We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality holiday inn express - clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High quality holiday inn express - clean and quiet”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2010. The hotel is a good example of a holiday inn express - very new and modern. All areas of the hotel were spotless and there was no noise at night either despite the central location. I did ask for a quiet room though which was at the back of the hotel.
Although parking isn't included, it only costs about £5 for 24 hours right next door in a very secure NCP so it wasn't a problem.
The hotel is pretty much in the middle of town. Its maybe a 15 minute walk to the nicer parts of town such as montpellier but this was fine. It is a huge amount cheaper than most other Cheltenham hotels and is absolutely great. breakfast is included in your room price and there's lots of lovely cereal, toast, pastries, yoghurt and then some ropey looking scrambled egg and sausage. I steered clear of the hot food options and stuck with the cold and it was lovely.
All in all i would really recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying again if i get to visit Cheltenham again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_1_Derbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, as it is our full intention to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay. All feedback is taken very seriously and used to improve our services in the future.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Hiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    301
    127
    23
    14
See reviews for
122
215
29
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I want to share our very good experience while staying at Holiday Inn Express in Cheltenham. My husband and I were both extremely happy with this hotel for the following reasons. The location is centralized and provides easy walking distance to surrounding shopping areas, parks, the library and tourist sites such as the pumping station. There are a number of good restaurants close by which are reasonably priced. Also, there is a parking garage located across the street. Enterprise car rental (another great service provider for us) is within walking distance. The hotel has elevator service which was essential for our heavy luggage, SKY sports channel, and a breakfast included in the daily rate. The hotel staff is very courteous and accommodating to guests. Another plus -- the hotel is close to the National Express coach station and service from London Heathrow is readily available. Cheltenham is an excellent base from which to tour the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaSandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 15 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Cheltenham Town Centre for your recent accommodation requirements, and for completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is with great pleasure hearing your positive comments and that we meet your expectations during your stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure inviting you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours,
Jason Hiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I booked a room here for a Saturday night, the hotel was almost full so we had to settle for a twin room, a double was available, but only the smoking floor. The hotel is of the quality you expect from a Holiday Inn. It was clean and the staff were friendly. Car parking is in the NCP direclty opposite the hotel and costs about £5:40 for 24 hours which I thought was very reasonable for a town centre.
We used this hotel as a base for visiting the Michelin Le Champignon Sauvage Restaurant which is fantastic if you are into fine dining. This was a £7 cab ride away.
Overall this hotel provides a convenient base from which to visit Cheltenham and while the breakfast won't win any awards it was satisfactory and included in the £89 room rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is always a pleasure to hear to that our valued guests have had a comfortable stay. It is our intention to ensure all of our guests receive the best possible standards and all feedback is very useful in improving our services.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Jason Hiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This was my first visit to a Holiday Inn Express. I am aware that it is a budget/no frills chain, however when my booking was quoted at an average of £94.50 per night for a 4 night stay, I naively assumed that it would be more akin to a 4-star hotel.

How wrong I was. The room was sparsely furnished with no wardrobe or drawer space. I had to pack my things away every night because I didn't want to leave them out in the open. I also felt nervous leaving an expensive business suit/luggage lying around.

To give HIE their due, I did get switched from a twin to a double room when I complained, but my main issue was the huge mismatch between the rate I was paying and the amenities on offer. This was apparently out of their control and nothing could be done.

At half the price, I would have been perfectly happy. But surely HIE can see that charging almost £100 per night for a no-frills hotel is going to cause people to feel cheated and aggrieved? I do not have anything against this chain per se, but I strongly believe that they should be setting a cap on their rates. There is no way people should be paying £100 for this level of service on offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre for your recent accommodation requirements, and also for taking the time in completing this Trip Advisor Review.

It is with great regret and disappointment to hear you found our rates misleading, however you may appreciate the average rate of £94.50 was quoted and agreed by yourself at the time of booking. Moreover each hotel will be priced to the market and its demand. Prices will be tiered, to the same principle as airlines, car rental and other transportation and travel companies.

In relation to the “cap” of prices, this is very much dictated by the competitors and of course consumers. I believe you had a conversation with my Duty Manager, who assisted you with your questions regarding the pricing strategy.

Notwithstanding the above, your comments have been discussed with-in our revenue committee, of which please be assured, they have been taken on board.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me, should you wish to discuss your experiences in further detail.

Yours
Jason Hiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

You can't really complain about too much when a room for 4 people costs 47pounds. Everything was absolutely fine, air conditioning slightly noisy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is always a pleasure to hear to that our valued guests have had a comfortable stay. It is our intention to ensure all of our guests receive the best possible standards and all feedback is very useful in improving our services.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Jason Hiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My partner and I arrived late at the hotel after a long journey. The hotel had everthing ready for us, because we're priority club members we got a quick check in and a complimentary movie voucher to use during our stay. The gentleman checking us in was so friendly and welcoming it made our arrival so much better after being stuck in traffic all night.

When we got to our room we were surprised to see so many amenities available for us. There were loads of satellite channels and good selection of movies to choose from, as well as a nice clean room which was just what we needed after such a long day.

The breakfast was really good and complimentary! Everything was well presented and the hot breakfast was nice. All the restaurant staff were really helpful finding us a table and helping us get the buffet. The hotel also provides great discounts in the town centre so we saved some money eating out for lunch and dinner. The reception staff gave us a map and gave us some good recomendations in the town centre, they even found some information on stuff for us to do at night which made our weekend so much better.

By the time we left we were much more refreshed and the staff really made our stay. Would definately reccomend ths hotel to anyone staying in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaRoseFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is always a pleasure to hear to that our valued guests have had a comfortable stay. It is our intention to ensure all of our guests receive the best possible standards and all feedback is very useful in improving our services.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Jason Hiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The first night of our three nights stay at this hotel had a problem early hours of the morning with very noisy guests to be fair didnt ring down to reception which we should of done put a complaint in when we went down for breakfast and they were very apoligetic about it cant fault this hotel good location rooms good even the breakfast was fine for the price you pay you are not going to get an outstanding hotel i must praise all the staff very polite and friendly the location is great and the rooms are modern and clean we used this hotel as a base so we could travel around so spent very lttle time in the hotel now the question is would we stay there again yes we would for the price overall good value hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie1girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is with great disappointment that on this occasion, your stay with us was affected by other guests. Please be assured that we will continue to take all reasonable measures to prevent this, as it is our full intention to ensure all of our guests receive a comfortable stay.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Jason Hiley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing