We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel - great staff - great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Arrived without luggage unexpectedly. Staff extremely helpful and polite.
fine room - spotlessly clean - everything working.
Breakfast more than expected.
Altogether a fine stay - Thanks to all.the nice people especially front office.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Andy B,

Thank you for taking the time to convey such kind comments.

I am delighted to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations and it is my pleasure to pass your feedback I to the team in our next meeting.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Please contact us on 01242 548 20" to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were really pleased with the location - right in the centre if Cheltenham and 2 mins walk from the cinema and a selection of restaurants. 25% discount on the NCP parking, restaurant discounts and free wifi were all welcomed! Staff were all very friendly and helpful at all times. My only negative was the very limited selection of cooked breakfast and the fact the scrambled egg was cold and tasteless but other than that it was brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Devongirl28,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

As a Holiday Inn Express we offer a free continental buffet with sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. In response to guest feedback we have brought in higher quality products such as Heinz baked beans and Kelloggs cereals, and as we continue to look for ways to improve our breakfast your feedback on this is much appreciated.

I am delighted to hear that our exclusive discounts with local restaurants and the NCP car park were of benefit to you during your visit to Cheltenham and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and would be happy to assist personally with your next booking, please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable base while visiting Cheltenham then this is a very good choice. It offers extremely good value for money and the staff make sure that you feel welcome and are very happy to help in any way. The rooms are rather lacking in character which is expected from a large chain, but have everything that you need and are very comfortable.
There is a good bar and since our last stay they have improved the quality of the breakfast on offer which is very adequate and even has extremely good croissants. ( better jam would be appreciated, but for the price there is nothing to complain about!)
Its in easy walking distance of the beautiful town and we will continue to stay here whan we visit Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hembury_Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey such positive feedback.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you received the high level of service that we pride ourselves on and it is my pleasure to pass your kind comments on to the team at our next meeting.

At the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, we are continuously striving to improve in all aspects and I am glad to hear that the recent improvements we have made to our breakfast have provided you with a great start to your day.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This pleasant surprise was within walking distance to the buses,shopping and pups! The staff were very accommodating and virtually acted as tour guides and provided much info. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Breakfasts were good and plentiful with fresh fruit. Rooms were very clean and although not super large, were great for tourists. Our stay was certainly enhanced by the wonderful staff and we would stay there again. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahabcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Ahabcat,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our central location was of benefit to you. It is my pleasure to pass your kind comments on to the front of house team and thrilled to hear you received the high standard of service that we strive to achieve and maintain.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel and would be more than happy to assist personally with your next booking. Please contact a member of the team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Road side rooms are very loud. Breakfast was nice rather than trying to go out. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great location. Bar area in evening was nice too versus going out. Computer and printer in lobby also extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Room, bed and pillows very comfortable. Request room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear LHC111,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the level of noise from the road was high and i apologise for any disturbance this may have caused.

It is great to hear that our central location, bar and internet facilities were of benefit to you during your stay and I have passed your kind comments on to the teams.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 to book your next stay with us directly so that we can ensure you get a quiet room and a good nights' sleep.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent there 8 nights with family.
The room was not so big, but enough to arrange four of us quite confortably.
The location is very good: close to city center within a walking distance from everything in Cheltenham.
The staff at the reception is very friendly and supportive 24 hours a day.
The breakfast is good, although bacon is missing, with many different alternatives of quite good quality. And it is included in the price of your room.

It is absolutely the right place to stay when you're in Cheltenham, either for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Alessandro,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

As a Holiday Inn Express we offer a free continental buffet with options such as Kelloggs cereals, sausages, Heinz baked beans and scrambled egg. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the absense of bacon, and have passed this on to the necessary team.

It is fantastic to hear that our central location was of benefit to you and the front of house team provided you with the high level of service we pride ourselves on.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel, please contact a member of our friendly team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Quite possibly the worst breakfast we've ever had in a hotel. It was neither full english or continental. The only hot (or luke-warm) choices were crappy sausages, scrambled egg (well I think it was) and beans. The hot cabinet was half-empty due to the lack of choice. There were no cold meats or cheeses to help the situation, and the "fresh" croissants were stale.

On a brighter note, the staff are friendly, but we definitely won't be staying again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us, I assure you your feedback is important to us as we are continuously looking to improve in all aspects.

I am very sorry to hear that, on this occasion, our breakfast did not meet your expectations.

As a Holiday Inn Express we do offer a free continental buffet with scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. Which, in response to feedback from our guests, we have invested in higher quality products such as Heinz Baked Beans and Kelloggs cereals to improve the breakfast experience, and an exclusive discount at Frankie & Benny's which entitles our guests to a Full English breakfast for £4.00.

I have passed your feedback on to the relevant teams and we hope you will return to our hotel, so that we can provide you with a stay that meets all your expectations.
Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 and it would be our pleasure to assist personally with your booking.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.3 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing