We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After reading many TripAdvisor reviews I was afraid!!
However, I needn't have worried.
We were in room 160. First floor. The room was clean and tidy. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. Hair dryer. The shower was amazingly good. Shower gel provided. Liquid soap provided at the sink area. Plenty of towels. We had a double bed, really comfortable, the only niggle was that the quilt was literally as big as the bed, two inches overlap at the most but we managed. We had some issues with the a/c the first night but were told that the rooms didn't have a/c just "air recyclers"?? Funnily enough, on the second night the "air recycler" chilled the room enough for me to feel cold. Breakfast buffet, Scrambled eggs, sausage, baked beans. Plus various baked goods, croissants, Danish pastries, fresh rolls, sliced bread for toasting. A huge choice of fresh fruit, various cereals, yoghurt, Tea, coffee of various designs, and a choice of juice. Seriously, I have no clue what the other reviewers were complaining about! The bar and reception were open 24/7 pity them, we were there for a ukulele festival and those sessions went on until the wee small hours!!

Room Tip: Our room 160 was over looking the delivery area. because of the issues with the a/c our window was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Fionat29,

Thank you for taking the time to convey such positive feedback!

I am thirlled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a Holiday Inn Express, we aim to provide our guests with an experience which is Simple, Smart and Spot-on to their needs, and I am absolutely delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectations in achieving this.

It is my pleasure to pass your kind comments on to the Front of house, Housekeeping and Breakfast teams at our next meeting.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 and we would be happy to assist personally with your next booking.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Sunday 29 June. Really helpful receptionist and sparkling clean hotel and room. Two things
1) parking is incredibly expensive
2) continental as the only choice is crap
These aside, very comfortable and recommend for a night. On the rough side of town so don't expect a classy walk

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gshaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Gshaneg,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that, on this occasion, our breakfast did not meet your expectations. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer a continental buffet with sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs. In response to previous guest feedback we have introduced higher quality products such as Heinz baked beans and we are continuously looking to make improvements.

I am very happy to pass your kind comments on to the housekeeping and front of house teams. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon, please contact a member of our friendly team at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is typical of the Holiday Inn Expresses in Britain: nothing fancy, but clean. The last time we were here we complained about the A/C and expensive WiFi access. This time the A/C actually worked, and the WiFi was free. Another reviewer had A/C problems, but it worked fine in our room.
Parking: I was unable to find anything about parking on the hotel web page. Parking is available at the NCP lot across the street with an entrance on Monson Ave. Each time you leave the lot you have to get a discount card from the hotel for 25% off. It works out to cost 9 pounds per day. Permits are required to park on the streets near the hotel during the day, and we were unable to find any parking in the evening, so the parking lot is the only real option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murrieta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Murrieta1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you returned to our hotel, for a stay that met your expectations. We value all guest feedback as it is our most valuable resource for us to make the necessary improvements to provide all our guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Please contact a member of our friendly team on 01242 548 200 to book you next stay and we would be more than happy to assist perosnally.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really pleasant staff, very clean and comfortable room and shower was excellent. Air con wasn't noisy as in some places I've stayed. 'No frills' breakfast catering for all tastes which was perfectly adequate although I would advise giving the scrambled eggs a miss! Centrally situated near shops, restaurants, etc. I'd definitely stay there again. Shame there wasn't a wardrobe as bit more hanging space for clothes would have been nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlyblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Berlyblo,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your positive feedback.

I would like to thank you for your feedback on the breakfast as we are continuously looking for ways we can improve all aspects of our hotel and I have passed this on to the Breakfast team.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our central location was of benefit to your visit to Cheltenham. I am thrilled to pass your comments on to the Front of house and Housekeeping teams at our next meeting.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Positive: friendly staff, free and fast wifi, reasonable price, clean, room facing courtyard was quite, had air condition, central location
Negative: bed was a bit hard, no free parking, limited choice for breakfast albeit included in price of room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank AZ_007_131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear AZ_007_131,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that, on this occasion, our free breakfast did not meet your expectations. At the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, we are continuously looking to make improvements and I would like to thank you for your feedback as it is our best resource as we endeavour to meet our guests' needs.

I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable bedroom experience and that you received the high level of friendly service that we pride ourselves on.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel, for a stay that meets all your expectations. Please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com and we would be happy to assist personally with your next booking.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you usually stay at Holiday Inn's the first thing that'll strike you about an "Express" is the absence in your room of the umpteen potions and lotions designed to aid sleep... that and the price.

To be honest I was impressed, I'd assumed that the expresses would be more like motels than hotels but in terms of the quality of the rooms, the foyer, bar and breakfast there was little or no difference. This particular Express is lovely and clean, well designed with well looked after and arranged rooms. The staff are friendly and, whilst there is a car park near by, if you arrive later in the evening (after 6 as I recall) you can park opposite the hotel for free.

If you are visiting the town the location is pretty close to ideal and there are some nice pubs and restaurants within walking distance - the Frog and Fiddle was rather nice.

The only downside was that my room was above the main Swindon Rd and I found it a little noisy, but then I am a bit of a country bumpkin these days and anything straying away from utter silence tends to keep me awake.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Swindon Rd side (south side) are a bit noisy so try to get a room on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 June 2014

Dear Andy B,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel exceeded your expectations. at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, we strive to achieve and maintain a high standard in all aspects whilst keeping things simple and smart.

I am sorry to hear that, on this occasion, road noise was disruptive to your sleep. However, I am delighted to pass your kind comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Please contact us on 01242 548 200 to book your next stay with us directly, and we will be sure to allocate you a quiet room that meets all your expectations.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Holiday inn Express in good location however rooms extremely small. Very warm and stuffy in rooms and if you face the street it is too noisy to open the window. Breakfast okay. Friendly staff. Parking is nearby and convenient. Restaurants close by.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HarrisBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 June 2014

Dear HarrisBH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that, on this occasion in the summer heat, your bedroom experience did not meet the expected level of comfort. I would like to thank you for your feedback on this, as all feedback is our best resource for improvement, and assure you that I have passed this on to the maintenance team to review.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel, for a stay that meets all your expectations, please contact us at reservations@hiexcheltenham.com to book your next stay with us directly.

Kind regards,

Jessica Parrish
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £55 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing