confortably.
The location is very good: close to city center within a walking distance from everything in Cheltenham.
The staff at the reception is very friendly and supportive 24 hours a day.
The breakfast is good, although bacon is missing, with many different alternatives of quite good quality. And it is included in the price of your room.

It is absolutely the right place to stay when you're in Cheltenham, either for business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Alessandro,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

As a Holiday Inn Express we offer a free continental buffet with options such as Kelloggs cereals, sausages, Heinz baked beans and scrambled egg. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the absense of bacon, and have passed this on to the necessary team.

It is fantastic to hear that our central location was of benefit to you and the front of house team provided you with the high level of service we pride ourselves on.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact a member of our friendly team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Quite possibly the worst breakfast we've ever had in a hotel. It was neither full english or continental. The only hot (or luke-warm) choices were crappy sausages, scrambled egg (well I think it was) and beans. The hot cabinet was half-empty due to the lack of choice. There were no cold meats or cheeses to help the situation, and the "fresh" croissants were stale.

On a brighter note, the staff are friendly, but we definitely won't be staying again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us, I assure you your feedback is important to us as we are continuously looking to improve in all aspects.

I am very sorry to hear that, on this occasion, our breakfast did not meet your expectations.

As a Holiday Inn Express we do offer a free continental buffet with scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. Which, in response to feedback from our guests, we have invested in higher quality products such as Heinz Baked Beans and Kelloggs cereals to improve the breakfast experience, and an exclusive discount at Frankie & Benny's which entitles our guests to a Full English breakfast for £4.00.

I have passed your feedback on to the relevant teams and we hope you will return to our hotel, so that we can provide you with a stay that meets all your expectations.
Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 and it would be our pleasure to assist personally with your booking.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Firstly, ALL staff that we had contact with were friendly.
Room was adequate.
Breakfast - Feeding time at the zoo!
Looked at the buffet breakfast - a mix of small and jumbo sausages that looked pale - SLOPPY baked beans, scrambled egg. Not a slice of bacon, bit of tomato to be seen.
Pastries are served from the old style food dispensers akin to the old motorway services.
Didn't enjoy the breakfast experience at all.
Kids running around and even a lady walked past her husband (carrying a plate full of food) saying "that looks disgusting")
At this point we left and ate elsewhere.
£67 for the room and breakfast can't be sniffed at I guess BUT expected more from a Holiday Inn to be honest.
Will not return to THIS or any other Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discodown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. At the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham we are continuously striving to improve in all aspects and your feedback is important to us.

As a Holiday Inn Express we offer a free continental buffet with scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion our breakfast did not meet your expectations.
We have a discount at Frankie & Benny's which entitles our guests to a Full English breakfast for £4.00, which might be more appealing to you.

I am very happy to hear the team provided you with the friendly service we pride ourselves on and I have passed your feedback on to the relevant teams.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel again, to provide you with a stay that meets all your expectations. Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 to book your next stay with us personally.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the holiday inn Cheltenham rooms are very good breakfast good location very good close to all shops bars and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpfully would stay here again when visiting Cheltenham would recommend this holiday inn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It is great to hear that our central location was convenient for your visit to Cheltenham, and I am delighted to pass your kind comments on to the team.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel again soon and would be more than happy to assist personally with your next booking. Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200, to make your next booking with us directly.

kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay, very warm welcome from the staff, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast included in the price was more than adequate. Ignore the bad reviews on the breakfast, I'm fussy what I eat and they had plenty of choice. Ok scrambled egg, bacon and sausage every morning may not be your taste but it's included in most room prices I believe.
Room very clean and spacious, great location just across th road from the converted Brewery with lots of eating and drinking chains. 5 mins walk to the main shopping centre too.
Drinks a little pricey in the hotel bar and the snacks pricey but that's what you would expect.
Overall great place and yes, we will stay again if in the area without a doubt

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairabell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Clairabell71,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our free breakfast buffet provided you with a great start to your day.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again soon, please contact a member of the team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to make your next booking directly with us.


Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great location, many restaurants, stores and bars within short walking distance from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Staying at this hotel also gives you free access to the gym across the street, which is one of the best gyms I've ever been to. It has a large salt water pool and two floors of weights and equipment not forgetting that all classes they offer are free of charge. Well worth a visit. The biggest issue with this hotel is the internet access; not only the connection is very slow but each device you use needs a separate login that always expire well before you check out and every time it does, you need to go down to the reception and ask for a new login. In addition, on several occasions, I had to disconnect and reset the router to recover some sort of connection. Finally, the breakfast is well below average unless you're into scrambled liquid eggs and canned fruits. However, despite the internet and breakfast issues it is still a great hotel to stay in should you visit Cheltenham.

Room Tip: All rooms rooms are the same but the corner rooms have one extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Marcin1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. At the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham we are continuously striving to improve and all feedback is important to us.

I am very happy to see you received the high standard of service and cleanliness that we always aim to achieve, and it is great to hear that you made use of our free entry to the Fitness First gym.

We are endlessly looking to make improvements, to make our guests' stay an enjoyable one, and I have passed your feedback on to the relevant teams.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact us directly at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next visit to Cheltenham with us.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
0.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing