We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #35 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A discreet but exceptionally warm welcome to a marvellous family run hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. We occupied a recently refurbished room situated on the second floor which was very well furnished, clean and offered views across the town.
The breakfasts were sumptuous and served in a beautiful setting. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and friendly throughout our stay and we can thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123harry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Willoughby House Hotel is the place to stay when in Cheltenham. We were due to stay one night only before traveling on to Oxford for business however we enjoyed our stay here so much that, once we had concluded our business in Oxford, we returned to stay the weekend as well. The hotel is ideally located with lots of restaurants and bars an easy stroll from the front door. 5 minutes more and you are in the centre of the shops. We parked the car on arrival and did not drive it again until we were leaving. There is plenty of parking (at no charge) at the front of the hotel which is great. It is beautifully decorated, well maintained and there is a guest lounge on the second floor which is comfortable and inviting. Exquisite linen, comfy beds, details such as dressing gowns in every room, fabulous breakfasts cooked by the delightful chef, Oliver, excellent value for money - these are the things that make this outstanding hotel the place to stay when you are visiting Cheltenham!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciafrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

WH is an elegant, Regency property, run by very helpful friendly guys with a large number of lovely cats (kept outside the premises). While the decor has elements of Country-Living-meets-Homebase in the 1980s, it's not all like that and the place has a lot going for it - excellent location in Montpelier (this cuts both ways; see later), the staff (see above); a comfy lounge with newspapers and seriously excellent breakfasts made with quality ingredients. Against this, it's a bit offputting to be pounced on on arrival and made to pay upfront almost before you've put your bag down. Or am I old fashioned? Scent diffusers everywhere (I mean everywhere) may not be for the fainthearted and make the place smell a bit like the ground floor at House of Fraser. And, more seriously, I can't promise anyone a good nights sleep. Three rooms lead off the ground floor entrance hall, with concomitant front-door, house 'phone noise and arrival/departure conversations at more-or-less any hour. And two of these and several top-floor rooms (middle floor is dining/lounge) face on to the road which is a lot busier than you might think with through traffic, including buses and, worse, late night drunken shouty people going to and from the pubs of Montpelier. Given that the first task of a B&B is to provide restful sleep, I'd regretfully say that I'll look elsewhere next time in Cheltenham; a shame for it's a nice property with nice people but flawed by its layout and location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Phoned Friday evening to see if they had a room and after a very friendly chat I had booked a room for Saturday.
When we arrived we were greeted and made to feel so welcome as well as being offered a room upgrade which was very well received and contributed to making a good weekend, a great weekend.
It`s the little things like herbal tea bags, an honesty box for the bar, the dressing gowns in the bathroom that can and do make a difference and they scored highly on all of them.
Our welcoming host was also the chef and boasted about his breakfast! And yes he had something to boast about. It was one of the best, in fact quite possibly the best. Even my partner who qualifies as a 'coffee snob' was impressed with the cafetiere.
A great welcome from a team that obviously works well together and should be congratulated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWK_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Had a three night stay here with my partner after being recommended stay here by a business colleague. The location of the hotel is great with various bars and shops nearby. It was wonderful having free parking right outside, and someone even met us outside whilst we were unloading the car.

Our room was on the ground floor and was very well appointed. Beautiful furnishings with attention to detail. The request of chocolates and champagne hadnt been forgotten in the room , and the manager had even put fresh flowers int he room which was alovely touch.

Even though the hotel was full it was very peaceful, and Marcus the hotel manager was very attentive and was able to recommend very good lunch and dinner venues for our stay. He also had very good local knowledge and highlighted many local places to visit and explore.

The quality of the breakfast each morning was first class, the cooked breakfast was amazing. The chef Oliver is excellent, and cooked everything perfectly.

On the second day we had trouble with our car and once again Marcus the manager was able to help us out and arranged for a local garage to get us up and running once more.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cheltenham, it offers excellent value for money, clean and well equipment rooms, beautiful surroundings and managerment/staff that are respectful, attentive and obiviously enjoy looking after people.

We will be returning in the future and are thinking that this would be a great venue for a party and friends get together.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The Willoughby House is a fantastic place to stay, after parking the car in the front of the hotel (free of charge) we checked into our room on 2nd floor with lovely views. The room was beautiful and spacious. The furnishings lovely too. It was lovely and quiet, the staff fantastic and special thanks to Oliver the Chef who made us a late breakfast after arriving later than expected. The bathroom could have been slightly bigger and perhaps time for an update - but in keeping with the hotel - it didnt seem to matter. The breakfast was out of this world, with plenty of choice, it kept us going all day. All in all - would definately return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday07-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

My stay was lovely, i stayed for a romantic valentines weekend, and wish my weekend lasted a little longer!

Marcus the manager/host was absolutly lovely and only to happy to help with anything, he was very informative about the hotel and Cheltenham. The rooms were very clean, the food tasty and the service could not be faulted.

I enjoyed being in such luxury surroundings, i would say to anyone thinking about staying at the hotel, to do so as they will enjoy their stay very much and you will not be disssapointed. I really enjoyed being in a warm and friendly atmosphere which for me makes all the difference!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mua212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.1 mi away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Eagle Lodge Rooms
Eagle Lodge Rooms
#60 of 68 in Cheltenham
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#5 of 68 in Cheltenham
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
22 Lansdown Place
22 Lansdown Place
#17 of 34 in Cheltenham
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
one4b&b
one4b&b
#15 of 68 in Cheltenham
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#22 of 68 in Cheltenham
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments

Address: 1 Suffolk Square, Cheltenham GL50 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically converted, the unique hotel is star-listed as a building of special architectural and historical interest, so all essential features are maintained and preserved. However, retaining the charm of a bygone age doesn’t mean lack of mod-cons. From £99 per room, per night, Willoughby House offers affordable luxury throughout its individual rooms (including a four-poster suite with Jacuzzi bath) as well as fresh, homemade breakfasts, personal service, free on-site parking and wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing