We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I stayed here with my elderly mother. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the main shopping area. The hotel is very well kept, well run , clean and spacious. The room was extremely comfortable and spacious . The complimentary buffet breakfast, although basic, was a big plus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed here for one night as we were going to see a comedian at the Town Hall. Got a very good non-refundable rate.
Check in was very quick and the staff were very pleasant, gave us a list of restaurants and bars where we could get hotel discount and also gave us a map of Cheltenham (don't experience this type of service at some 4* hotels we've stayed at in the UK).
Room was just as expected, usual Holiday Inn Express, spotlessly clean, bathroom is great, love the nightlight and really good shower. Also nice to have a decent reading light by the bed thats not so bright it keeps everyone else awake!
The hotel is in a great location for shopping and eating out, we will definately stay here again simply because its so clean, the staff are polite and friendly and its location is perfect.
Breakfast was very good, being included in the price, there was plenty of choice and everything was fresh and constantly being re-stocked.
My only complaint would be that there were people coming down to breakfast who were in their pyjamas! Im not sure when it became ok to go to breakfast in a hotel in your pyjamas but I thought it was pretty shameless, maybe the hotel could point out that guests should dress for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MossyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The hotel is in a great location to walk to town center, high street, the central coach station, and the promenade. If you are going to take the train out for any day trips, I suggest calling a taxi--it's about a 40 minute walk. The front desk staff was very helpful, polite, and had great suggestions on where to go while staying there. The breakfast was typical continental food and was fine for inclusive breakfast. The downsides to the hotel was that the shower water was only warm and not the best water pressure. This was also the case at our first hotel in London & I later found out that this is typical for most hotels & even homes in England. Also, the bed was not very soft. We got a room with two singles, but the beds were easily pushed together. However, overall good accommodations for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pugirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I booked and pre-paid for this hotel on Hotels.com. On the day of arrival, I got there much too early and not really expecting to be able to check in, tried my luck: The manageress on duty was charming and helpful and was most apologetic that there weren't any non-smoking rooms available. Not overly surprised, I got the paperwork out of the way and agreed to return later on. The staff had changed when I returned and I had a little difficulty making them understand what had gone before. Eventually I was given a "smoking" room. When I questioned this, I was told that this is what was booked and that there weren't any others available. I entered the room and as you'd expect, it stank of stale smoke, so I fired up the laptop and got my Hotels.com confirmation: Non-smoking as I thought it would be. Back down to reception, by this time a little miffed and a non-smoking room was miraculously found.
The rest of the stay was as you'd expect from a HIE: Clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water and a basic breakfast. One surprise was that broadband connection was £15 whereas it's been free in other HIE's.
Checkout was almost as problematic as check-in: It centred around a difficulty in English. I thought the receptionist was trying to charge me again. She wasn't. It took around 10 minutes to get that clear though.
So, I probably had a bad time of it and would most likely stay there again. I'd recommend that they have at least one person with English as a first language on duty at reception though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perlogalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre for your recent accommodation requirements, and also for taking the time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is with great regret and disappointment to learn that you encountered problems with our reception department.

We view all feedback very seriously, and consistently strive to improve our services to ensure all of our valued guests have a comfortable stay with us. I can take comfort in the knowledge that we have a friendly and hard working team at our hotel, but please be assured we have revisited the reception department training plan to ensure such circumstance do not happen again in the future.

Therefore I am confident the next time you visit us; you will receive the normal high levels of service and care that our guests have come to expect.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally, should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Jason Hiley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed for just the one night whilst visiting friends in Gloucestershire. We were not disappointed by our choice, especially at the special offer price we paid, and given its central location, being just round the corner from Cheltenham’s main shopping streets and across the road from the Brewery leisure complex of eating places, cinema etc. As a city centre Express hotel there is no onsite parking but the NCP Brewery car park right next door currently charges £6.50 for 24 hours, (which is a great daily rate when you consider it’s £4.50 for just 2 to 4 hours). The check-in staff were some of the friendliest we have come across in UK chain hotels.

The hotel has made arrangements with local restaurants etc and when you check in, you’re given a list of establishments that will give discounts to HIEx guests. If it’s what you want, we were particularly impressed by the fact that you can use the Fitness First facilities in the Brewery complex for free throughout your stay. This means that gym, pool and sauna are effectively included in your rate!

This is a typical, newly built HI Express with light and airy rooms and communal spaces, which is helped by modern design and light wood. Our double room with separate sofa bed was a reasonable size, looked into the courtyard at the back and was, as a result, very quiet. Potential guests need to be aware that one side of the hotel faces a main road so if you are not used to road noise, ask for a quiet room like we did. There was not much storage space, but who stays long in an Express? The small bathroom was well designed with superb lighting, (including a blue night light – very handy for those middle of the night “trips”), a really good shower, and a separate toilet cubicle, which can be closed off using the door so the rest of the bathroom can still be used. We were surprised to get very large thick bath sheets instead of the small bath towels you get in some places.

We were a little disappointed the bed was only 4’ 6” but we guess it would be too much of a squeeze for a 5’ kingsize if the sofa bed was in use. For a change, the duvet was not too heavy, but it would probably be too hot in summer. The hairdryer was broken and although the staff were very helpful, they couldn’t sort it during our stay. We got a value hairdryer from Tesco for £3.97 and it’ll stay in the boot of the car for “emergencies” on future UK trips. We had a 26” Samsung LCD TV in the room with a wide choice of freeview channels and the picture was exceptional – why can’t many of the self styled better quality hotels do the same? It could, however, have been positioned higher up on a wall mounted swivel support so that it could be angled towards the bed. We often listen to the radio in hotels. In HIEx Cheltenham, radio comes from internet channels accessed via the TV. While it seemed to be possible to get various themed music channels, (which appeared to be from the US), the TV would not connect to UK radio channels at all, it just froze after selection. We also tried to adjust the air conditioning to get some heating but it didn’t want to respond either and the hotel provides no instructions in the room about its use.

We think the “complimentary” breakfast offered is very acceptable and is certainly better than some 4 star hotels we have stayed in. The croissants were particularly good and buttery. Recently, HIEx have added hot scrambled eggs and sausages to the long provided continental breakfast – management needs to learn that eggs can dry out pretty quickly in heated serving cabinets, as we discovered. If the breakfast room is quiet, perhaps it would be better to put out less eggs and top up when needed rather than leave them to dry out.

Given the fact that this is an almost new hotel, we were surprised and perhaps a little disappointed that in 2010 the whole of floor 4 was set aside as smoking rooms when many other hotels are getting rid of theirs.

All in all, a highly recommended place to stay in the centre of Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, as it is our full intention to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay. All feedback is taken very seriously and used to improve our services in the future.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Hiley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2010. The hotel is a good example of a holiday inn express - very new and modern. All areas of the hotel were spotless and there was no noise at night either despite the central location. I did ask for a quiet room though which was at the back of the hotel.
Although parking isn't included, it only costs about £5 for 24 hours right next door in a very secure NCP so it wasn't a problem.
The hotel is pretty much in the middle of town. Its maybe a 15 minute walk to the nicer parts of town such as montpellier but this was fine. It is a huge amount cheaper than most other Cheltenham hotels and is absolutely great. breakfast is included in your room price and there's lots of lovely cereal, toast, pastries, yoghurt and then some ropey looking scrambled egg and sausage. I steered clear of the hot food options and stuck with the cold and it was lovely.
All in all i would really recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying again if i get to visit Cheltenham again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No_1_Derbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Thank you for your booking with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. We appreciate your time in completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, as it is our full intention to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay. All feedback is taken very seriously and used to improve our services in the future.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally should you require anything further. We do hope that we have the pleasure welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jason Hiley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I want to share our very good experience while staying at Holiday Inn Express in Cheltenham. My husband and I were both extremely happy with this hotel for the following reasons. The location is centralized and provides easy walking distance to surrounding shopping areas, parks, the library and tourist sites such as the pumping station. There are a number of good restaurants close by which are reasonably priced. Also, there is a parking garage located across the street. Enterprise car rental (another great service provider for us) is within walking distance. The hotel has elevator service which was essential for our heavy luggage, SKY sports channel, and a breakfast included in the daily rate. The hotel staff is very courteous and accommodating to guests. Another plus -- the hotel is close to the National Express coach station and service from London Heathrow is readily available. Cheltenham is an excellent base from which to tour the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaSandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Cheltenham Town Centre for your recent accommodation requirements, and for completing this Tripadvisor review.

It is with great pleasure hearing your positive comments and that we meet your expectations during your stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure inviting you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours,
Jason Hiley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: £55 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing